We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Stand-by”
Review of Tatonka

Tatonka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Local Stand-by”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've been going to Tatonka for years now and you can always count on its great food and service. Chef Harold is from Austria but the place is American Indian themed. Go figure. The food is western with Thai highlights. Try the Vietnamese tuna sashimi spring rolls, crabcakes, duck cigars or prawn and grapefruit spoons to start. Then go for a gourmet pizza (my favorite Peking Duck), or blackened chicken or pasta with Thai green curry sauce. LAst time I had the mahi mahi special whihc was spectacular.

Don't forget to go say hello to Harold in the open kitchen. He'll chat while he's cooking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    87
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a bit confusing”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

wasnt sure where the chef was trying to go with the food, seemed a bit mixed up with the flavours and the theme, it might have just been me as this restaurant seems to have quite a good following. if you have a spare evening give it a try, i still had a good time on the wine but that was drunk to make up for what i thought was under whelming meal. on the high cost side also

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squealer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
2 reviews
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Strongly recommended, so booked for this evening. However, restaurant forgot to send car to collect us! Will try again next year. Had a great meal at Dusit Thani instead.

Helpful?
Thank Solo5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went there for dinner in December. Food was really interesting and unusual. Makes a change from traditional thai food. Cash new nut crusted chicken was lovely as were the Peking duck hand rolls.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marmaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

No idea how anyone can not rate this restaurant as it is one of the best places we have ever eaten (not just in Thailand) and we have been lucky enough to have eaten in some of the UK’s most prestigious eateries. The service was incredible as was the wine. The chef clearly has an exceptional pallet as all of our 3 courses were to die for, don’t think we even spoke to each other the whole time as we were so into the food.

The atmosphere is fabulous, very romantic for couples – yet very trendy for groups. You only have to take a trip to the loo to see some of the many many excellent restaurants the chef has worked over the years.

Please don’t listen to the 1 negative comment this is by far the best restaurant in Thailand (well out of Bangkok, Krabi, Chaing Mai and Phuket)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatonka also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Tatonka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing