We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, not quite the usual SLH experience”
Review of Twinpalms Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Twinpalms Phuket
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, not quite the usual SLH experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Twinpalms for more than a week ... its a lovely hotel, great facilities and mostly great staff.

We did have a number of issues:

Despite our SLH tier, as we booked thru a third party there was no option of an SLH room upgrade and the only option for any upgrade was the difference between what we had paid and the rack rate. We have never been to an SLH hotel which wouldn't accommodate an upgrade regardless of how the booking was made or how full the hotel was. We noticed other guests asking if they could upgrade their rooms and they again were given a quote which raised their eyebrows too.

Everything in the room has a price tag - toiletries, bug repellent etc which having stayed at multiple SLH and other 5 star hotels (where often even the bar fridge is complementary) was a bit of a shock.

Front desk were either fantastic (Linda and Ju were always amazing) or quite surly and unhelpful.

Our room was oddly furnished, the bed was wide and the room narrow so you could only walk around one side of the bed (not great at night)

Bar what seems like a gripey review so far ...

The hotel is beautiful, all but the most basic rooms are fantastic. The pool is lovely and we never had a problem getting a deck chair even on busy days.

Breakfast is delightful with fresh smoothies, champagne on ice, great egg chefs and wonderful staff who within a couple of days know your table, drink and coffee preferences.

The beach club (Catch) is great for an afternoon drink, one of the places to be seen in Phuket. Staying at Twinpalms gives you two for one happy hour drinks, perfect while watching the sun set over the Andaman Sea before heading off for dinner. If you do stay for the buffet dinner the food is amazing especially the bbq.

There were several weddings during our stay and they looked fantastic, despite the poor weather.

If you have stayed at 4 or 5 star hotels you will love the Twinpalms (as many other guests we met had said) but if you are used to SLH service you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upgrade the room before you arrive if you use a third party, otherwise book directly with SLH. Pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillsPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    331
    98
    25
    27
See reviews for
268
1,133
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Absolutely loved this resort. Nice peaceful environment within the resort (even though we were told the resort is more than 80% occupied). We were offered an upgrade to an penthouse suite at a cheaper rate (due to low season I think) and we gladly took up the offer. We totally enjoyed the room. The private swimming pool was on the 3rd storey and is of a good size for swimming. Housekeeping is done twice a day with towel change. Checking in and out done right in your suite. Perfect luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and absolutely loved it. We did not want to leave. We were upgraded to a luxury room with external balcony. Nothing could be faulted. The breakfasts were delicious, the pools were amazing, the rooms opulent and comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful. There is a massage spa next door called Mandarins and I recommend them highly. The hotels spa was OK but expensive and my masseur was not that good. The team at Mandarins were great and we went daily. They are 150 baht more then beach massages but use quality oils and creams (no itching and not oily after). We were at Twinpalms for 4 nights only but will stay there again if in Phuket - and this time longer.

Room Tip: By booking some spa services before arrived there I think we were awarded an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from Twinpalms hotel Phuket and have had an amazing time. It is a true 5 star hotel. From the moment we arrived right up to leaving all the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful all the time. The staff at the pool bar were great, also the staff working in the breakfast area could not do enough for you. After 18 fantastic days here we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petej1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This review is well overdue,as we stayed at Twin Palms late August 2012. But I just wanted to say what a fantastic place to rest and relax and add a few things that I was wanting to know before our arrival.

The Hotel is in easy walking distance to the beach and the Beach Club is the best we have ever been to! The sea was great fun to swim in at this time of year, like being in a washing machine.
Plenty of restaurants within walking distance or a cheap drive away,shops, mini super markets,bottle store,pharmacy all a short walk away. The weather was warm as you would expect and the odd bit of rain here and there but nothing to stop you from doing anything
you had planned.

The pool is amazing and if you can get a room which opens up onto it you will love it,all the rooms are of a very high standard and serviced every day. Sitting around the pool during the day you will be brought fresh fruit complimentary from the resort and the meals we had were fantastic. You must try the buffet at the beach club I think it was the Sunday night (ask at the
resort they will tell you) and make sure you book as we nearly missed out. The Happy hour
at the Beach club is a must you will think you are in heaven!


We went to the Phuket night Market which is only on in the weekends,it is definitely worth
the trip,take a Resort card with you as we ended up at Karon on our way home as our diver
miss understood Surin Beach. But it was no problem as our taxi driver was very helpful and
got us back to Surin Beach if not a little later than we expected,but Heh we were on holiday.

We had booked a car for the day and had to cancell as one of our team was unwell.But there was no problem she just came back at the same time the next day and off we went for a wonderfull day around Phuket ( we just booked at one of the small dairies near our Hotel).

One down side and this is nothing to do with Twin Palms,but before we went I booked our transfers to and from the airport with Siam Taxis,the pick up was fine,but they never turned up to take us back to the airport (I had paid for both ways). I E-mailed them once I returned home
and got some story re the driver was scared off due to the taxi drivers outside the Resort. So
if you book a transfer don't pre pay for your return journey till it happens. Thankfully the Twin Palms came to the rescue and got us to our flight on time.

Enjoy your stay and hopefully I have answered some of your questions /Twin Palms is definetly a 5 star Resort and a must on your Bucket list !!!!!

Room Tip: Get a Room that opens up onto the pool,you will just love it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in December 2011 and could not have been happier. Fabulous beach, beach chairs and bar. Pool was also great and there were always plenty of beach chairs despite it being peak season (we were there for Christmas Eve).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedishChef14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse for 5 days, am very pleased with the overall experience ranging from the reception, the chartered driver, room service and the room.

The personal pool adds a certain charm to the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
12.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
481 reviews
9.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
8.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,942 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twinpalms Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twinpalms Phuket

Property: Twinpalms Phuket
Address: 106/46 Moo 3, Surin Beach Road, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#7 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#8 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#8 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Twinpalms Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twinpalms Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twinpalms Phuket Hotel Thalang
Twinpalms Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Twinpalms Phuket Cherngtalay
Twinpalms Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing