We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great staff, awesome cocktails!”
Review of Lima Bella Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lima Bella Resort
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Rayong
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lima Bella is located near enough to walk over to Sai Kaew and far enough from the party noise at night. Lovely swimming pool and lounging area. We rented a scooter to explore the rest of the island and other beaches. It was pretty cheap but really enjoyable.
The BEST cocktails from the little inconspicuous hotel bar (don't even bother going anywhere else for a cocktail, seriously!)
Delightful breakfast spread (not much international selection but the local food is awesome); also, the hotel restaurant serves up pretty delicious food. We loved the Pad Thai and the Stir Fried Chicken in Basil leaves. Portions were a little small though.
Lots of mosquitoes but the thoughtful staff provided us with mosquito repellent when they saw us busy flailing our arms swatting mosquitoes.
Room and toilet were simple, clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff are always smiling, friendly and very attentive.
Shout out to Ann, Nat and Chay for making our stay so pleasant! Kudos to the front desk staff and the kitchen crew too! We will be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahtJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Lima Bella Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

When one books a "Grande Suite" that promises "a touch of added luxury" and pays more than for the average five star hotel in Thailand, one might expect some standards. Clearly, I had way too high expectations - looking forward to luxuries such as soap, coffee and a minibar.

Let's get this out of the way now - bar staff at this hotel was excellent. Very nice and friendly people, and they even had some nice cocktail offers. Everything else, however, was seriously lacking.

The Lima Bella is a quiet and peaceful hotel. It is a bit of a walk from the popular beach, and in an unsightly neighborhood, but not too far. The road is paved and did not change to mud after rain like some Ko Samet roads do, although closer to the town there were huge puddles, should I say mini lakes, submerging the entire road.

During the check-in process we were given a small welcome drink - nice touch - then asked to fill in the registration form standing in front of the counter, while being told in a condescending tone that smoking in the room will set us back 3000 baht per day, bringing food or drinks to the resort will be punishable by a 2000 baht fine, and so on. What an interesting welcome. Perhaps the receptionist somehow thought that I specifically requested a non-smoking room because I was planning to covertly smoke in there?

The big warning signs posted at the resort entrance ban not only food and drinks, but also pets in the area. This particular rule was not recited however, perhaps because the receptionist seemed to be petting a cute kitten herself.

I was in fact quite happy to hear that bringing outside drinks to the area is forbidden, as that will obviously mean a well-stocked minibar in the suite. Perhaps even a nice cocktail set, as found in most better hotels. Exhausted after a long road and boat trip, I decided to reward myself with a glass of quality cognac, wondering whether they will have Hennessy or Rémy Martin.

Not so fast. The suite did have a promising bar desk next to the fridge, but no beverages or snacks were visible. Oh well, I decided to just grab a beer instead. Surprise again - besides two water bottles, the decently sized fridge was completely empty. Yes, indeed - a "suite" without a minibar! Oh well. I decided to just wash my hands and settle down, then make some coffee. The room seemed to have an electric jug at least.

Nice plan, but next thing I know - there is no hand soap. A "suite" without even a soap bar? Normally for this price one would expect all kinds of luxury amenities including razor kits, toothbrushes, combs, sewing kits, body lotions, and what not. Here, not even hand soap - and none was delivered during our stay.

Time for the coffee then. Another disappointment: there was tea, creamer and sugar, but no coffee. Not even one tiny sachet of instant coffee. Maybe the housekeeping overlooked that? Well, who cares - having already downgraded from cognac to beer to coffee, so I'll just have some tea… Or not, as it turns out that the electric kettle was incredibly filthy. (Housekeeping later had a look and changed it. Still, no coffee was provided.)

The suite is quite spacious, with a bedroom, bathroom and living area. The bed was very hard. Also it was unusually high, but there were no bedside tables next to it. If you want to have your mobile phone or a water bottle nearby, you have to keep them on the floor and get up to reach them - never seen anything like this.

Some of the fake leather furniture has seen its best days, but it would still have been nice to spend some time in the living room enjoying coffee or drinks from the minibar. If any were available, that is.

The bathroom had a small bathtub and a big window right in front of the shower. A great idea for voyeurs and exhibitionists alike.

There are two television sets, however the signal was substandard for both. The bedroom has a safety box (too small for a laptop) and there is also an iPod speaker. Internet connection was slow and dropped frequently.

One of the few true luxury items worthy a mention in this Grande Suite was an actual and working hair dryer. It could not be used in the bathroom (or anywhere near a mirror) though, as there are no sockets. Also please remember to bring your own comb and hair conditioner that you will need especially if you decide to use the low quality shampoo provided.

The pool area is nice, except for the big mosquitoes. The pool is a bit too small really, and we did not use it, but it was still a calm, relaxing place to sit and read.

During our stay we saw staff cutting the lawn manually with grass shears, it was a good idea to keep quiet instead of using a noisy lawn mower for example. However they did not seem bothered with raking the dead leaves that were littering the grounds. There was a nice looking massage place on top of the bar.

Food at the restaurant was quite delicious. The bar, as mentioned, was nice and service very friendly. We had friends from another hotel to come over for drinks. Initially it had been our plan to all stay at this same hotel, but there were not enough rooms available. We then wanted to know if it would be possible for us to skip breakfast one day and have a total of three people come for breakfast the other day, so that we could enjoy our food together. Surely any hotel manager worth their salt would at this point understand that it is cheaper for the hotel to serve just three breakfasts one day than a total of four breakfasts over the course of two days. There were no people capable of such calculations present, however, and so we were told that this kind of creative solution is completely out of the question, and breakfast is only for guests. This despite the breakfast coupons simply said they are valid for breakfast for "one person" each, with no printed dates or restrictions of any kind. Well they saved all the breakfasts, as we had our breakfasts elsewhere during our whole stay, upset with their lack of flexibility and amateurishly rigid management.

To sum things up, this is not a bad place, and with proper management with a bit more in-depth understanding of the hospitality business, it could be developed to an acceptable standard quite easily. The experience and perceived value in cheaper rooms will be different of course, and I could imagine staying at this hotel for a fraction of the price that I paid now. However the so-called suite experience is absolutely not worth the price.

Room Tip: Seriously, don't bother with the suite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThaiXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Rooms are lovely, modern, cool(!). The pool is really nice, and the staff were so friendly! We chose this location as it is set back from the 'party' beach but still near lots of restaurants and bars. It fulfilled all our expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stay at Lima Bella Resort is privacy . It a good resort Staff is friendly but service slowly and internet not good ;( . Swimming pool is lovely but small , location not far from the sea ... should rent a motorbike is easy to travel around the island. Overall it is good

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozamoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After reading all of the reviews we decide to try this hotel. Clean, basic, no phone in the room but why do you need a phone on vacation? Close to the beach ( you have to walk 5 min). Away from the noise.
Nice service. Simple breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on the 3 floor with a baby due to the hotel was full. Garden view is less noisy I guess. I h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimosya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed in Lima Bella Resort for a night. It was our first night in koh samet. We had no idea where to stay so we decided to take one night so we could look around and find where is best area to stay for a week.
I love the hotel itself. We got welcome drinks when we arrived. It was Thai herb juice. The whole resort was cozy, modern, clean, fresh and the staffs have smiles on their faces all the time.
I like the girl that was working in the pool bar she seems really nice.

We had the deluxe room. L6. It was spacious. Bed on the 2nd floor and you have a big sofa (more like a sofa bed) on the ground floor (the tv area). It was nice.

Pros:
The location is far from noise.
Lima Bella has the lovely staffs!
Huge bed
Small Fridge w/ water
L Shape swimming pool (theres a part for kiddos too)
pool bar (they serve cocktails buy 2 get 1)
massage
hair blower
toiletries provided
umbrella
shopping bag
breakfast ( just 8:00-9:30 )
reading lamp
wifi in rooms
the prices of their food is okay not expensive.

Cons:
Not right on the beach. 5-7min walk to the diamond beach (the famous & largest beach in koh samet)
I find the hotel kind of expensive knowing that it is not right on the beach.
Thin walls on the bedroom part. You can really hear babies crying/shouting.
The hot shower doesnt work at all. Too weak. So we shower with cold water.
They have tv (no english movie channels) but they have 1 news channel in english & they have this arirang.
Gigantic Mosquitos.. Bring mosquito spray especially when youre on restaurant area.

(Actually i think whole thailand is full of mosquitos)

Overall i like lima bella. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who dont want any noise during night time. And if you are not on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7,923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a terrific time staying at Ko Samet. Ann is brilliant and will make your stay so enjoyable. The pool and breakfast are great and our massage above the pool was our favourite massage for our entire trip

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitzsimon1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayong
0.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lima Coco Resort
Lima Coco Resort
#5 of 61 in Rayong
246 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#8 of 61 in Rayong
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mooban Talay Resort
Mooban Talay Resort
#10 of 61 in Rayong
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samed Grand View Resort
Samed Grand View Resort
#10 of 20 in Ko Samet
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lima Bella Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lima Bella Resort

Address: Sai Kaew Beach | Samed Island, Rayong, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rayong
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lima Bella Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lima Bella Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lima Bella Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing