We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flame/Bake delicatessen tandem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bake

Bake
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Flame/Bake delicatessen tandem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Discovered this lovely joint by accident as we headed back to our hotel late one night. We were first attracted by the illumination of the signs and as we got closer, we were stunned by the sober and elegant design of the place - or both places. Both seemed full so we continued and returned back the next day for lunch at Flame. Tried both the meat and chicken kebabs, the grilled chicken and a pizza. They were simply all excellent and the kebab taste was authentically mediterranean with just the right amount and quality of spices. Headed next to the Bake. My wife was craving for a butter croissant and what she got was comparable in taste and crunchiness to those you get from a real traditional French boulangerie! The cakes and cookies were simply sublime and it was obvious that both eateries were managed and operated by real food professionals with sharp taste and an eye for quality. Having said that, the food is as good or even better than what you would expect to find in 5-star hotel delis in Thailand or even in Europe for that mater but costs significantly less. Intrigued by the place, we later found out that it is affiliated with and managed by the nearby Twinpalms hotel; one of top hotels on Surin beach. Overall a nice concept, great food and excellent value.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dany_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bake, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear FLAME/BAKE/PASTA guest,
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experiences in our venues.
Thank you for having taken the time to share it on Tripadvisor.
See you hopefully again soon.
Khun Nut, FLAME/BAKE/PASTA Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    21
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice cakes :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We went to Flame first- would recommend the chicken kebabs and then bake right night door- really clean and well kept. Delicious puddings

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bake, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear BAKE/FLAME/PASTA Guest,
Thank you for your encouragements, we are glad you have enjoyed your visit in our venues.
See you hopefully again soon.
Khun Nut, BAKE/FLAME/PASTA Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely fruit tart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

We had tea and cake after eating in Flame. The fruit tart was lovely. Nice surroundings and good service

Helpful?
Thank Madmoo1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great find just out of laguna village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stumbled upon this place by accident searching for a restaurant that was open at 9am. Wow what a find. It is by far the most modern looking restaurant in the area. Clean and vibey - definately a favorite with locals with a constant stream coming in for fresh bread and take away latte. Coffee was great and for $3aud a fantastic bacon and eggs with grilled tomato on the side. We also visited another day for a latte and macaroon - yum!! We were staying in a villa so we would buy fresh bread everyday and take home for lunch. This is a must to visit if staying in Laguna. We also intended to try the pasta restaurant connected to it but ran out of nights!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank burleyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Coffee Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Clean, affordable, pleasant. Lots of locals here. Basic menu but enjoyable.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bake also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing