We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, Nice resort, but thats it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Quarter Resort Phuket
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

A cozy hotel, not many rooms witch fitted us perfectly, friendly staff.
But ice cold water in the jacuzzi-so we could never use it!
The beds were hard as stone and we woke up with ache every morning!!!!! Horrible!!
The water im the shower eather bunred our skin, or we had to run out of it because of the sudden switch to cold!
We had to swich rooms because of the aircon, it had broke and there was water all over the floor.
Breakfast was poor, and the rooms were badly renovaded, there were cracks on the walls in the rooms and the white couch was dirty.
All though it was a pretty nice place to stay, worth the money. We wanted to go back when we saw that the prices had gone up extremly much since we were there, its a nice hotel, but NOT worth todays prices!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasminaStankovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for The Quarter Resort Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at The Quarter with my friend last Sep (writing this review very late!), whilst we had a wonderful & thoroughly relaxing holiday we both agreed this place would be perfect for a romantic retreat!
We managed to secure our booking for a steal with Hotels.com so it was excellent value for money.

We stayed in a Cozy Double Room & it was cozy but not because of size, the room was huge!! There is a large seating area with large TV/ DVD etc, adequate kitchen (fine for coffee & snacks etc - with fridge) & then a lovely bedroom/ bathroom area (sliding doors to separate from main living area). The bed is one of the comfiest I've slept in!!
There's is lots of storage for clothes & suitcases etc.
No bath but a good shower/ twin basins - bathroom is like a spa, so relaxing!
In our private porch area there was a jacuzzi hot tub & then the shared pool directly outside with lovely chairs sunken into the pool - sea view, bliss!
The whole place was kept immaculate for our entire weeks stay.

The breakfast was just okay, nothing to scream about.

The area itself (Surin) is very quiet but nice, lots of nice boutiques & some expensive (for Thailand) but delicious restaurants close by, there are couple of other more lively hotels in walking distance so you can go for drinks there in the evenings (there isn't much going on a The Quarter in the eve & their Room Service is average).
Surin beach is nice but the waves are quite high so not great for swimming, you can jump in cab to other, prettier beaches.

Overall I would definitely recommend The Quarter to anyone who wants to chill in a relaxing & beautiful setting, not the place to be if you want to be in the heart of the action.

Room Tip: If you have a bunch of friends wanting to holiday together I would recommend all staying in the pool...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horton-Clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel has a very nice ambiance. You can lay around the pool or sit in your room the whole day or look at the smiling faces of the staff ... Anything more expected from this hotel will be disappointing. We had booked a grand cozy deluxe room. The rooms are really big and are exactly like shown in the pics. But there were many down sides to this hotel...like usually only one room is provided with a shower gel and not the other one..which was wierd. I am not sure if they had a staff shortage or the staff is usually so slow..coz any order would take minimum 1 hr. And the funniest thing was during check out they actually check if all the towels, slippers,shower gel etc are in place...and if they cant find any of these things..they actually inquire with you..!!!!...Pathetic...
Pros: 1.) Breakfast is ok
2.) Ambiance is good
3.) Rooms are very big

Cons: 1.) The location is at the top of a hill. If you want to go down ..you wont find any vehicle to do so. We were with a 8 month old baby..so walking all the way down was not an option for us. The hotel would charge min 200 Baht to go to Surin beach !!!!..which is only 5 min down the hotel !!! So can imagine how much they would charge for other locations !!
2.) Room service is not that efficient. The rooms were never mopped properly...
3.) The hotel does not have a 24 hr room service facility like other 5 star hotels..so were stuck without food or any staff to help when we tried to order dinner after 9 pm .
4.) The down going road from the hotel does not have any street lights . This makes it all the more difficult to take that road at night..
4.) The kitchenette is for namesake..they don't have any utensils to cook except for one kettle and some spoons
Overall would not recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimps0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

There is nothing to reccomend this hotel at all.
The hotel is situated in surin up an exceptionally steep unlit hill so walking anywhere is more or less out of the question.
The rooms are generally a bit worn ( stains on the furniture etc) and the doors dont lock properly so everthing has to be put in the safe. Beds are beyond hard.
Normal hotel services are virtually non -existant - yes they clean the room but thats about it.
we didnt realise there was a pool or a restaurant as the disinterested staff didnt bother to show us.
Our room we were given had virtually no natural light and all the charm of a subterranean car park -we asked to be moved but bothered to get back to us (this room we assume from the door sign was previously a spa). The pool had all the charm of an embarmming tank.
Dont bother to set your alarm as without fail the building works next door will wake you up at 6am.
During our stay we were treated to a 2 hour powercut during which noone bothered to let us know what was happening or even check we were still alive and there was no emergency lighting.
This just a collection of very unpleasant rooms masquerading as a hotel and I hand on heart can't think of a single plus point.
Check out was a nightmare too - after been kept waiting for an age while the reception staff chatted to friends of theirs on the phone I was given a bill which I paid. In the rudest manner possible I was then told to wait while they checked the room- UNBELIEVABLE!
Don't even think about booking here - if you have any doubt just ask me. If noone goes here they might bulldoze the place and build a half decent hotel.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Cozy Deluxe rooms are spacious, clean and cool - with lovely views of the sea and the pool. Terrific if all you want to do is lounge around the place - wifi works well, the pool doesn't get very crowded, the room is comfortable. I loved that you only need to take two steps from your room to the pool. okay, maybe three if your stride is small, but you get the idea. the sun beds right in the water were lovely - great spot to read that trashy novel, beautiful view when you look up from your book.

If you have a dustmite allergy, and/or sinus problems, and if like me, you typically scrutinize hotel room photos to see if there are rugs on the floor, you will love the quarter's cozy deluxe rooms. Not a single carpet in sight, the room is cleaned well every day, no chance for dust to accumulate - my sinuses could not have been happier.

I was less impressed with the luxury pool suite - we were lucky enough to get to use this for a few hours on our last day (we paid 1000 baht to use it from 11am till 6pm, as we had a late night flight and checkout was in the morning) - and although it was nice to have a lap pool all to yourself, there is a ceiling above the pool, which means it's not as nice to look up and lounge around coz you don't see sky, you only see brick. And because it's on the lower levels, the view isn't as nice as that from the cozy deluxe and cozy grande rooms. So if you can, splash out for the penthouse, otherwise you're better off booking a few of the cozy grande rooms instead.

The kitchenette (in both rooms) was a let-down. although there was a stove, there was nothing you could use to cook - no pots or pans, no knives or ladles etc. - they said you could call and ask to borrow some, but you get the sense they don't really want you cooking in there. no microwave either - just a kettle and a fridge. We ended up ordering room service a lot.

The staff were warm and try very hard to please, are very accommodating, though some may not understand or speak English as well as others - but if you're patient and speak slowly and simply, you'll be fine. Overall, an excellent value-for-money hotel if you want peace and quiet and like to enjoy the room/pool.

However if you were hoping to get out and explore Phuket or even just Surin, the steep hill getting to the hotel can be quite a deterrent. It's so steep, I was even afraid to ride a bike up or down that slope. So if you are the kind of person who likes to go out and do many things on holiday, you'll be better off in a hotel closer to town or the beach.

Room Tip: The Cozy Deluxe and Cozy Grande rooms are right by the pool and have excellent views of the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The accommodation definitely made up for the 'not-so-brilliant' weather whilst I was in Phuket for my short three night holiday with my girl friends. There were four of us so we had to share the two large beds, one in the upper bedroom as u come into the room/house and one on the lower floor behind the spacious living room. There's a lovely, big bathroom for each bedroom, with shower area but no bath tub. We wanted to sip Champagne whilst using the jacuzzi but was rather disappointed at learning that only cold water flowed into it, so we never ended up having a jacuzzi session. What a downer. The jacuzzi is outside on the patio in front of the living room, overlooking the splendid view of houses and other buildings and then far out to the sea. Since The Quarter is situated on a steep hill, and most taxi drivers, plus our friend couldn't find it. We had to guide them to the entrance of The Quarter.

Breakfast is available in the small open restaurant next to the nicely designed but small pool that the sea view facing rooms can see.

The staff are warm and dealt with our requests promptly. (Firmer pillow, clean the jacuzzi more (which we didn't use in the end).) All in all, rooms are very modern, comfy and clean with all amenities needed. Very nice to chill in the big living room or patio if not wanting to spend the day out.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at the Quarter at Surin Beach for 10nights with my husband and 2 kids in June. We were all very impressed with the Accomodation.we were in room 407 which is a 2 level Duplex suite. It has 2 rooms, both with ensuite bathrooms, electric stove which we never used, fridge, plates, bowls and cutleries. It has a living area with a big sofa that can easily become a extra bed for guest, LCD tv, and DVD player. it leads out to the balcony that has a family size jacuzzi that overlooks the pool below and the sea in the distance.

My husband and I were very impressed with the thoughtfulness of the hotel management. Evrything you can imagine is generously provided. Plenty of toiletries in both bathrooms, 4 bath robes, 2 umbrellas, sufficient towels, 4 beach towels, 2 baskets for the towels and 2 flashlights.
Powerful air conditioning and 2 king size beds. I found the bed on the upper level to be more comfortable than the bed n the lower level where my kids slept (though they did not complain & slept through every night).
There is free wifi in every room but we were never able to connect to the wifi in our room throughout our time there and had to connect to the wifi in neighboring rooms.

I have ordered Tom yam soup and Tom kha khai a few times from the room service menu and requested that they cook it as spicy as possible and the soup always came rather mild. So mild that my sons who don't take much chilli enjoys it.
So, if you like authentic Thai food.. I wouldn't recommend testing at the hotel. Instead try a local restaurant down the slopes (turning left from the hotel, opposite A little supermarket). The lady boss who runs the local restaurant and her chef whips up some fantastic authentic Thai food and we LOVED it. My sweet husband who walk down the slope from the hotel several times that trip to pack us food to enjoy in our lovely room. My children likes the Oyster Sauce chicken which they will have with white rice. I love their stir fry red curry with long beans and chicken (absolutely delicious), chicken in green curry or red curry (they are both different and totally delicious), Tom yum soup, Tom kha khaki soup(spicy coconut soup) and thoroughly enjoyed them all. We told them we wanted them as the Thais have them, SPICY and it was. I really miss the food there now. The price is really good too. Great food at great prices. Must try. They close at 8pm.

Our only complain is that the hotel is on a steel slope that is not litted at night. My husband braved the rain some evenings to get us food from the local restaurant and he said it is so dark you can't hardly see your hand in front of you, so do bring the flashlight.
Surin Beach is about 10mins walk away, a small quiet beach with restaurants llining it. Not much to our liking, so we spent the rest of our beach time at Karon & Patong beach. Pity we didn't get to go to Kata beach.

All in all, a wonderful time in Phuket with the family.

Room Tip: Room 303 is right by the restaurant and 308 is furthest from the restaurant. Rooms 403 & 408 are...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Benyada Lodge
Benyada Lodge
#65 of 97 in Thalang District
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#26 of 36 in Choeng Thale
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium 3 and Villas
0.1 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium 2
Surin Sabai Condominium 2
#18 of 54 in Choeng Thale
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park Surin
The Park Surin
#3 of 28 in Choeng Thale
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarter Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarter Resort Phuket

Address: 92/5, Moo 3 | Cherng Talay Sub-District, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Thalang District
Price Range: $47 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quarter Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quarter Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quarter Hotel Thalang
The Quarter Resort Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing