We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place full of smiles”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lima Coco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lima Coco Resort
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A place full of smiles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

When we got here it was almost empty and since there around 10+ people in our gang of friends, we had a blast by having the hotel to ourselves.

Highlights -
1) The food at Lima Coco is amazing. My salivary glands still act up when I think of the delicious food we had their with some unique spices etc.

2) The beach is secluded and breath-taking. The other side of the island is way more commercialised unlike the beach at lima coco. This is one of the reasons why I loved the beach here. I also got stung by some tiny jellyfish which was a hell of an experience! :D

3) They arrange trips to the town of the island via pick-up trucks and this was also a fun experience. At the town we had rambutans and knick-knacks to fill up our tums. :)

4) The boat rides to and from the mainland was awesome. Enough said.

5) The staff at the hotel are amazing and super friendly. The boys even played soccer with them! :)

Other

1) The rooms and room service is average. I felt that it needed some refurbishments, but I guess this is why Lima Coco was the cheapest location out of all the resorts at Koh Samet.

2) Rooms can be more clean in my opinion, but this is why I've rated the hotel average.

3) There was no swimming pool. But then again - when you have such a calm and shallow sea, why would you need one in the first place?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishadi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    102
    38
    27
    23
See reviews for
59
90
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at Lima Coco after a long day of traveling to Koh Samed and trying another hotel which was rubbish. The hotel was ok, staff were friendly. It didnt look super busy but they put us in a room way up the back and we couldnt even see the beach. There was no fridge in the room but it did have an air conditioner which was great. We had breakfast there which was pretty average also. Overall, I probably wont be going back there in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l-a-brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
579 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

I found this place rather dumpy. The service is really lacking for a resort. The staff just stands around doing nothing unless asked. No one barely flashes a smile. The room was small and I was upset by the fact that there is no hot water in the shower. Water pressure in general is poor. Wi-fi only works by the front desk and the speed is marginal.

The beach is front is nice. On either side of Lima Coco is two really nice looking places that are considerably more expensive. My advice is to find something different.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rayong hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I actually wouldn't call Lima Coco a hotel, its more of a guest house. The ride in on their boat from Ban Phe was fabulous and Koh Samet itself is beautiful and perfect for some beach time. But I wouldn't chose Lima Coco again.

The setting is stunning - a quiet beach with the main part of the hotel in a large hut next to the sand. The rooms are very basic with hard beds, terrible showers that don't seem to work, tiny bath towels, and not much space. They also don't have baby cots so bring your own if you need one although I am not sure where you would fit one in the room if you did.

No swimming pool which was fine as the beach is lovely and clean and so close. I actually don't think you need a pool on Samet.

The food was terrible! I actually couldn't eat the breakfast it was that bad. Oh and you can't order a coffee until the bar opens at 10am which was annoying as the perculator stuff on the breakfast buffet was like mud. The cocktails meanwhile were good and they do a good happy hour. Also they have fire twirlers every night on the beach which the kids loved. The staff were clearly not interested and service was generally dire. Not a great experience overall.

We paid 4000B a night which was a last minute booking on a bank hol weekend but what a rip off! You can get much better value than this in another resort if you book ahead.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

Reading the reviews I was a bit doubtful booking this hotel for a weekend with friends, but I am glad I did. The price was that of a last-minute booking on a long weekend in a peak season (3600 baht including breakfast) but still the second cheapest deal we could find in Ko Samet, with the big plus of being on Ao Phrao beach which is quieter, more beautiful and chilled than Sai Kaeo, yet just a mere 15 mins (and 200 baht) away. Ko Samet is popular with both middle-high class Bangkokians, foreigners and expats, definitely not a backpackers' destination but not too posh either. The rise of Thai baht means everything is 20% more expensive than a year ago but still reasonable by Western standards if you just stay off the snazzy restaurants and design hotels.

Lima Coco and less fancy than the two other resorts on the same beach, but still nice, with a central location on the beach and spotless clean rooms and bathrooms. Towels and beach towels were provided, American breakfast is good with eggs cooked on demand, cereals, French toast, and some Thai soups and stir-fried dishes. The service was discreet but very helpful. On the flip side, some might find the rooms a bit small and a couple of beach chairs were broken. If you are not looking for the fanciest design hotel (and ready to pay for it) but want to enjoy the beauty and privacy of Ao Phrao, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homme_Libre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We had a great time at Lima Coco. It is located in between all the 4 and 5 star hotels at the lovely Ao Prao Beach in Ko Samet. The prices are fair - especially if you compare what you pay for the other hotels on the same beach. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Our two year old daughter had a great time there. They carried her around everywhere and we had loads of peaceful dinners.
The rooms are okay. Ours was clean and quite big and we had a lovely sea view. But its not luxury... All in all: great location for an okay price and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaybee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

I booked Lima Coco to attend a friend's wedding. Arriving early, check-in wasn't possible until 13:00.
The rooms were average, clean, but the bathroom smelled of too much disinfectant.
Shower was hot and if turning down the temperature the water heater turned off suddenly, so I had to take either a hot or cold shower, definitely a major disappointment. No bathtub is available either.
A good thing was the air-condition, very quiet and cool. Bed was comfortable, a bit hard, but I personally like it better than too soft.
Apart from a small fridge with 2 bottles of water inside and a TV with Thai TV channels only there were no other amenities in the room. No Internet access in the room either, only in the restaurant/reception area.
Breakfast buffet was mainly Thai-style, nothing special but OK. Service was not impressive overall.
Ao Prao beach itself is nice, quiet and clean, really a highlight.
Overall I'd say that the hotel is overpriced for what it has to offer, but there are few alternatives on Ao Prao beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayong
13.4 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#9 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
14.9 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#7 of 55 in Rayong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mooban Talay Resort
Mooban Talay Resort
#10 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lima Coco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lima Coco Resort

Property: Lima Coco Resort
Address: 40/1 Moo 4 | Ao Prao, Tumbon Phe, Samed Island, Rayong 10310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lima Coco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lima Coco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lima Coco Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing