We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stands out in food & value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pesto Restaurant

Pesto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Everything we do in the kitchen, from using subtle textures and flavours, to seeking out the freshest local produce has the same objective: to stimulate the palate and delight the senses. Our menu which is inspired by authentic Mediterranean and Thai flavours creates a fusion of tradition and innovation, uniting yesterday and tomorrow. Our aim is to transform classic Mediterranean dishes through the use of bold, Asian inflected seasonings and unexpected flavor combinations to draw the basic essence and nuanced flavours of quality ingredients to the fore and allow them to truly shine.
1 review
“Stands out in food & value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a really nice little restaurant, bit of a limited selection in the mediterranean menu but the awesome food and really fair pricing make this my go-to place in phuket. The Thai menu is also great and very extensive. The restaurant and seats are very basic but still somewhat cosy and the service can be a bit slow when it's busy but that is to be expected. They have a decent choice of wines as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmvk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    83
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for continental food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic tuna fish starter and excellent Steak cooked to perfection.Very nice early booking advisable gets very busy. Very good service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem well worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay at the Laguna resort, after it was recommended to us.

From the outside it does not look good. It is set back from the road across an unlit gravel path. The building is wrought iron pillars supporting a corrugated iron roof. Tables and chairs are old with sauce bottles on some of the tables. Staff stand at the back of the restaurant behind the counter rather than coming out to greet you.

But once at a table, menus were produced and what a choice! Drinks were served promptly, food took a while longer while it was freshly prepared and cooked in the small kitchen. Well worth the wait. Starters were beautifully presented and tasted just as good. Main courses were equally as good.

Service was polite but not over friendly, I suspect more a language barrier than anything else.

Well worth seeking out if you want good quality food at a reasonable price. 900 baht for 2 courses and soft drinks.

Would recommend to anyone in the area and if I ever find myself back in this part of the world, I will definitely come back to eat.

I have no idea who the waitress referred to in an earlier review was. On both occasions we were there, there were only male serving staff and a male chef.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiantUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Being a welcome guest feels different!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Being a welcome dinner guest at a restaurant I may expect to be treated as such. At the 'Pesto' my wife and I didn't feel that way at all. To be precise: The unkind waitress with her inadequate way of addressing all her guests, male and female (not only us, other guests as well!) as 'Ladies' was not only far from being funny but moreover indisputable inpolite as I have never ever experienced it by a Thai waiter or waitress or any other Thai person before!!!

Admittedly, there is little to complain about the food itself. The appetizer and the main dish I had (chicken with galangal soup, prawns with glass noodles) were tasty. My dessert, a fruit salad, was not worth mentioning, nothing special at all, neither in taste nor in its presentation. But as I said, the food was not the point, although to my mind overprized for a restaurant like this, compared to Bangkok or Chiang Mai.

There is no second chance for a first impression.
We'll not visit the 'Pesto' again, because we didn't feel welcome.
Sorry to the cook - you deserved better. But running a restaurant with satisfied guests needs a qualified and adequate service staff, too.
We therefore can't recommend the 'Pesto' to others.

Andy from Germany
(Ich habe mich dazu entschieden, den Beitrag in Englisch zu verfassen, um ihn moeglichst vielen Lesern verstaendlich zu machen.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We loved the food, especially the mixture of European cuisine with Thai influences or vice versa.
They have a shuttle to pick you up at your hotel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TinaBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesto Restaurant also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Thalang District, Phuket
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Pesto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing