We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Sumalee Boxing Gym

Sumalee Boxing Gym
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sumalee Boxing Gym in Phuket, Thailand, offers traditional Muay Thai training and much more. Sumalee Boxing Gym is the newest Muay Thai training camp in Phuket. It sets a new standard for Muay Thai training facilities on the island and is the only traditional training camp with a swimming pool, mini games pitch and air conditioned weights studio on-site. The Sumalee Ringside Restaurant is the only restaurant in the area that offers both local and international dishes all cooked by our experienced chef. Take a seat and enjoy your meal next to the training rings for a front row view of the action. Offers include daily specials and a healthy 'Shake of the Day'. The Sumalee Studio offers a plethora of services from basic conditioning and general fitness, all the way up to long term weight loss & strength training programs. The staff have the quality and experience to help you reach your health & fitness goals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had a wonderful time lernd a lot from some great instructors and thanx to a great host Lynn will see later this year that's how much are club liked it thanx

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thaiboxing6658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumaleeBoxingGym, General Manager at Sumalee Boxing Gym, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
See you in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    12
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Muay Thai experience with professional trainers and grey accommodation!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I pl make it short: it's a combination with great service and very well maintained facility with a very professional team of trainers and a good variety of things to do in between the sessions! I will be come. G back any time I have the next chance! Thank you Lynne, Riah, Mike, Oron, Craig and the team for the great effor helpin people bond and feel like a real family when on the camp! No one will be left out! And everyone will get a feel of what Muay Thai philosophy is about

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlgaProzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Myself and two other friends had decided to stay in camp for four weeks. The training and facilities were of a very high standard and the management were all very friendly. The main reason for choosing Sumalee Boxing Gym was the trainer to students ratio, after reviewing other gyms around Phuket it was a obvious choice after bad reviews from other travellers. Lynne kept in contact through email and facebook constantly leading up to our arrival and made sure we were all settled in nicely. The trainers were all equally friendly and very humble people, there was a very family feel to the camp and attracted people from all corners of the world. Training itself was a mix of hard rounds on the pads and mixed with fun team competitions, overall never a dull session in Sumalee Boxing Gym. The surrounding beaches were also a highlight, those not into the seedy side of Thailand will find there is a lot to do around Thalang area with some excellent local restaurants only 10 minutes walk away. We also did a lot of fun local activities with the trainers which tourists would never usually have a chance to do. Definitely looking to return next year for a month again, enjoyed every minute I was there as did my friends. Thanks again Sumalee Boxing Gym

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BriHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumaleeBoxingGym, General Manager at Sumalee Boxing Gym, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure having all of you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A top class operation in Phuket”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I spent a month at the camp run by the excellent Lynne and her family and I can't recommend it enough. Everything was first class from the training, facilities, accommodation down to the daily breakfast. The atmosphere was great, I made some great friends and learned a lot from the Thai trainers who are fun yet work had with their students. Sam at the conditioning studio is brilliant for some one-on-one training in the gym to complement your training. The area itself is quiet and there are some excellent country roads for running in the morning making it an ideal location for getting fit. There are many malls, cinemas and restaurants within reach if you rent a motorcycle and we had many a trip to the beautiful beaches around the island. Don't think about visiting Sumalee, just do it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConorMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumaleeBoxingGym, General Manager at Sumalee Boxing Gym, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are glad you made the most of the services we had to offer! Hopefully it went some way to prepping you for your impending marathon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local Thai Kickboxing”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A very local fight gym, be prepared for sparse facilities and kids as young as 12 fighting, but overall a good experience of Thai life.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumalee Boxing Gym also viewed

 

Been to Sumalee Boxing Gym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing