We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, but won't be back for a while”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Sand Sun Resort
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Rayong
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sea Sand Sun offers really nice rooms considering the price and we generally like Mae Rumphung beach area for spending a few days away from Bangkok. The rooms seem newly renovated, clean and nicely decorated with good quality furniture. The aircondition is new, cool and quiet. There is even a microwave and hot water kettle to prepare some snacks.
However there are a couple of things which made me not want to return again anytime soon.
Firstly, the water quality of the pool is questionable. Normally you can see the bottom of a clean pool, but not so with this one: water is greenish and if you stand in the pool you can't even see your own feet! But it does not smell bad. Strange though.
The absolute worst though was that they are BURNING THEIR TRASH on the lawn, just 20 meters from the pool. We were taking a swim when suddenly an AWFUL STENCH came wafting across and forced us to leave the pool area in a hurry, the smell of burning plastic was just unbearable. What kind of hotel management would allow this to happen I wonder??? It's absolutely appalling. We were talking to a couple from South-Africa at the pool, they originally booked for 6 months, but were planning to leave after only 3 weeks because of the pool and the trash burning, no wonder. If you value your health and the environment, stay away!

Room Tip: Take the slightly more expensive Superior room, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friends and I have travelled all over thailand this hotel after booking with booking .com is totally unflexible on dates if you book and change your travel dates then tuff you will have to pay.SO if booking with these agents only ever book 1 night and then decide if you like it. We thought by the site that we were booking koh samet but you are not it is rayong where nothing is going on.the hotel closes down at 5pm the beach is a disgrace.the pool in the hotel is dirty and I wouldnt get in it.its advertised as a hotel but is a condeminium that they rent out.awful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: en nähnyt paikassa ensimmäistäkään hyvää huonetta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karikatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Charlie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
Thank Arne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank oishit2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarabeebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rayong hotels
6.4 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#6 of 62 in Rayong
83 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#10 of 62 in Rayong
88 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rayong Lanna Hotel
Rayong Lanna Hotel
#31 of 62 in Rayong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hub de Leaf @ Rayong
Hub de Leaf @ Rayong
#24 of 62 in Rayong
24 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rayong President Hotel
Rayong President Hotel
#33 of 62 in Rayong
21 reviews
5.2 mi away
iZen Budget Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sand Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sand Sun Resort

Address: 182/111 Mae Rumgpheung Beach | Tapong, Rayong 21000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range: $24 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Sand Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Sand Sun is a comfortable and modern resort. Only 250 m. from beginning at the 10 km-long sandy beach called Mae Run Phueng Beach, and only 14 km. from Rayong City. You will find this new renovated resort that offers comfortable room for single, couple or even family with kids. Our lobby bar and mini restaurant open daily from 7:30 a.m. to late and we offer full service by over big swimming pool with child pool section. Big sunbathing area with sunbed and sun umbrella. A good peaceful place for a short or long relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Sand Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing