We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quarter Resort Phuket
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrendous !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at 2 bedroom loft - Cozy Grande
Verdict: TOTALLY HORRENDOUS
3 days before arrival, I sent them an email asking if rooms come with hair dryer, they only replied on the very day we arrived!
1. Upon checking in, the coffee table in the room had sticky stains which were not wiped! After room make-up the next day, stains were still there; even right up to our last day of our 4 day stay!!!
2. Since check in until check out, stains on the floor tiles were not cleaned. Sofa had some stains, so were curtains. Ash tray not cleared after make-up room; staff was probably texting on their hand phones while doing work???? How can you forget cleaning the ash trays? Basic!!!
3. Some bath towels had numerous holes the size of a 5 baht coin!
4. Aircons were not clean. So obvious, dust clearly on the exit lourver vanes.
5. My wife requested for an extra set of toothbrush- but it never arrived.
6. Only about 8 x 4-seater tables at the breakfast area. Not enough to cater to guests.
7. Only 3 staff manning the breakfast during peak hour- clearly short handed. Staff visibly stressed and trying to cope.
8. No bacon at breakfast. Breakfast runs out fast and limited replenishment.
9. Jacuzzi makes a very loud noise when turned on. And it takes likes 2 hours to filled up to thigh level! Once water is turned off, after half hour, we realized half the water had drained out somewhere, somehow. Incredible!
10. You only get just a sliver of seaview, and its about 2kms away.
11. Hardly any smiles or greetings from staff as they pass the guests. Very unlike the treatment one gets from similar premium dollar establishments. Disappointing.
12. A few cups had hard-to-remove stains at the bottom. small issue though.

I have never written any review on my other bad hotel stays, so this coming from me, speaks volumes of my dissatisfaction. We wasted US$1000 over 4 days !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chrislui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    28
    11
    17
See reviews for
37
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We have only been here one night and we are disappointed. Rooms are not clean spots all over couch, and walls are stained with red wine spills. We were to be picked up by the hotel at the beach, they never showed up. Breakfast is left over food. I am disappointed for what we have paid for this place. I would not recommend.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank debra_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thalang District hotels

UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked this hotel after staying in budget accommodation for the majority of our trip so were looking for a bit of luxury. The hotel website quoted 8600 baht for a room for 3 people (cozy deluxe) but we decided to go up to the hotel itself to see if we could get a better deal. The staff told us there was only one room available, which was a cozy grande - I can't remember the exact figure but it was approaching double the price. I therefore booked the original room I saw on the website online and showed the staff the confirmation email - they were a little confused, which seemed odd as the room was advertised on their own website so must have been available! Upon checking in, we saw the hotel was nowhere near full capacity, with lots of vacant rooms - very confusing. 

The hotel itself is gorgeous: light, airy, tranquil and relaxing. The rooms are huge and well equipped with a kitchen and utensils etc. The shower tended to go hot and cold, which could be annoying. The bed was comfy although the air con was very noisy and started leaking water - something the staff did not attend to after I complained. There was also a very noisy fan in our bathroom cupboard, which would start at random times throughout the day and night - it was loud enough to wake us up. We did ask for this to be looked at least 3 times in our 4 night stay but it was never fixed and no explanation was given. When walking past the ground floor rooms, even with the shutters closed you can still see directly into the living room section of the room which is a problem if you want privacy. The hotel is on a very steep hill which would be a issue if you have mobility problems. 

The pool is nice and rarely used by the guests so was peaceful during the days. There are loungers outside the room next to the pool, which were great to read on although they didn't get any direct sunlight. The pool is in the shade for the majority of the day (this may be seasonal?) so we needed to go to the beach to sunbathe. The hotel will arrange a free taxi to the beach at 11am or 2pm, returning at 2.30pm or 5pm. They will take you to the nearby Surin beach or Laem Sing, which is a 10 min drive. 

There is a DVD player in the room, and the hotel rent a selection of around 30 DVDs free of charge but they are copied DVDs which we could not get to play without skipping and jumping. 

The breakfast is until 10.30am and has a decent selection of Thai and continental food. The chef will make you your choice of eggs, and I found most items to be of a high standard. 

The main issue with this hotel is the staff. They are incredibly pleasant but it appears they are poorly managed. Each complaint seemed to be a logged in a diary but nothing was actually ever done. The aircon/fan fault was a recurrent problem which was never dealt with, our room was not cleaned on our last night - when I complained someone showed up around an hour later, which was unacceptable as we were almost finished getting ready to go out again. One night we arrived back at the hotel around 1am and the front desk clerk was asleep on the sofa in the lobby. Again, they weren't unpleasant but they were inefficient and not what I would expect for a 4 star hotel. 

I would probably not stay in this hotel again unless at a greatly reduced price as the standard of the staff and the hotel issues are not worth anywhere near the price they charge. 

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secondtoughest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice rooms, very large unfortunately the aircon was noisy as was the boiler/pump in the bathroom which kept switching on during the night. Staff friendly but not service orientated, they would rather text than do their job which was a pity. Hotel shuttle incompetent or invisible despite being booked. Pool is thin but pleasant, breakfast ok. They do a great fried rice in the restaurant but avoid the western food, very poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Quarter for a week over New Year 2012/13 and we all felt the service and the staff attitude was terrible.

They spent more time chatting on their phones, texting and hanging out in unoccupied guest rooms than they did anything else. When you made a simple request like getting a beach towel they vaguely pointed you toward reception and went back to texting and ignoring you and then you would wait for 40 minutes for someone from housekeeping to get the message and meander over to get a towel for you. It would have been comical if it wasn't so frustrating. The sight of one staff member who was supposed to be sweeping the floor just moving the dirt from one side of the room to the other so she could concentrate on her phone call was Faulty Towers esque.

One of our group booked a transfer back from the beach one day which just didn't turn up. After they had walked back they made their feelings known at reception and they were promised the hotel manager would be in touch....suffice to say they are still waiting and they checked out 3 days ago!

The most annoying thing was the staff knew that the service wasn't anywhere near up to scratch but they just looked like they didn't care. We were there a week and we didn't see any kind of management the whole time so I am guessing the staff just did what they wanted.

It is shame as the rooms are nice and the hotel is in a good location but unless they invest in some serious staff engagement and training I would never go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were very positive: website photos reflect accurately the boutique hotel rooms and pool. We had a poolside room (cozy deluxe) chosen for its 2 room configuration allowing our infant child to sleep in a separate room in her travel cot. This worked well as both rooms have air on and blackout curtains. Also positive was the quality of the room service food. Finally, front desk organised a member of staff to baby sit for us one evening (although we suspect the 350B per hour was a very generous rate).

However, there are significant shortcomings in the overall experience and I suspect some of the unconditionally positive reviews below may not be genuine. Specifically:

1. Location is not great: the hotel is at the top of a steep hill and a 10min walk along a very busy road to Surin Beach.
2. Room contained the bare essentials and lacked obvious touches you expect at this price point ie rug, iPod doc, shelf in shower, kitchen lacked pretty well everything...we kept asking with little success
3. Attention to detail lacking - DVD player broker, touch broken, filthy sun lounges, dirty room service plates not collected till midday etc
4. Breakfast: very disappointing, with the exception of the omelettes
5. Staff: pleasant but very few spoke even basic English...very surprising given the hotel is clearly targeting foreign tourists. In addition, the house keeping staff were seen on more than one occasion either sleeping on sofas or watching TV in guest rooms, presumably during a room clean.
6. Privacy: we were lucky with room 308 which is at the end of the poolside walkway....all other rooms lack privacy
7. Hot water: shower was only just warm enough and the spa outside (all rooms) was unusable due to water temperature.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The property itself is nice, spacious rooms, very clean and friendly staff.

The pool is long and narrow and a little on the chilly side with loungers in the water. A better idea in theory than practice as you've nowhere to put iPod, books etc and the towel ends up getting wet easily. Also a large step up into the pool, not so easy for kids or anyone with limited mobility.

Also on that point the Quarter is up a very steep hill that would be challenging to walk up for anyone who isn't quite fit. There is a shuttle bus a couple of times a day to the beach which is otherwise a 15 minute walk away along a main road with less than great pavements. However be sure to book pick up with the desk and confirm. We were left without a pick up and had to walk up the hill after having booked it and waiting for 20 mins at the beach in the rain. Apology and follow up on this was almost non existent. The desk staff said they would check what happened and speak to the manager for us but nobody came back to us.

If you take a taxi to the beach it's a rather expensive 300 baht for a very short ride.

Breakfast is also a bit hit and miss with a mix of Asian and western stuff. We stuck mainly to fruit and toast with some eggs made for us and was fine.

Also our room wifi didn't work the whole 5 days we were there. Again we spoke to the desk staff several times but it was never fixed. We could pick up wifi from other rooms but signal was poor and kept having to log in repeatedly rather than the wifi automatically finding. This became annoying when logging in 5+ times a day.

Taxi we booked via the hotel to the airport was also 20 minutes late in arriving so you may want to give extra time.

Overall the Quarter was nice but could have been better with improved staff training and attention to details. Probably not the best location for anyone with limited mobility either.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLo71UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#15 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#24 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pen Villa Hotel
Pen Villa Hotel
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium
Surin Sabai Condominium
#16 of 54 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium 3 and Villas
0.4 mi away
Surin Beach Resort
Surin Beach Resort
#17 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarter Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarter Resort Phuket

Property: The Quarter Resort Phuket
Address: 92/5, Moo 3 | Cherng Talay Sub-District, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quarter Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quarter Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quarter Hotel Thalang
The Quarter Resort Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing