We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the "Presidential Penhouse"”
Review of Twinpalms Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Twinpalms Phuket
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beware of the "Presidential Penhouse"”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We are currently staying for overall 13 nights in Twinpalms. We are a party of 4 (two couples) staying in the Presidential Penthouse.
Since we are still on holiday I am not going to waste time on what has been said by other reviewers: Staff is very nice and willing to help as always in Thailand, rest of the hotel comparable to hotels of similar standard in Phuket and elsewhere. Compared to JW Marriott where we stayed during our last trip to Phuket the hotel restaurant is much better and also Catch Beachclub is nice for drinks before going to party elsewhere (especially the buffets), on the other hand the gym in JW was better and also has direct beach access.
But let's get to the reason why I am writing my first review ever after having travelled quite around the world: We booked the Presidential Penthouse, which is the most expensive room category the hotel is offering. When making the booking we liked the fact to have a big common area and a big pool and terrace since we are spending the days together with our friends. What we did not expect was that the Presidential Penthouse is situated directly next to a very noise road with noise 24/7 (trucks, motorbikes, all the fun stuff). The road is alongside, so you have the view and the noise on the terrace with the pool, in the living area and both bedrooms. You also can see a nice portion of the pool from the road. What we especially did not like was the fact that on the hotel website the photos of the Penthouse (with small pool and one bedroom) show a beautiful view, but the photos of the Presidential Penthouse are made in a way that the road is hidden. Also, minor additional detail: The rooftop terrace, unlike the other Penthouses has no chair or bed or anything to sit on.
The hotel offered to change to 2 normal Penthouses, which is no option for us since we are 4 and not planning to spend the day in a structure made for 2. I think they do not get why we think this is not a good alternative - so I try to find a comparison: If you are booking a BMW 7 series and then they mess it up and they offer to you 2 BMW 3series instead, how happy are you gonna be considering that you intend to drive with 4 guys in one car?
Now they just came and asked me to sign a writing that "we accept the room as it is"...it's getting a little bit unprofessional...
The attached photo shows a view from our terrace.
Ratings are done for Presidential Penthouse, not other room categories that we do not know.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NumquamRetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierGibaud, General Manager at Twinpalms Phuket, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Twinpalms Management wishes to provide additional informations with regards to its Presidential Penthouse.
The location of the Presidential Penthouse was selected by considering the most important requirement of the many celebrities visiting us, prompt access and departure, discretion and large indoor facilities & space.
Indeed a local village road is adjacent to the location of the Presidential Penthouse, providing direct access, however lush landscape, double glazing windows as well as a considerate interior design where combined to achieve the then desired level of calm and privacy.
Going forward and based on reviews such as the above, the Presidential Penthouse privacy level and calm will be further enhanced by additional architectural elements, this continuous upgrade will take place prior to year end 2011.
We take this opportunity to thank those that take the time to share their experiences at Twinpalms Phuket in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    335
    98
    25
    27
See reviews for
274
1,140
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We have stayed in a number of resorts in Asia including one other resort in Phuket. However this one tops them all. We booked on the basis of trip advisor reviews and were not dissapointed. The resort is relatively small and this promotes a personal and quiet environment. Rooms were very comfortable, pool was fantastic and staff very personal, cheerful and service oriented. We did not eat in the resort other than the fantastic breakfasts because there are numerous places at Surin Beach about five minutesaway that are much cheaper but of good quality. We did venture out to some excellent restaurants at Kamala with fantastic views and realistice prices. The resort provides free internet services which were readily available given the smaller size of the resort. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GrahamAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We spent 6 nights here to relax after an energentic 10 days in Northern Thailand and Laos and it fitted the bill perfectly. On arrival one is impressed by the beautiful reception area, feeling of space and water features. The next surprise was to receive an upgrade to a really beautiful suite which we adored. It was large, airy and modern, beautiful bathroom/dressing room and shower area, huge living room (with nesspreso machine) and the most wonderful huge comfortable bed (and pillows) that we had met on our travels. It took us a day or two to master the controls by the bed for turning on/ off the lights from the bedside control panel!, We could not have been more comfortable, peaceful or well looked after.The staff were charming and helpful and efficient. We made one or two small requests re. timing of turndown, making up room and ice each day - only asked once and it happened. The Library staff too were most efficient and did all my on line check ins for our various flights home.

The Oriental Spoon restaurant had an excellent breakfast - wonderful fresh fruit juice, good selection of fruits, huge choice of breads and pastries (from their own bakery I believe) and endless other choices of eggs, meats, cheese etc. We had dinner there on three occasions which were good, but by the third night we found we were running out of choices. We had the barbeque too at Catch beach club which was very good indeed with wonderful seafood among all the other choices. One piece of advice here - book as early as you can for that night to get a good table, as there are many outside diners and locals who book up well ahead.

I was surprised to read a previous review which called Surin Beach "secluded". It was packed with loungers/sunshades - although Catch does space them further apart from those each side where they are packed in,. The small road behind the beach is a hive of activity with masses of small restaurants (good value), massage enterprises and all the hurly burly you find in a busy seaside resort - anything but secluded!

Having found the beach too crowded for our liking, and as it was extremely hot during our stay, shade was a problem with only one sunshade, we spent most of our daytime by the pool which was heaven, and in the main quiet. BUT on the Saturday of our visit, there was an expat British wedding taking place. This had little effect on us although Catch was closed to residents from lunchtime. However at 2.30 am we had a visit from a very drunken guest who had obviously been unable to find his room - he got short shift! The next morning around 11 am "wedding guests" started to appear by the pool. By lunchtime they had colonised one end of the pool by the steps in, sitting in the water, smoking and drinking and becoming louder as the day wore on. There were bottles all along the edge of the pool, which the staff had to wade in to get. To cut a long story short this went on throughout the day, and on our return from dinner at 10.30 we wallked into reception to find a girl wrapped in a towel asking for more drink to be sent to the pool. They were still there when we went to bed around midnight. Although they were not making a lot of noise, the whole thing was rather unpleasant, and I feel the hotel should have stepped in and asked them to leave the pool. This could also be avoided by closing the pool at a certain hour each day.

This was one small negative on what was a really lovely stay at a first rate hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

from the very moment our smiling butler phai gave us a cool flannel at the limo pick up at the airport we knew this was going to be a great first trip to thailand
we had rented a stunning roof pool top suite a triplex with a clean cool look that we adored and that had all the mod cons you would expect
it was very hot and muggy in march and the opportunity to take a quick dip in a private pool was a lovely luxury we were very lucky to have
breakfast was a stunning buffet in the oriental spoon with smiling staff and attentive service
lunch was spent at the trendy catch bar and then sunbathing all afternoon on the beach again with smiling and attentive staff nothing was too much trouble. the sea was beautiful and clear
dinner was spent all over phuket but always back to catch bar for a medicinal mohito before bed and to watch the beautiful people and some not so beautiful dancing the night away
the only slight downside was that the hotel did not connect to the beach however the short 100yard walk at least burned 3 of the millions of calories we consumed on our trip !
will we be back.?.........there is no better place to stay in phuket we went to the chedi and the amanpurri for a look but were still happy to come back to the twin palms and the smiling staff a fantastic choice and a great place to be in march

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncandkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I treated my Mum to a much deserved luxury holiday and we had the BEST 6 days at the Twinpalms. We loved every aspect of the Twinpalms. Excellent for relaxing and getting away from it all. Quiet oasis in Surin. Great food (fantastic BBQ at the Catch and decadent Sunday Brunch, and lovely Breakfast every morning athe the Oriential Spoon. The service was great through out our stay from the point of reservation to our depature. Great secluded beach and views. Will always come back. Great pool and we loved our lagoon room. Only thing is that the Twinpalms is pricy, but worth it for a special occasion treat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limersby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed in February at their 1 bedroom penthouse with the rooftop pool. The rooms were simply gorgeous! However, we did have some disappointments. At the rooftop pool deck, be sure to wear flip flops. Some nails were sticking out of the deck (it wont puncture skin since its dull) but it does hurt especially when step on it and u least expect it! We never met our "residence host", sit. Apparently he was busy with other guest (as the replacement said who i believe was one of the reception desk people). Also, I was told that there would be light in the roof top at night.... but there wasn't. There was ONE tiny light that was on but eventually burned out after 5 mins... I guess all the bulbs burned out? and they never changed it. It was a shame considering the main pool closed at 7pm.... However the catch club was great, especially at night. The food was okay by the pool but the breakfast at oriental spoon was superb. Overall the rooms are gorgeous but there definitely are some work needed to be done especially if your paying $900-$1500 usd a night for the 1 bedroom penthouse room (depending when u buy it and when you stay)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miszkinkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We loved every aspect of this place. Excellent for relaxing and getting away from it all. Alll the service in your quiet little area. Great food and service. Great secluded beach and views. Will always come back. Great pool and lagoon rooms. Even balcony rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingwell_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
12.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
487 reviews
9.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
691 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
8.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twinpalms Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twinpalms Phuket

Property: Twinpalms Phuket
Address: 106/46 Moo 3, Surin Beach Road, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#7 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#8 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#8 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Twinpalms Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twinpalms Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twinpalms Phuket Hotel Thalang
Twinpalms Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Twinpalms Phuket Cherngtalay
Twinpalms Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing