We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banyan Tree Phuket
Nearby Hotels
$349
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
$118
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slate(Nai Yang)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$445
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
$927
$730
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$157
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
COMO Point Yamu, Phuket(Pa Khlok)(Great Value!)
$500
$392
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,848)
Filter reviews
1,848 results
Traveler rating
1,293
334
131
55
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,293
334
131
55
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble pool villasaffron restaurantsignature poolspa poolbuggy serviceoutdoor bathin villa diningvilla bbqspa sanctuaryour honeymoonvilla hostlaguna resortgolf buggiesfree bikestotal privacylagoon viewcanal village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,026 - 1,031 of 1,848 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just returned from Banyan Tree Phuket and despite the weather not being its best had an amazing week there.
The hotel and the rooms are exceptional, the service is great and the staff are so friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is right on a beautiful beach and near to Laguna village which is perfect for dining out at non hotel prices! On several occasions we cycled on the bikes we were given by the hotel for lunch in the local village.
The bikes everyone gets at the hotel are great! Made the holiday a lot more fun and relaxing as we didn't have to constantly rely on buggies/taxis to take us anywhere we wanted to go.

Lots of people have been saying about the mosquitos...we called and asked the hotel to spray the villa every night when we were out for dinner and also got them to do the plug ins. Of course you still have to spray yourself but none of us were biten badly if you take the precautions available!

The breakfast was great, as was Saffron restaurant. Locally Supperclub and Bake were also great for food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

From the bracelets of fresh flowers and cold towels upon arrival to the very last day when we were waved goodbye with happy faces and warm greetings, Banyan Tree is an experience in itself! The rooms are gorgeous as is the rest of the hotel, the service is perfect! Food is brilliant and the breakfast is to die for! What a spread! Just remember to take a mosquito repellent as you will need it!

Room Tip: If you want the lagoon view you need to ask beforehand, November to February probably the coolest months.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aziza k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We just returned from the Banyan Tree resort. We had our own private villa. It was super clean and the service was exceptional. They keep the resort very clean, turn down service was great and always a little something from the resort as a keep sake was nice.
Breakfest buffet, was always good with a wide variety of foods to choose.
It was great to have two bicycles to ride around the resort, go to breakfast and the beach. That was a nice touch.
I would highly recommend this resort if you want to have a great 5 star holiday.
Also, the beach was great, with a nice variety of restaurants to choose from if you wanted something different.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are nice, as it was only steps away.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Two years earlier we were booked for the Banyan Tree but were advised several weeks before to cancel as the majority of it had been booked out for a wedding. We therefore changed to the Sheraton nearby (now the Angsana) and had a great time. We said we would go to the Banyan Tree another time hence our visit April 2012.

We booked a 2 bed deluxe villa which was very spacious but they are not detached villas and we could hear next door - not good as young children are up very early! Added to that some building repairs going on at the stock room building in front of our villa 849 we were moved to a double pool villa which was quieter. Although huge there is a large lobby between the bedrooms which you cannot lock and therefore you have to lock your children in at night and I did not feel comfortable with this even though our daughter is 13. The air conditioning broke one night but they came and quickly fixed it. We felt the room being made up at 2pm and turn down at 5pm one day and 10.10pm another night was not good.

Bikes are available but not allocated per villa, you go on a waiting list hence several times our bikes were stolen! The main Thai restaurant Saffron was the worst green curry I have ever had, chicken with skin and bones still on!

Breakfast was very busy and they did not seem able to cope, maybe it was a busy time of year but being asked to take a seat in the lobby (especially when that is full) doesn't seem very 5 star. It just seemed attention to detail was lacking and we certainly would not return.

My daughter and I were bitten a lot by mosquitoes but my husband not at all so take lots of spray. BBQ in villa was ok, again attention to detail, no rice was brought despite menu including it and they must have done them hundreds of times before, they brought some but by which time we had finished.

It is very quiet there and we would have to go for the Angsana every time due to it having a lot more atmosphere and things to do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickeyBEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Mickey B Essex ,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention, the problems you have encountered during your recent stay with us. It was a good to personally meet and discuss the various issues while you were still in the resort. Please accept my renewed apologies for these shortcomings and you can rest assured that they have been discussed and the concerned managers are taking necessary rectification measures. I am taking the liberty of repeating parts of the conversation we had during your stay with us on this forum.

Regarding the construction noise you heard around the Deluxe Two Bedroom Pool Villa, it was emergency maintenance work that could not be procrastinated and it was not meant to disturb guests and fortunately, no other guests were disturbed. However, I can understand your annoyance. Although we felt the upgrade to the Double Pool villas was accepted by you and we felt it would prevent any further disturbance, we did not anticipate the issue of the distance of your bedroom to your daughter’s bedroom. Unfortunately, we could not do anything given that all our villas are designed as such. These are our premium villa categories which have received numerous design awards but, it clearly did not meet your needs.

As for the comments on the shortfalls in our F&B. You have every right to expect exacting standards and forgetting to serve rice on time is fundamental. Your feedback about the green curry in Saffron is noted. The locals do enjoy green curry with skin and with bone. Our own standards are green curry with skin but, no bone. Our chefs will do the necessary re-training on the flavors. Regarding busy breakfast, we are aware of this perception and we have taken measures to mitigate the peak times. We allow for our buffet to remain open until 1130 Hrs or even longer, if required. This is done so that there’s sufficient time outside of the peak period to enjoy breakfast.

Furthermore, you expressed your concerns with regards to housekeeping and turn down times. Our standard cleaning hours for guest villas are before 3:00pm and villa turn down services should not be finished later than 9:00pm. As you rightly mentioned, the hotel was and still is running very high occupancies. Please rest assured that I have personally spoken to our Executive Housekeeper to reinforce those time lines.

Dear Mickey B Essex, I would like to thank you not only for writing in this forum but, also for discussing these issues face-to-face so we could make adequate reparation during your stay. While I understand that this experience has been below par, I hope that our meeting on site and this note from me will reassure you to give us another chance. I personally hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Phuket.

Warmest regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I work in the Hotel and pay a lot attention to room amenities, the room amenities in Banyan Tree is very detailed such as different gifts for guests different nights. And there's suntan lotion and mosquitoes prevention lotion/ etc in the room.

Yet, there were rats running in our villa while we were swimming=,= Apologizing gift was given, but still need improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank BillQYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews