We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right hotel to enjoy & relax”
Review of Twinpalms Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Twinpalms Phuket
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The right hotel to enjoy & relax”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Twinpalms has everything that a 5-stars hotel should have - nice, well equipped rooms/pool/gym, great service, good location, great food and they keep it very clean.
We were upgraded, so that's also a plus.

Although Cherngtalay is very small place and Surin Beach is pretty crowded, Twinpalms Hotel has a very special spot on the beach. That was very important to us, because we don't like breathing on our neck. It is cca 200 m away from the hotel, but most of the hotels in the neighborhood are too.
There is just one downside, well, two, to be honest but they are not directly connected to the hotel.
First, Cherngtalay does not have any nightlife, so you will have to get a cab or tuk tuk and go somewhere else (Patong).
The second thing is that taxi drivers use that fact very much and charge the drive to Patong around 350 - 400 baht (the other way around is cheaper). Besides that, it seemed to me that everybody wanted to charge us more than usual because we were staying in a 'expensive hotel'.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putujem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    335
    98
    25
    27
See reviews for
274
1,140
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

an HONEST view of Twin Palms Phuket! Often referred to each other and many of our friends as TPP TwinPalmsPhuket! I think we have stayed at TPP 4 or 5 times in the past 2 years. We 1st stayed in a lagoon room and loved it! stayed in a junior lagoon suite the next time (great air con and very spacious), then a garden residence (beautiful - the pictures on the hotel website say it all), last year a basic palm room and booked for this year a palm suite. Which ever room you stay in, i"m sure you will love it!

Some people talk about their arrival at TPP (the mocktail and flowers) let's take it back to the welcome at the airport! You can pick your TPP host in the crowd of folks, biggest smile! then cold towel and cold water!

We've arrived at TPP sometimes and we've hoped for an early check in (and I mean early!) sometimes you have to realise if you want to check in before midday then book an extra night! or leave your bags with the desk and make sure you pack a small pool or beach bag! check in schedule is 2pm..if you get disappointed before then you need to reset and remember you are in Thailand!

We've been to TPP a few times and we never fail to "check in" then have a walk around (see what's changed!) last year we noticed the gym needed some attention and before we could say it...they were redecorating. A really nice surprise was the refurb or the pool decking! a couple of hours each morning for a few days of our stay - a little inconvenience - but - stunning result!

I've read reviews of guests who say "no kids"!! We have friends with kids and to be honest they have often come to Phuket with us, but instead of staying at TPP have stayed next door at the courtyard Marriott. Twin Palms is not "Kid Unfriendly" by any means. The staff will make everyone feel welcome, however, there is not much to do in the resort to keep children occupied. Our friend's kid's love the water park/slide at the marriott 20 meters next door.

Breakfast at TPP is really good. Its not lavish, it's european, fresh and delicious! If you want a health egg white omelette they will be only too happy to oblige. Coffees of your choice - just ask!

Much much much more to always rave about this place!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKY1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

KUDOS

The Twin Palms make a habit of upgrading people. We arrived, bleary eyed, on December 28th 2009, having flown from the UK via Dubai. So it took us a few minutes to register that we'd been bumped up from a fairly standard room near the main pool to a 2-storey garden residence with private pool (worth 4 times more if you believe the rack rates). We should have twigged when a sweet young Thai man called Phai greeted us at the airport with a big smile and the words "I am your villa host this week".

We would happily have lived in the double height "Residence" for the rest of our lives. The home comforts were my excuse for not going to the gym I'd been so excited about (it has yoga and other exercise classes). We had an expansive open-plan living space on the ground floor - kitchen, dining room, sitting room with plasma TV, a bathroom area with shower and loo, then the pool terrace. On the mezzanine was a gi-NOR-mous bedroom (another large flatscreen TV) and bathroom with an egg shaped bath and his & hers counters either side, then a separate shower, loo and washbasin combo (identical to downstairs). Other Residence perks include a private entranc, a Club room serving an a la carte breakfast (don't bother; slow and they brought the wrong thing) and of course the personal host/butler/concierge.

The food is divine, although the main restaurant is pricy, even by Phuket standards. I'm obsessed with poolside dining menus and the Twin Palms' is exemplary, with a lengthy selection of Thai and international bites. I became addicted to the chicken, prawn and pomelo salad and have been making it at home ever since.

The hotel's excellent Library has tons of books, glossy magazines in various languages, internet-enabled macs and a French guy to help organise your trips. The hotel owns a little hire car and a couple of speedboats. We took the little boat out on our last day for a very bumpy crossing to the islands. With a captain, obviously. Otherwise we'd have got lost. (We almost hired the car but it worked out the same price to hire a larger car from the cab shack across the street instead. They gave us a genius young driver/guide called Bam Bam!)

New Year's Eve was magical, with a buffet in the main restaurant and a big party on the beach with DJs, fireworks and wish lanterns. Understandably, they charge a compulsory supplement for this to keep guests' spend within the hotel.

SNAGS

Our "Residence" was amazing but if we'd paid full whack we'd have been hugely disappointed that the nicely private pool terrace, which is sheltered by high walls and tall planting (palms, bamboo etc) didn't get the sun at any hour of the day during our stay. This would not have been a problem had there been sufficient sun loungers around the pool (everybody complains about this, so I'll shut up now).

On New Year's Eve we got stuck into the aforementioned buffet. However, with beyond-dim lighting and no food labelling, this was mystery dining, with everybody poking around to determine ingredients. This is just silly. Anywhere else in the world there would be a little name badge for each dish.

Twin Palms is a very quiet and not particularly child friendly oasis and we were consequently amazed by how many people ignored this very obvious fact and brought their small noisy children along regardless. Twin Palms have now opened a second, much more family-oriented resort on the east side of the island; so the original would benefit from being designated an adults only destination.

The hotel's biggest weakness is that the staff are terribly sweet but their English is almost universally so bad that you have to repeat requests 3 times... and you still don't know what you're going to get. At one point Phai tells us that he has learned English almost entirely by engaging with guests. In Dubai, where we live, hotel operators like Jumeirah actually teach their staff English. The Twin Palms is an international hotel destination; the common language is English; all the menus are in English; the Dutch, French and Scandiwegians all speak English to the staff; therefore they need training. Especially the girls on the end of the room service line... a few examples.

1) "Can I have one Spanish omelette please?" We get a spinach omelette (even though the Spanish omelette is on the room service menu and, er, the spinach omelette is not!).

2) "Fries, no salt please". "Fries. Noodle?"

3) "Please can you bring me tea, and a cup and saucer". "Cup of sugar?" "No. A cup and saucer". This took 3 attempts and a live mime. They also brought one teabag when we were trying to make a pot.

4) "I'd like two sausages, on toast, with extra toast on the side". They verified the order 3 times and still got it wrong, bringing two lots of two (disgusting, barely cooked) sausages on toast and none on the side.

Aaargh! Sort it out, Twin Palms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Nice hotel albeit a little far from Patong Beach for the night owls, 20 - 30 minutes by Cab, 500 Baht each way, approx $35 Aust. Comfortable hotel but for that added touch, book Deluxe Palm Room, you then have direct pool access. Hotel breakfast is great with plenty to choose from. Dinner menu is a little spartan but hotel also has another restaurant a five minute walk away by the beach, great to watch the sun go down from this location and the first drink for each person each day is on the house. Also in the near vicinity are other fine restaurants together with the usual array of made to measure tailor shops. Would I stay here again? most probably as it is away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I am currently spending my last night here at Twinpalms. Overall, we are very impressed with the offering in the Residence apartments - great value too (about $500AUD in low season) for a Roof top pool apartment. I won't be overly lyrical in this review, but will summarise my key points:

Pros:
- Residence apartments are very spacious and well fit out. Three levels of modern sophistication!
- Roof top pool was very welcome on the hot muggy days
- Staff are very welcoming and always willing to assist
- The "Catch beach club" had great views and good cocktails, this facility was a standout feature and should not be overlooked especially on sunset!
- A rewards card is provided to guests on arrival - one click per 1000 Bhat spent - get ten clicks and you get a free 6pm late checkout (much better than 50% of the nightly rate!)
- Hotel limo: for about $4 more than a taxi, you can take the hotel limo on trips to Patong - a great option
- Hotel limo tour: you can hire the hotel limo for a Phuket tour (of your own design) with driver for 500 Bhat per hour, 3 hour min. Our driver was awesome and showed us around some of the sites, and took us to some markets in Phuket town. Worth every cent.

Neutral
- Oriental spoon: it was good, but it wasn't great - I personally can't rave about the restaurant, but I do have high standards so perhaps I'm just being tough, still: I wasn't impressed by any meal I had there
- No iron or ironing board in room? This was odd, but one was provided on request
- Abundance of stairs & hotel layout - the residence apartments are at the back of the property, so if you want to go to Oriental Spoon or the beach club, its an extra haul. I wouldn't recommend this property for the mobility impaired. Hard to explain but if you come to this property you will know what I mean.

Cons:
- Residence only restaurant/lounge: breakfast on most occasions took a very long time to come out, up to 30mins after ordering! Food quality wasn't the best either i.e. the dim sums were still frozen and the pancakes were half cooked... staff were apologetic, but this was a bit of a let down as most days there was something wrong with the breakfast (were there actually chef's in the kitchen?)
- Residence host: we were't really briefed on checkin as to what these guys are there for i.e. was this our personal butler? We weren't really sure so we never bothered him - perhaps this could be a little more clearly explained for future guests to ensure that they get maximum "usage" out of this advertised benefit
- Pool restaurant/bar: every day had a overly annoying "soundtrack" of rainforest birds, lovely at first but after an hour, not very pleasant - some nice house chillout music would be more appropriate and less annoying for guests
- Catch Beach Club BBQ: food quality was OK but not impressive - good selection of desserts, but the rest of the offering was average. The wine provided with the dinner was of very average quality. One standout was the sushi bar however, and the fresh tuna sushimi was awesome

Finally - I doubt I would be impressed with this property if I had stayed in one of the "standard" rooms lining the poor area. There is absolutely no privacy from passing guests. If you want to come to this property, make sure you book a Residence apartment - it is definitely worth the extra money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haydensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Fantastic place! Away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. Pity there are only a few shops around the area. The deluxe pool room was awesome and the decor very trendy. Great breakfasts and juices to choose from. Rooms are airconditioned and tidied every day. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Spa and wellness centre offer great teas before your massage. Although not cheap but in the end you get what you pay for. I did try a cheaper massage but not as particular and not so expert at massaging. Restaurant does not offer much variety for dinner and not cheap either. Opt for other places to eat. We headed to Patong every night after the first but transfers to Patong did add up - i found that food was cheaper, especially seafood/thai food and cocktails. All round I would probably stay there again if I had to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneAdri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We spent 6 nights at TwinPalms in Sept, and the first impression of reception area, pool and gardens is just breathtaking. However the hotel is not on or overlooking the beach at Surin but is a 5 minute walk across a park, with a worn dirt track and no lighting at night..We were shown to our deluxe unit which was upstairs and the pathways and steep stairs are VERY dimly lit at night as are all the grounds, and since the paths and stairs are behind the buildings it is quite creepy to be walking around after dark. The room is basic but clean with a massive king size bed and timber floors.. Minibar is extensive. Bathroom overlooks a garden atrium area which is pretty. Breakfast is buffet and more than adequate in variety. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful, though we were constantly intruded on by staff in our room who said they were there to check such things as the door lock, plumbing, electrics etc. This went on day after day, and we almost felt like we were being spied on. Not to mention that our personal items and duty free gifts were moved around the room, which seemed strange to us. Nothing went missing though, we just had to find them.
The library has 3 computers with free internet use, and if you time it right you can use this, or borrow books or dvds. The library ws closed for renovation while we were there, but when it reopened we could not see any changes. Also a notice anounced that the electricity would be out for several hours for annual maintenance, but it was only off for about half an hour. Food is expensive though consistenty nice in the pool bar and Catch Beach Club (on the beach- everyone raves about the Friday and Tuesday night seafood bbq) but along the beach a bit further we had the most amazing (and reasonably priced) meals at PLA and Taste restaurants, which are side by side. Please, please, please go to Pla, you will love it, especially if you are a romantic - go just before sunset! We made the mistake of dining next door at a place called Weaves, and it was the worst meal we had in Thailand - dont be deceived by appearances. There are not really any activities to be had at the hotel, though you can book most tours etc with outside companies. If you just want rest and relaxation, you would be hard pressed to find a better swimming pool, and I heard their spa centre was good, but 6 nights was too long for us, as we started to get a bit bored. A week at Holiday Inn Patong had spoilt us, as we had a better time there, surrounded by activity but in delightful tranquility within the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicenurseMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
12.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
487 reviews
9.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
691 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
8.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twinpalms Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twinpalms Phuket

Property: Twinpalms Phuket
Address: 106/46 Moo 3, Surin Beach Road, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#7 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#8 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#8 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Twinpalms Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twinpalms Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twinpalms Phuket Hotel Thalang
Twinpalms Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Twinpalms Phuket Cherngtalay
Twinpalms Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing