We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
11
14
8
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
14
8
6
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

The upside...I was pleasantly surprised by the slightly old but still very attractive decor. The rooms were first class, very clean and tidy, but old fashioned. But excellent value for money.

The downside.... I arrived late (for the locals) about 8.50pm, after a long drive from Bangkok. The front gate had to be unlocked by a security guard and even though the reception had my reservation ready, no one had thought to tell the security guard on the main gate. Although my Thai language is not good I managed to explain that i wanted to check in. Non-Thai speakers would have been in real difficulties.

I checked in with ease but I was too late for food (9pm) so i slept hungry. I wanted to pay by AMEX (which i had booked with) but they resisted that and asked for me to "pay tomorrow" so i retired to bed. I was obviously looking forward to breakfast but on going down to reception area (which was not attended by staff) at about 8.30 am. I found a member of staff (watering plants in the back of the hotel) who advised me that there was "No Breakfast" available. I left and had to buy a sandwich at a petrol station about five KM away.

Room tip: Excellent rooms, especially if you are on a diet
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johannesPsenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

Since there hasn't been a review of this property for some time! This will be in depth. Point form Pro's / Con's at the end.

Sea Sun Sand Resort (SSSR) 6,300 Baht per week ($34CND p/d) - Not really a Resort. It is located half way between Ban Phe and the city of Rayong, the area is very quiet and relaxing. This is a 7 storey Apartment building with condo style flats (1 or 2 bedroom) and rooms to rent (119 apartments +/- depending on condo size). There are two elevators but only one works! Our room was 30 sq. metres, very clean and well appointed (Queen bed, area rug, two coffee tables, desk, L-shape sofa, wardrobe, safe, flat screen TV( 9 channels, 2 English, 1 French) DVD player (boy DVDs). The Queen bed/mattress not very comfortable, mattress firm/hard. Private balcony with seating area and ocean view. The bathroom is your basic shower with curtain, very good water pressure and hot water. Both the bedroom/living area and bathroom are cleaned daily, although later in the day 1430/1500. Towels, linens, water and complementary toiletries replaced daily. Careful what looks to be complementary coffee and tea, is not, you will be charge for those items on checkout!

To the front of the building you have ocean views and sunset and to the rear you will have Mountain views and sunrise. The SSSR does have a swimming pool, hot tub and a few sun chairs with shaded areas.

The SSSR does advertise a Restaurant , however we found it was only open for breakfast, (closed on Tuesdays) it does offer sandwiches for lunch or a snack, but you are hard pressed to find anyone to serve you. There is a bar, but again no one to serve you and over priced.

You can book a room that includes breakfast, however each room comes with a toaster, kettle, microwave, hot plate and fridge (mini-bar $$$). All the cutlery, dishes, frying pan and a pot are provided. There are two small shops just outside of the driveway to purchase, eggs, bread, coffee/tea and some vegetables, noodles, water and beer.

There are several Thai street food restaurants within walking distance or sea food restaurants, or a German restaurant 2 to 3 kilometres to the east, towards Ban Phe.

The Wifi is free but only in the lobby and it is slow! For an extra charge you can purchase Wifi: 1hr 50 baht, 30hrs 400, 1 day 150 and 1 week 500 baht. Everything at the SSSR, from food to mini bar and Wifi are over priced!

No one at reception at any given time of the day!

On the 8th floor the SSSR has conference and meeting rooms, small workout room, as well as a professional massage parlour($$$), telephone booking required.

Pros: Very nice room, cleaned daily, quiet location.
Breakfast is available in your room price.
Private Balcony with seating area and table.
Swimming Pool with seating and sun chairs.
Small local shops and restaurants within walking distance.
Clean, usable beach area 1 to 2 k's away from SSSR.
Ban Phe Market well worth a visit.
Ocean and Mountain views.
Sunrise and sunset views.

Cons: Reception not available most of the time.
Over priced, considering the lack of services and area.
Bed not very comfortable, hard mattress.
Over priced mini-bar, Bar and restaurant.
Restaurant and Bar not serviced after breakfast.
Restaurant closed on Tuesdays.
Not all the pots work on the induction hot plate.
No complementary tea or coffee.
Only one elevator works, no capacity or inspections certification.
Elevator, not all floor indicators work properly! Safety maybe an issue!
Pool not always open due to two days of cleaning.
Free Wifi only in lobby, very slow.
Wifi not available for two days after a short power outage.
Staff doesn't know how to reset Wifi.
No AC in lobby.
No laundry facility. Washing machine removed 4 years ago!
Beach 300 meters down the road from SSSR, very dirty.
Ban Phe Market 13 k's away.
City of Rayong 10 k' away.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016

The resort/hotel was a really nice place for us to stay, we were a large group of extended family so had two Deluxe corner rooms, right through the stay the staff were very helpful and relaxed, The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The pool area is great. Breakfast varied from day to day, but was always well prepared and plentiful. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and it's a nice place to base yourself especially if you have transport, Which leads me to the downside, it's only two hundred metres from the beach, but the beach in this area is an absolute disgrace. No fault of the resort, but something to be aware of, If you have transport, can be transported in any way, get yourself about ten kilometres along the beach to basically the other end, it's far cleaner and infinitely more enjoyable. Also, be warned, on a holiday weekend this whole area is reduced to a standstill traffic wise, but back to the resort, it's a really nice place to relax and the roadside restaurants just outside offer a good selection of menu choices come dinner time,

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

Old hotel but clean.
Breakfast included and ok but it's not a good place for lunch or diner.
They don't speak good english so it is complicated sometime to communicate with them.
Swimming pool nice and clean.
Little bit expensive for an old hotel with no service.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank LauraBresil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Relaxing place, helpful staff and its close to the 12 km long beach, along the beach you will find plenty of places to eat delicious food. I recommend to have some kind of transport; bike/mc/car to enjoy the full length of this sea shore strip.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yosh4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews