We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not a great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice, but not a great value”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our family of 4 recently spent four nights at this hotel, and while it was nice, it wasn't exceptional and it was a bit pricey for what we got. I'll start by saying that this was not our first choice hotel...we had a reservation mixup on our end and had to find a hotel in Phuket just a few days before leaving the US, and this hotel is the one that seemed nicest of what was available on short notice. I'd suggest one of the hotels close to Surin Beach if you're making your reservations far enough ahead of time.

The layout of our 2 bedroom suite was good, but the beds were VERY firm and there was almost nothing to use in the kitchen other than a few drinking glasses. We did have a nice view of the pool area and surrounding scenery from our balcony, but the pool was pretty shallow and a bit of a dissapointment for our girls (ages 12 & 15). Continental breakfast and free wifi was included in our rate. The staff is nice, but it does take some effort to work with their limited english speaking abilities. We had one incident where the driver said he knew where the restaurant we wanted to go to was, but he took us to the wrong place and we had to backtrack for about 10-15 minutes to get to the actual restaurant, which is really only about 5 minutes away from the hotel. They do provide a shuttle to both of the beaches near the hotel...Bangtao Beach and Surin Beach...which is nice. Both are within walking distance, but when it's 90 degrees and REALLY humid, it's nice to have a ride.

We enjoyed Surin Beach the most, although Bangtao Beach is much longer and still a nice area. We went to Surin Beach two days in a row and rented umbrella shaded loungers each day for 150 THB ($5US) each for the whole day. There are nicely cordoned off swim areas, several pay-to-play activities such as jet skiis and parasailing, and plenty of beach cafes...definitely visit the food vendors right by the entrance to the beach, as you can get cold bottled water and sodas, fresh cut fruit and fresh off the grill chicken satay for cheap...our girls also loved the made to order banana "pancake", which is more of a banana filled crepe smothered in Nutella...yum! And, be sure to get a Thai massage while you're on the beach...one hour for 300-400 THB is SO worth it!

There are also some good restaurants in the area...we liked The Bistro in the Bangtao Beach area, and Toto Italian which is a bit more of a drive. Definitely experience a tuk-tuk drive back to the hotel after dinner...it's an experience:) Overall, for the money we paid I would have stayed in a hotel closer to Surin Beach, but this hotel was fine, just not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mhgretsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

ID#: 189673856

Well, we booked a 2 bedroom jacuzzi suite for the new year. Obviously paying over $700 per night, you of course have SOME expectations. I am not the 1 to complain but this place is beyond a joke. We arrive, there is no glasses, cutlery or anything in the "self contained" apartment. Tried to use the tv, no batteries in remote an after calling reception, no one could help. The following day the shower head broke. That afternoon the toilet blocked... New Year's Eve. We were left with the smell of human waste until the following midday where we had to ask for someone to come an fix it AGAIN. Tried to turn the fan on an smoke started coming out from behind the switch. Obviously not wanting to spend time in the room for obvious reasons I asked for a late checkout an to speak with the general manager. He was no where to be seen an no one got back to me about solving my problems. I was more than patient an just wanted a "fair" solution so I could leave the hotel in a positive light. I understand things break, nothing is perfect, but when the problem becomes yours on your holiday, it's quite annoying an obviously it leads to this bad review. They couldn't offer 1 night refund or even come up with anything. I said at least you could pay for our taxi home which they did.(it actually turned out to be the hotel transfer car so they were not out if pocket at all) all in all, manager never showed an I left the place very disappointed an would NEVER go back or recommend the establishment to anyone. They need to take a good look at who is running it an when guests have a problem, deal with it. Not pass the buck.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is not particularly well located they offer a shuttle to the beach but it was not easy to coordinate a return back to the hotel from the beach.

The rooms were new and fairly well decorated but our room safe was faulty. We asked them to fix the safe which they apparently tried to do. When we got back to the room we had some money stolen from the safe (not all but there were notes missing). I complained to the manager who didn't seem particularly surprised and offered a free transfer to the airport when we checked out. This didn't compensate the money that was stolen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Menu_Sleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We got this hotel through a special deal, so we got what we paid for.
The hotel staff were nice and friendly, but not too helpful when it came to helping us book activites & day trips ( they tried, but they couldn't get through the tour operators and gave up).
The location is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach, but there was no walking path so we used the shuttle service provided by the hotel, which is available every hour until 18.00.
The pool area is quite nice, but their spa is average and it's cheaper to get massages at the beach.
The apartment we rented was a self service apartment - quite bright and new, however it didn't get cleaned while we were there, no new towels or toilet paper. Facilities were quite poor, no toaster or microwave. There were only two glasses and 4 spoons. No plates, no kitchen towels, no washing liquid or any other necessary kitchen utencils.
The food in the restaurant was't good at all. We ordered prawn pad thai - the prawns weren't fresh and quite dry and the noodles were soggy. We also ordered chicken curry, which tasted like boiled cocnut water - no flavour at all!
Overall, the place was average and I would only reccommend if you manage to get a cheap deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in Pool Penthouse unit. On the arrival we got the warm welcome, the staffs was very friendly and smile all the time . It makes me feel home. The room is very large and the pool is absolutely fantastic.
The breakfast was average.
It will take about 10 mins to Surin beach but it is not a problem at all coz The shuttle bus service will be available every hour from the hotel and if you book for the way back, they also will go to pick you up.
It's really fantastic fog us and I will definitely coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Its been a good place to relax at Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort and Spa., where you can feel the presence of a quiet place and enjoy the watching the mountain view and also the beautiful seaview at your own balcony, and about its staff they are approachable and also very friendly to their guest,.the food were also good, the facilities are complete, they had the fitness center were you can enjoy many equipments also they have thier own spa room where you can have a spa massage to feel more relaxing.But regarding the place it is far from shopping mall you will have to ride a taxi first before you can get there like Central Festival and Big C it takes time to go there when you are here in Bangtao.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina28_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valla Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family booked this resort because it advertised with "a fully equipped kitchen" but this was not so. The kitchen only had tea and coffee making facilities. We did ask about the lack of facilities and were told that we could hire equipment for a nominal amount (which we ended up doing for one evening). I was more upset with the fact that it was false advertising. As had we known we certainly would not have booked this resort/residence. It also advertised as being close to the beach but was quite a walk, tho complimentary shuttle whenever we wanted was available. Bangtao township is smelly and not inviting. We also asked for 2 maps of the area which was photocopied for us but as it turned out on the back of the page we found to our horror that they had photocopied on two sheets of paper that had complaints on them! One complaint was from a person on holidays and the other from an owner of one of the apartments! Staff were friendly tho inefficient. Breakfast okay. Definitely wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Onlhy room to book is a pool view. Wouldn't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.5 mi away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#28 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kris Resort
The Kris Resort
#83 of 95 in Thalang District
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Phuket
Beachfront Phuket
#14 of 89 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Park Surin
The Park Surin
#3 of 28 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium
Surin Sabai Condominium
#16 of 54 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sansuri Resort Phuket
Sansuri Resort Phuket
#6 of 54 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa

Property: Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa
Address: 110/111 Moo 3, Surin Beach Soi 8, Srisoontorn Rd | Cherngtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LUXURY OF SPACE - generous 190 sqm. Two Bedroom Suites, spacious 76 sqm. One Bedroom Suites. Full European kitchen & kitchenettes. Set in Bangtao’s peaceful village, Bangtao Tropical Resort & Spa offers large suites suitable for family holidays and romantic breaks. The restaurant offers sumptuous Thai feasts and tasty western treats.The staff are trained to give the highest levels of service to make your stay a truly unforgettable experience.Tone up in our state of the art gym or chill out in our spa with a sauna or steam bath followed by a fabulous Thai massage or beauty treatment.Enjoy cocktail's at sunset around our enormous free form pool with built-in Jacuzzi and safe children s play pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangtao Tropical Residence Hotel Thalang
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort And Spa
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing