We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room”
Review of Tok's Little Hut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tok's Little Hut
Ranked #1 of 70 Rayong B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at the bungalow complex in the 3rd week of November 2013.
The prices were cheaper when walking in.
The premise is situated several hundred metres west ( from central point) on the main beach Hat Sai Kaew.
The room we were shown was nice and clean, with a/c, fan, loo, fridge and TV.
Powerfull free wi/fi was the deal clincher.... We had fast steady wi fi 24/7 in our bunglalow, quite a distance from the reception and also wi fi on the beach too.
The only downer I can put on this place, is the politeness of the staff. Despite offering to pay my bill in advance, it was as if the staff were doing me a favour, allowing me to grace their premises...Rather than treating their customers with politeness and gratitude for bringing money to their business.
Rated 7/10... Resturant not yet checked for food.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Quakemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Tok's Little Hut
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 104 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in April and found Tok's Little Huts to be a quiet, clean and comfortable place to stay.
Koh Samet is no longer an unspoilt paradise - it is crowded and busy, with locals who are clearly jaded and sick of tourists. The island is also expensive compared to most other Thai islands so don't expect any bargains when it comes to accommodation. Having said that if you just want somewhere close to Bangkok it is also still an attractive place to visit with pretty beaches, good swimming and some nice bars and restaurants.
Tok's is slightly south of the main beach and the huts are built up the hillside in well established gardens. We paid 1300 baht a night for an air con room that had a TV, fridge and safe. The room was modern and well maintained, was cleaned daily and fresh sheets and towels were provided every day.
They have a beach bar and restaurant - the food was ok and the prices were pretty good. There was free Wi-Fi and when we left they arranged a cheap bus transfer back to Bangkok.
The staff (particularly on reception) are not the most outwardly friendly, but actually proved to be helpful and efficient and occasionally even cracked a smile.
Overall I think Tok's is a good place to stay on Samet, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The further away from the beach the quieter the room, although be prepared to climb quite a few step...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1bsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's one rocky outcrop past the busiest beach, and is quieter than some resorts, no rock or karaoke at it's restaurant/bar, yet it is within easy walking distance of the town with it's shops and restaurants. Nice to walk straight down to the beach from the bungalow.
Receptionist is not outwardly friendly but has a sense of humor once you engage him a little.
No bottled water supplied, which is unusual for Thai hotels and resorts; it's a routine supply item.
Bungalows are good sized for the price and include AC.

Room Tip: Close to the Reggae Pub, whose singer does a wonderful impression of Bob Marley. The band is fun, b...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location is great,right near the sea which it was wonderful.
The room was not bad,I could say nice,but the cleaning didn't impressed us,spiders left buildind cobwebs in the w.c.
The owner is not the ideal person for tourism,although I had no problem with him at all,he seems not to smile a lot.The staff was average.
Wi-fi only near reception and restaurant area,but sometimes was working,sometimes not.
If the rooms were 1000baht per night I would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justyannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at this place for one night. The location is the only plus for this place. Ended up choosing this place because they first said that I could pay with my credit card. The price was 1500B a night, so I don't understand how some people write here that they paid just 1200B. When I said I would take the room, left my bags there and came to the reception, they said they take cash only. I asked them why they said I could pay with the card and the owner just yeld at me that they don't have the machine! I came back later and there was a woman at the reception. I asked if they had a map of the island, she just said "no map" and walked away without even trying to listen to what I had to say next. When I called her to come back, she yeld " what do you want? No map!" that was extremely rude!
I wanted to extend my stay by 3 hours. They said it would be 100B an hour. That was not a problem. Before I was leaving I asked the owner to give me a glass that I could take to my room. Before he gave it to me, he made a mean face and reminded that my extended stay is 100B an hour!
I have never seen or heard about such a terribly unfriendly stuff! No smiles, no hello, no thank you; just mean unfriendly faces and a treatment like you are some kind of a begger.
Otherwise the rooms are just ok. I had a broken safe in the room. Everything is quite old inside. Wifi works only at the reastaurant by the beach.
If I can suggest, get to one of the next beaches. They are by far better, cleaner and have nice cute huts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank larisaaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Im half thai and my thai cousin recommended this place on my first visit to Koh Samet. She said the owner finds it difficult to talk to foreigners which might explain the bad reviews there, but other than that it was amazing. Quiet, peaceful and beautiful. I stayed here with my thai aunts and if they enjoyed it then it must be good. A great place if you like to keep to yourself during the holiday. An easy walk to nearby attractions. the beach is fantastically quiet with massaged and food there daily. would only say that if you're scared of dogs avoid - as with many places in thailand stray dogs and cats roam where there is food....but they're so cute and timid it doesnt matter!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maymay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we were originally going to stay elsewhere, but we wanted to be closer to the village area. our choice was between here and Jeps Bungalows just next door. i asked to look at both rooms, and Little Toks was by far the best one. they were both 1200 baht each, so the decision was obvious. the rooms were spacious, clean and modern. house keeping asked us everyday if we wanted our rooms cleaning, and they always did a good job. the food was brilliantly priced, and the breakfasts were all very tasty! the cafe area was right on the beach front - what more could you ask for! most of the staff were young and they were all very friendly - in true thai style they were all very laid back and relaxed. this should not be taken the wrong way! the owner of the place came across a little rude as he didnt really speak, but he was definately no problem.

if you want somewhere close to the action, but not right next to it, this is ideal. the price is good compared to other places of the same standard on the island, food is cheap and tasty, free wifi, right on the beach front and lot of lovely animals wandering about!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayong
0.0 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samed Grand View Resort
Samed Grand View Resort
#10 of 20 in Ko Samet
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samed Pavilion Resort
Samed Pavilion Resort
#3 of 61 in Ko Samet
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tok's Little Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tok's Little Hut

Address: Koh Samet 16/1 Moo 4 Tumbol Phe | Amphur Muang, Rayong 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Rayong
Price Range: $31 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing