We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY! TERRIBLE HOTEL!”
Review of Garden Cottage

Garden Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Cottage
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We really had a TERRIBLE experience and I encourage all of you to read the following lines and NOT to stay at this hotel for any reason.

First of all, the small bungalow is definitely not worth the 1200 bath we paid. For this money you get a small, dirty and basic bungalow, no A/C, and you sleep with insects and geckos. Breakfast is NOT included.

During our trip all over Thailand, in high season, we paid maximum 600 Bath for a room with these characteristics. It’s a rip-off.

Moreover, the owners of this place have created a perfect machine to suck the money of the people that don't know much of Thai transport. Here is what happened to us:

We needed to stay in a place close to the airport, so we picked this accommodation. When we checked-in we asked if it was possible to book us a taxi/tuktuk to go to the airport the morning after.
They said that a taxi would have cost us 150 baht. Considering Thai fares and the fact that Garden Cottage is 2km from the airport, this price is at least 3 times the price you would get with a normal taxi. Just to make you understanding we arrived from Phuket (40 km away) on a taxi for 600 baht.

Considering the above we asked if it was possible to have a tuk tuk collecting us or if it was possible to have at least a taxi with a taximeter: answer was “there are no tuk tuk here and taximeter exist only in Bangkok”. Of course we knew this was not true, we tried to insist but there was no room for negotiation.

They just said that it wasn't possible so we were obliged to choose that option.

We woke up early to get on this very expensive taxi and I couldn't believe at my eyes. It wasn't a proper taxi, was the owner that was going to drive us to the airport with her car and of course take the 150 bath in her pocket.

When we explained we didn’t think this was fair, she started to argue and finally parked the car and told us to walk away. Which, of course, we did.

This was the only time I’ve been treated like this by a hotel owner.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pups_Kalamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2010

Pros:

-Very close to the airport, 5 minutes by car
-Close to one of the most amazing beaches we saw during our trip.
-Nice location, situated in a beautiful garden och not to touristy in Nai Yang.
-Room 20 is amazing, a bargain with a very romantic touch and totaly secluded.
- Wonderful patios in an amazing garden.
- Very nice and helpful owners.

Cons:

- Faar from the beach, about 15 minute walk. But I like some exercise during my holiday so not a con for me... also it is only 100 baht for a tuktuk, one way, to the beach.
- The restaurant is beautiful but the food we got was not amazing for the quite expensive price we paid.
-The bungalows are to basic and faar from the beach to be worth paying 1600 baht/night for. (in high season) If you choos to stay in one of the bungalows, make sure you dont get one close to the main road. Very noisy!

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before leaving Thailand and we really loved our stay. The owners are very helpful and perfect hosts and the garden where the bungalows are situated is paradise. Me and my partner were first checked in to room nr 20, wich is hidden deep within the garden with an amazing outdoor seating area. (Dont forget to buy moscito repeliant) This room is amazing and makes you feel lika you are staying at a 4 star resort with a lovely bathroom and huge glas windows facing the garden. Everything is clean and this room feels very romantic. We payed 1600 baht/ night and is a real bargain!

Unfortunately we had to switch room after one night and were moved to the standard AC bungalow. This was not at all as nice.... for the price of 1600 baht/ night I would definately recomend staying somewhere else, closer to the beach.

I also really want to recomend the beach of Nai Yang, it is so close to the airport but also a really fantastic beach! It is beautiful, not at all crowded and there is a food market that has cheap amazing food. Some night life and good beach restaurants with nice seafood. Also there is a market on Saturdays for the locals, if you like genuine Thailand this is something a strongly recomend, very cheap as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: ruhige Zimmer, bequeme Betten
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Ceed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich hatte bungalow 15 der war elativ weit weg von der strasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyaquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacerasella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
0 mi away
Vivi Boutique Room
Vivi Boutique Room
#90 of 240 in Phuket Town
4 reviews
0 mi away
Happy Cottages Phuket
Happy Cottages Phuket
#29 of 240 in Phuket Town
32 reviews
0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
868 reviews
0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,000 reviews
0 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage

Address: 53/1 Sanambin Road, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Thalang District
Price Range: $30 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Cottage is a unique little resort, hidden away in peaceful location. It consists of 17 bungalows in tropical garden with a hugh of number of tropical plants and flowers. It’s just perfect place for enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Cottage Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing