We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Quarter Resort Phuket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be better”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The property itself is nice, spacious rooms, very clean and friendly staff.

The pool is long and narrow and a little on the chilly side with loungers in the water. A better idea in theory than practice as you've nowhere to put iPod, books etc and the towel ends up getting wet easily. Also a large step up into the pool, not so easy for kids or anyone with limited mobility.

Also on that point the Quarter is up a very steep hill that would be challenging to walk up for anyone who isn't quite fit. There is a shuttle bus a couple of times a day to the beach which is otherwise a 15 minute walk away along a main road with less than great pavements. However be sure to book pick up with the desk and confirm. We were left without a pick up and had to walk up the hill after having booked it and waiting for 20 mins at the beach in the rain. Apology and follow up on this was almost non existent. The desk staff said they would check what happened and speak to the manager for us but nobody came back to us.

If you take a taxi to the beach it's a rather expensive 300 baht for a very short ride.

Breakfast is also a bit hit and miss with a mix of Asian and western stuff. We stuck mainly to fruit and toast with some eggs made for us and was fine.

Also our room wifi didn't work the whole 5 days we were there. Again we spoke to the desk staff several times but it was never fixed. We could pick up wifi from other rooms but signal was poor and kept having to log in repeatedly rather than the wifi automatically finding. This became annoying when logging in 5+ times a day.

Taxi we booked via the hotel to the airport was also 20 minutes late in arriving so you may want to give extra time.

Overall the Quarter was nice but could have been better with improved staff training and attention to details. Probably not the best location for anyone with limited mobility either.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLo71UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    28
    11
    17
See reviews for
37
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Quarter is everything the photos show. We had the deluxe 3 bedroom suite, and found the rooms to be very clean, fantastic views, and great decor. We found it a little out of the way and spent a bit of time travelling to and from Phuket, as most attractions were in that direction. The staff were exceptionally helpful, when we asked if they could do something about the railings on our 3 story high suite, that had such big gaps, if one of the children skidded, would have fallen straight through. They boarded up all of the railings, which made us relax. The buffet breakfasts were fantastic. Great selection of both western and local dishes. You can ask for omlettes or eggs from the chef if you wish. The only thing that gave us some dissapointment was at the end, once we had filled in our questionnaire, we were told we needed to pay an additional $220 Baht as they couldnt find the slippers (which I might add are those disposible ones) and a glass. After we told them that we hadnt taken any of the slippers, they went in and had another look, to find them there. It was dissappointing after spending 10 days and a significant amount of money, they wanted to scabble over the equilivent of $2. It was just the way they went about it, came across a bit rude. Also, while there is a kitchen, there is nothing to cook with, very few utensils, and absolutely nothing to use to clean up ie: cloth, broom, etc. We had to wait until roomservice came, which was always very good, but with 4 children, the place got pretty messy between service.

Room Tip: if you have children that are climbers, ask for a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have just spent 5 nights at The Quarter. Was a bit worried how I could cope with the steep hill up to the Hotel, but managed very well. The Cozy Deluxe room was huge compared to most hotels I have stayed in. The bed was perfect for us (not hard), the breakfast was very good - don't expect full american buffet! and the pool was great.
About a 15 minute walk down to Surin Beach - wonderful massages by the beach.
Would definately recommend this hotel @ Surin Beach.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Cozy Deluxe was just perfect for two and would imagine a couple of children could stay there too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was my third hotel in a seven day short break in Phuket. Having read the reviews of this hotel I was expecting good things, and The Quarter delivered... It is beautiful, in a word. The room was amazing, the pool and environs were fantastic and overall probably represented one of the best value for money hotels I have ever stayed in. Ill be back !! Thanks to all the staff who were more than helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Just go and stay there, thats all I can say
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportToFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel was even better than we expected; we're not very picky in general but this hotel had everything we wanted and more. In particular, the room (more like a suite) was very spacious and consisted of 4 sections. The entry had a private jacuzzi, then was the living room, then the main bedroom, and lastly the bathroom. Right outside our suite was the swimming pool - very accessible. Although the first line of privacy are sliding barred "shade" doors (which are not that private), we never felt our privacy in jeopardy since the pool was never busy. On that note, suites near the far end of the pool are more private due to the shape of the pool which narrows. The next privacy barrier is that the bedroom area has thick curtains which separate it from the living room which guests close at night. Although the glass sliding doors to the suite didn't give a feeling of highest-security, we never felt this was a concern and the safe in the bedroom was quite adequate to fit a 15" laptop, and much more. The air conditioning units worked quite strongly offering two real settings: super cold or off. The breakfast buffet was nothing fancy but hit the spot where dishes would change and rotate on a daily basis. Other very convenient perks of the hotel was the on-site scooter rental. You pay on a by-day basis and any extra gas you need. Day trips that we wanted to take were set up on our behalf by the helpful staff at the front desk; this made things very easy. We were even able to pay for them at the end of our stay directly through the hotel at no extra cost. The driveway up to the hotel is quite steep, but walkable or scooter-able. Although the hotel is not directly on the beach, it's only a 10-15 minute walk start to finish, and about 4 minutes by scooter to Surin Beach; this was not at all a problem for us and we came to enjoy being a little bit removed from the beach-scene. The hotel had a shuttle service to Surin Beach 3 times a day, but we never used it. Lastly, in order to get to and from the airport, the hotel was able to organize a private car which we had to pay in cash, at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the review, room near the far end of the pool are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned from an 8-day stay at The Quarter and couldn't be happier with our choice! We were treated like royalty from the get go.

They arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport (around 900 baht or $30 US) and we were greeted warmly when we arrived at the hotel, with refreshing cool scented towels and a lovely glass of guava nectar (I think that's what it was) to enjoy while we checked in.

The poolside rooms (cozy deluxe) are huge, and it is literally 2 steps away from the guest room doors to the pool. They are actually more like a suite than a room, with a bedroom and bathroom area that closes off from the living and dining areas. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and come with a kitchenette that includes a sizable counter and sink, small fridge, an electric tea kettle, and two-burner electric stove (you can borrow pots and pans from the front desk). Each room has its own jacuzzi tub (cold water only) right on the enclosed lanai (which has slatted sliding doors that open up fully to the outside, if you wish). Beds are firm, but we found them very comfortable. Plenty of hot water in the shower, and great water pressure. The a/c works almost too well! There is a safe in the bedroom closet (two closets, by the way, and double sinks in the bathroom). Living room has a huge and comfortable couch and there is a flat screen TV and DVD player (you can borrow movies from the front desk too).

The pool is very nice, not huge but perfect for swimming and relaxing. It is framed by flowering plumeria trees on one side while the other side looks out over the town and the beach in the near distance. There are lounge chairs situated on "shelves" in the pool, so you can dabble a hand or foot in the water without actually getting in the water if you wish. Very civilized.

The breakfast buffet was quite decent with both Eastern and Western options -- nothing to write home about, but more than adequate. The little open-air restaurant sits right beside the pool and was a fine place to enjoy the morning before heading out for the day's adventures. As we were there during low season it was never very crowded, and we were able to take our time and have as much coffee and tea as we wanted -- it was nice not to feel rushed to give up our seats when we were done eating.

They have a little, tiny bar next to the restaurant which seemed to be always open for business, though we didn't ever stop there for drinks. They also have a limited room service available, but we didn't make use of it. There were so many good restaurants close by there was just never any need!

There is a spa on the property, which we also did not make use of so I can't give any feedback there. We did look at the price list and it's not unreasonable, though much higher than what you would pay for similar services if you go down the hill and into town, which is what we opted to do.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, though not entirely fluent in English (which wasn't much of a hindrance). They will happily help you out with booking any sightseeing tours you might like to take (I highly recommend a Phi Phi Island cruise!!), making recommendations and reservations for dinner, whatever you need. We were even able to rent a scooter for the week (300 baht per day, or about $9 US) right at the hotel, which was very handy! It's the only way to travel around Phuket (especially since the hotel is up a small but fairly steep hill, and requires a walk of at least 10 minutes to get anywhere for eating, shopping, or to play at the nearest beach, Surin). We loved the freedom of being able to come and go as we pleased on our scooter, and the price was fantastic.

As our departing flight was after midnight, we inquired about late check out and they were most accommodating. The hotel will allow you to stay until 6:00pm by paying a reasonable fee (around $50 US, I believe) but we opted to just pay for an additional night so as to stay until 10:00pm when our car arrived to pick us up for the airport. This gave us time to go get a final oil massage in town after our dinner, and then come back to shower and change before getting on the plane. Also very civilized.

I cannot say enough good things about the Quarter. I would definitely recommend without hesitation, and we will absolutely go back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in cozy deluxe for 2 nights. The room is spacious with nice deco - really liked it. Found some stains on the sofa but it's acceptable. I liked the shower in the room which is strong and hot enough. Jacuzzi in the room is a bit disappointing as hot water is not available. DVDs are available for renting - really good for relaxing in the room. Reception staff is nice and helpful. The shared pool is not very big but not crowded. I ordered room service on the 2nd night. Surprisingly inexpensive although food quality is just okay. In-room massage service is available as well and the price is reasonable for a hotel.

It is about 5-minute walk from Tesco express and 7-11 and 10-minute walk from Surin beach area with plenty of restaurants and massage. Shuttle bus service is available to and from Surin beach but there are only 2 each day... It'd be better if it's more frequent as the steep slope at hotel entrance makes hanging out more difficult.

I checked out early for a morning flight. The hotel is 35-40 minutes drive from airport. Overall this hotel is nice and good for a relaxing holiday. Would definitely recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Cozy deluxe room is good enough for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halenhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#24 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pen Villa Hotel
Pen Villa Hotel
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium
Surin Sabai Condominium
#16 of 54 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium 3 and Villas
0.4 mi away
Surin Beach Resort
Surin Beach Resort
#16 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarter Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarter Resort Phuket

Property: The Quarter Resort Phuket
Address: 92/5, Moo 3 | Cherng Talay Sub-District, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quarter Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quarter Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quarter Hotel Thalang
The Quarter Resort Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing