We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Won a free Weekend break in two bedroomed pool villa and decided to share it with friends and celebrate a birthday. Itwas without doubt the most relaxing, pampered And way too short experience i have ever had. The Vila was spectacular, in fact if I retired tomorrow this is where I would want to live....we squeezed in a game of golf and some spa time, would love to stay a lot longer.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Banyan Tree Phuket is a beautifully designed and executed resort. We had a pool villa which was stunning, a big room, all mod cons and a good sized private pool in the garden.

The beach, which is nice, is a stone throw away over a small road.

The staff without exception were always very keen to help and very friendly.

Our disappointment with our stay here led from:

1) There is a serious mosquito problem. Building the resort around a stagnant lake was probably not the best idea in the first place, but given that they did anyway, at least employ some pest control measures. We received several leaflets about smoke control, but never saw anything happen. About half way through our stay, after I could not take being eaten alive any more, we complained, at which point an army of staff descended on our villa, drilling into the ceiling and installing a mossy net over the bed and gassing the place. The number of dead mosquitos around our room after this only served to confirm the scale of the problem. Why on earth these steps are not taken for all guests as a matter of course I do not know. Things were much better after this, but unfortunately you become paranoid about being bitten and we could not sit still at breakfast from then on......!

2) The restaurants are very average. Saffron was nice but quite expensive and the Watercourt, where you buy a Harvester style buffet and then have to pay for the main course on top was far too expensive. The main was nice, but the buffet no better than a £5 a head all you can eat. There are top Trip Advisor rated restaurants a 5 minute taxi journey away for half the money.

3) The Spa staff are all lovely, but of variable quality. My second treatment involved a shave, so I expected a traditional cut throat razor, but got a Gillette Mach 3 and a big cut on my chin. The lady spent the rest of my very (too) expensive treatment discretely trying to stem the flow of blood!

Overall a nice hotel, but our stay was unfortunately marred by the insect problem. If you opt for the romantic dinner on the lake (shown on their website), marinate yourself in repellant first!

Room Tip: Get it gassed and ask for a mosquito net before your head touches the pillow.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonandBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear JonandBecs,


Thank you so much for providing us your feedback. While you have enjoyed your stay with us it seems that the mosquito issue has severely marred your perception of our resort. Just wish to clarify that the large lagoon that you see all along the resort is not a stagnant water body but, one that changes with tide levels of the Andaman Sea. However, being in the tropics, we do realize that it is nigh impossible to eliminate mosquitoes completely. In order to mitigate this we take several measures, big and small.

We do have twice a month fogging in the resort to reduce this. You have referred to this in your review. Aside from the fact guests do not like the strong residual smell the soft furnishings also tend to absorb the smell, we do not do it in the villa. We do recommend guests not to leave their villa doors open to assist in the effectiveness of the spraying. Apart from this we also provide an electric mosquito repellant as well as a herbal lotion in all guests’ bedrooms. Although in most cases the above mentioned factors reduce the mosquitoes, clearly, in your case, it does not seem to have worked. I am sorry we could not prevent it despite our best efforts. I can assure you that the mosquito protection of Banyan Tree is not any less than any other resort in Phuket.

As regards to your comments on Spa treatment and F&B quality, I have spoken to my Executive Chef and our Spa manager. Our therapists are generally very highly trained and your feedback regarding the use of commercial razor is noted. Yes, there are plenty of dining options available for you to enjoy. The buffet is a salad and starter buffet and is priced as such. Main course is to be ordered from the menu. However, I hope that this was explained clearly by the team and in all the collaterals. If you did not find the selection adequate or the pricing appropriate, my apologies.

Dear JonandBecs, I thank you for making the effort to give us valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for falling short of a great experience. However, hope my sincere response here and explanations will reassure you of a better experience next time and you won’t let this one visit mar your perception.



Warm regards,


Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned from the Banyan Tree and really wish that we could have stayed longer. Our pool villa was absolutely lovely, perfectly situated close to the beach and backing onto the lagoon, and had everything we could possibly need, including fresh fruit every day and reliable wifi. The pool was spotlessly clean, and the garden private and well kept.
The site is quite spread out, so we took advantage of the free bicycle loan which made getting around convenient and fun, but bikes aren't necessary as the brilliant buggy system means that a quick phone call has a buggy at your door within minutes.
The food was excellent, if rather pricey, however there are several good local restaurants within walking distance, so it's not necessary to eat in the hotel every night. It's also useful to be able to use the restaurants in the other Laguna hotels, with free transport laid on throughout.
It has to be said that the staff were amongst the best we have come across anywhere in the world. They were all extremely friendly and helpful, and seemed genuinely pleased to be able to do something for you. Special thanks to Lucia who was quite delightful and made us feel very welcome, and the lovely lady in the library who printed documents for us.
A thoroughly lovely hotel. Thank you!

Room Tip: The whole site seemed good, but we did enjoy being in a villa close to the beach and a little furthe...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizPin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed in Banyan Tree for many times during the last 10 years and were always very satisfied with this beautifull resort. Unfortunately this time we had a problem with the aircon makind noise at night and we did not sleep well for 2 nights. After finding out the source of the problem the Banyan Tree management acted perfectly by changing us to a two bedroom villa. Thank ytou very much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank Volker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

No point in repeating what others have said in great detail.
It's a brilliant place which for sure we will return to
There were a few little hiccups but nothing serious
My main concern was the lack of reliable Internet in the rooms which did go down several times during our stay
Lucky the elephant captured my wife's heart - give him 100 baht and he takes it off you gently and puts it into his owners pocket
If the price of the banyan tree restaurants puts you off then do not worry, there a lots of alternatives at cheap prices and transport to and from them is free
Small downside issues are that the breakfast room floor was not always clean, also sometimes the reservations desk was unmanned but I can live with these issues given all the upside bits!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Avoid. 615 as the garden is partially visible from the road
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maranelloLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear MaranelloLondon,

Thanks for a great review and truly appreciate the positive aspects. However, I wanted to also address the minor issues you have raised.

Your point regarding breakfast area floor is noted. We do have an associate mopping this high traffic area however, the chef and I have agreed that this may appear dirty due to the polished surface, we will add a mat to aid in cleanliness. Thanks for being so observant! As regards to the reservations desk, I am assuming that you are talking about the F&B Concierge. It operates 7 days a week from 08:00hrs. – 22:00hrs. Following your feedback, we will add a contact number for the times when the desk is unattended. As for the internet, this has been a hot topic in the last few weeks due to major power outage or brown-outs on this side of the island. This in turn affects our service providers as the system resets itself. Although I am not the most IT savvy person, I can assure you that the issue is not due to our hardware but, more an external issue. We continue to work with our outside partner to fix this issue.

Dear MaranelloLondon, thank you for pointing out several key issues as we believe this helps us improve and enhance our guest experience as much as the positive feedback. My team and I are glad that your stay was good overall. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.




Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

After a round of golf and relaxing yourself in a jacuzzi pool is amazing. In your villa is full with facilities which could have in a luxury resort. Nice decoration, well prepare and close to nature. I love a daily ice-cream by a staff who will ride and send it to your villa. Personal amenities pouch for mael and female are set in spacious bathrooom. Only a service staffs during breakfast are not easy to smile however the rest of service is second of none. Hardly to affoard for the price during high season but if you can. It is recommened.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsmaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This resort exceeded my expectations. Check in was personalised & individualised. We stayed in a 2 bedroom pool villa which was beyond compare. Both bedrooms were incredible, both bathrooms were awesome (believe it or not) the outside shower was beautiful & the pool...well, made the stay. The service impeccable & superior. Fully recommended for a stay with a difference

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JVG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
16.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
823 reviews
7.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#17 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#19 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: $318 - $1,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing