We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsacre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsacre
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Total satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

After having travelled to the Nai Yang area of Phuket, Thailand, on several previous occasions in the past, this time round we were looking for somewhere to stay that was close enough to Nai Yang Village and beach, but secluded enough to offer us some peace and quiet away from the usual resort and tourist atmosphere. After careful research, we found a gem of a family run bungalow complex managed by Glen and Christine about a ten minute walk from the main beach and restaurants. On arrival we were pleased to discover this wonderful place exceeded all expectations. The gardens are beautiful and centre piece here is an immaculate pool and lawned area. The rooms are large, airy and very well appointed with a fridge, satellite TV, hot and cold water server, coffee and tea, a large comfortable bed, veranda, Air con/dehumidifier with the bedding and towels changed regularly. The hosts are straight talking and very open Brits. Glen found the time to take me to get an infection from a bite in Ko Lipe checked out at the local pharmacy, which showed us we were in caring hands; something which continued throughout our stay. Wonderful too was the freshly cooked and varied quality breakfast every morning. Wifi is also available at no charge.We will be back in the Nai Yang area in the future as we find it ideal for a short break before flying back from Phuket to the U.K. - So Christine and Glen, if you read this, expect us to book early as I see this home from home being harder to secure as more and more people discover it- your grateful friends Clive and Loa

Room Tip: Three bungalows in total- but two bungalows are connected by a hall which is ideal for larger groups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swifty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Glen and I appreciate your valuable response, we are delighted to have provided you both with a holiday to remember, we look forward to you returning one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We have recently returned from Kingsacre and find it hard to put into words what an absolutely fantastic holiday we had. We were greeted at Phuket airport by Glen and swiftly taken to Kingsacre. There we were introduced to Christine and Tam (the dog) and were made to feel very welcome in their wonderful home. After a cold beer and a friendly chat we were taken to villa 1 which was very light, airy and spacious , such a refreshing change from some hotel rooms we have stayed in previously. The villa was very well equipped and all the fixtures and fittings a very high standard. The gardens are absolutely beautiful, and with just 2 other villas in the complex, there is plenty of space. Most days we were on our own, so it felt like we had our own private garden and pool !!! The location for us was perfect, just a short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. Breakfast on the covered patio was lovely, self service cereals, toast, drinks etc , various exotic fresh fruits lovingly prepared by Christine and hot food choice cooked fresh to order by Glen yum yum : ) We found it very helpful having English hosts, who are both keen to help and advise on where to eat out, what trips to take (some they can take you on) and general information / interesting facts about Phuket. Special Thanks to Glen, Christine and Robert who all assisted me following a little accident with a glass : ( 2 hours and 9 stitches at the hospital later , Glen was on hand (get it ?) to butter and cut my toast !! Thanks very much for such a wonderful time at Kingsacre, we hope to return later in the year to share this piece of paradise with our daughter and her partner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your wondeful review, special thanks for returning to stay with us and bringing your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a wonderful 16 day holiday at Kingsacre from Christmas Eve 2011 to January 9th 2012. It was our first time in Thailand and we picked an absolute gem of a place to stay.

Kingascre is a small complex of 3 villas set in beautiful gardens. Each villa is different and all are furnished to a high standard. We stayed in Villa 1, which stands alone towards the rear of the gardens. The accomodation consists of a large living room, with a king sized bed. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have every slept in, better even than a Marriott! Biggest difficulty was dragging ourselves out of it in a morning! The room had beautiful high quality furniture and everything was well maintained. There was also a water cooler and a small fridge to keep drinks and snacks in. The bathroom was fully tiled with a nice shower. The villas are serviced every day and the sheets and towels are changed regularly. It was more like the service you expect in a hotel rather than a villa.

The gardens were absolutely stunning. The owners, Christine and Glen, have developed Kingscare from a former rubber plantation and the gardens are rightly their pride and joy. Tropical plants are everywhere, including a lovely collection of orchids. In the centre of the complex is a pool surrounding by a lawn. We spent our days sat aound the pool and because there are only 3 villas, we quite often had the pool to ourselves. The sunbeds were hand-made by Glen and are perfect for enjoying the sun! Glen also acts as Head Chef and made us breakfast every morning. You have cereals, juice, fresh fruit, toast and as much tea and coffee as you like. You can then choose from omelette, eggs (scrambled, poached, fried) or a full cooked breakfast, which is all included in the price. Our breakfasts were so good that most days we didn't manage lunch.

In the evenings we'd walk down to Nai Yang beach, which is about a 10 minute stroll. Its a nice resort with a lovely beach and there are lots of bars and restaurants, many directly on the beach. We ate mainly at Octopus, Rotin Charin, and Savoy and drank at Mama Mia's and Wats. All were fantastic and we never had a bad meal or drink (are there any bad drinks??). Then we'd wander back to Kingascre and enjoy a drink sat out on our terrace overlooking the garden.

We loved everything about Kingascre. What made it extra special was the owners, Glen and Christine. They live in a bungalow on the complex and do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. When we asked if we would need to book for Xmas Day night, they invited us to join them and their mates at a beach barbeque. They made us feel like friends, not just guests and they could not do enough to make sure we had a lovely time. They arranged 2 trips for us, one around Phuket and another to James Bond Island, with Christine acting as our tour guide.

Overall Kingsacre and Nai Yang was fantastic and I would go back in a heartbeat. Its perfect for couples, especially if you're looking to relax and soak up all Phuket has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chappy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Glen and I were truly humbled by your glowing review, Tam has made a new friend too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We found Kingsacre after hearing another traveller mention the name and then looking it up on trip advisor. It was everything we wanted - Beautiful surroundings, large modern bungalow, sparkling private pool secluded from the noise but only a 10 minute walk to the Nai Yang beach and main town area. Our 5 days there was invigorating, totally relaxing and Glen and Christine are excellent hosts - we had some great chats over a freshly cooked (by Glen) breakfast. Both Glen and Christine make you feel special and do whatever they can to make sure your time their is enjoyable. We are so happy we found Kingsacre and had the pleasure of meeting Glen and Christine and sharing there little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are very glad to hear that people are talking about us, the result was meeting some wonderful Australians, great company with evenings chating about travel experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Simply beautiful,clean quiet and yet full of character. Glen & Christine are lovely hosts and are rightly proud of their Thai jewel, this very private villa complex that they have created. Both are jovial and keen to please,they are out to impress and make your hoilday special. The gardens are beautifully laid out and superbly maintained, as are the rooms and facilities on offer. Our second visit and a real treat. Thanks foragain for another brilliant holiday xx

Room Tip: Just talk to Glen or Christine...but there arent any bad ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We thank all our guests for their valued comments, constructive criticism and helpful hints are always acted upon. Looking forward to another full and happy season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Well I wish I never had to write about this place as I wanted to keep it to myself so a vacancy was always there for me but to be fair to Glen and Christine I give this review.

My partner and I had a wonderful 10 days there; it was absolutely what we needed to relax away from our sometimes hectic lifestyle. Nothing was too much, I have been coming to Thailand for the last 8 years and I wish I had found this place earlier, others have commented on the lush gardens, clean and well laid out villa's this I cannot fail to agree with, access to a pool and at a very good price. Location wise you are close enough to beach, restaurants and nightlife, fitness centre, tennis courts and close enough to access the rest of the Island, what I found though was it actually felt and is much safer than other parts of the island I have stayed. Good and quick access to the airport is another plus point.

I thought long and hard so it’s a fair review but struggle to find anything negative which had an impact on my stay. A reviewer reflected on the extra electric cost and I agree very little, but these costs were known before and there is a folder on arrival to help you with further details.

I truly believe that even with great accommodation you still need good welcoming people behind it and Kingsacre has that. As I left I told Glen and Christine we came as guests and leave as friends, I hope this review helps other people looking for accommodation, I will just have to book early to make sure my space is always reserved.

Mark & Steve

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliffy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed here for five days in November,to get away from the English winter and the welcome from Glen and Christine is as warm as the Thai weather.
They have set up the bungalows with everything you could need and the gardens/pool are beautiful.
A 10-15 minute stroll takes you to Nai Yang beach where there is a range of bars,restaurants,gift shops,massage places etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.4 mi away
Nai Yang Beach Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#1 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
0.1 mi away
Chez Charly Bungalow
Chez Charly Bungalow
#1 of 19 in Nai Yang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsacre

Property: Kingsacre
Address: 83/8 Moo 5, Sakhu | Near Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsacre is a privately owned and run (English)villa resort, close to Nai Yang Beach and National Park, and only 5 minutes from Phuket International airport. It is set in a waled tropical garden with maximum privacy, a large swimming pool and stunning gardens ideal for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kingsacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsacre Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing