We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, clean but lacking character or any life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean but lacking character or any life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having spent 3 nights in Bangkok and 3 nights in Pattaya we were looking for a more relaxed escape for a few days. You certainly get that with this hotel, the area it's in is the total opposite of Pattaya, you can walk down the street without being bothered by street vendors, cross the road easily and get to the tranquil beach in a few short steps.

However we found it a little too quiet, there was only one busy restaurant nearby and that was a very nice place to eat, but we thought it was a bit like a ghost town, maybe that's because we came from somewhere so lively and indeed if this is what you are looking for then its ideal.

The hotel itself was nice enough, but it seemed to lack life or character. The area it was in was very quiet and to get to the pier for the ferry to Koh Samed required a fairly long taxi ride, although it was only 30 baht each way.

Pros

Friendly staff
Close to nice and quiet beach
Large rooms
Clean
Pretty good gym

Cons

No safe in room (lockable storage provided by reception)
No tea/coffee in room or kettle
Poor WiFi - slow and continuingly dropping
No food or drink in room fridge other than free water
Pool area a little cramped
Not much in the way of shops nearby

You get what you pay for and the room itself was nice enough, the hotel was clean and it was very affordable. There was a pool which looked lovely but there didn't seem a lot of room out there and it was all very shaded, so topping up the tan would have required moving around a lot. So if you want a quiet break, then this place is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubOne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I spent again 2 days in this hotel from August 15 to 17. I got a room in the new builded wing. I have to say that rooms are large and cosy. I confirm all my comments from April except it's now no more noisy as the new wing is builded. What more ?

It is in my humble opinion the very best quality price ratio of the area and I warmly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are quieter, large and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francois_Leloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a 2 days stay.

We have to say that the staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is quiet and we had a room with view on the swimming pool that is much more quiet than the one with see view. Dining outdoor next to the pool is a very nice way to enjoy either Thai food our Italian cuisine.

The pool is very nice and we enjoyed it as well as the new fitness center.

On a less positive side is the construction of a new wing. It's of course noisy, in particular around the pool, but nothing noticeable inside our room.

To summarize, this is a friendly family hotel with all the amenities that one would expect from such a place. I certainly would recommend it and I will use it again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francois_Leloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Pim Resort H, Owner at Mae Pim Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Francois

Thank you very much for your time at our hotel. We are looking forward to host you and your family again soon.

Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Mae Pimm for two nights on our way to Ko Samed. The exterior of the hotel is shabby and dated and doesn't really promise comfortable accommodation, so we shouldn't really have been surprised with the interior. Staying in a double room, I was initially disappointed with the quality of the furnishings and the worn decor, these rooms definitely need refurbishment. However, I have to say that the air con was really effective and I slept extremely well in the spotlessly clean bed. We had a sea view room with a balcony too small to even place a chair on, so it was a waste of time really. The room service staff knocked you up out of bed before nine am each day, wanting to clean the room - not what you want when on holiday. Breakfast was served in a surprisingly elegant dining room but was mediocre in quality and not really worth getting up for. There was a vast amount of building work being carried out that was inevitably noisy and which disturbed our sleep early mornings. Hotel reception staff were not particularly helpful and appeared disinterested in the needs of hotel guests, which we were surprised at. Although I think it has potential, I wouldn't hurry back to the Mae Pimm Resort and wouldn't recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank julie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Pim Resort H, Owner at Mae Pim Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Your feedbacks are valuable for us and we have taken an action on them. We ensure that there shall be no more disturbances to clean the room by our housekeepers in the morning without your permission. Our building work had been an ongoing issue during year 2012 till early this year; however, most of the work are now completed and is ready to provide full service facility including swimming pool with fitness, sauna&steam room. We are also forthwith looking to address your other main concerns with upgrading to the main wings in the pipeline.

Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is a sprawling concern with three wings. They are also constructing a fourth. It's very run down with paint peeling of walls and a look of Cuban desperation! This is Thailand = the land of scams so this hotel portrays luxury at a 50% price discount! My stay found the air con not working in the room and a move to the next floor up which took away my balcony and my sea view (the reason why I booked in the first place). My new room showed the passage of time with paint peeling of the wall and thinly corrected with a sparse makeover! There was no satellite tv channels available despite the fact that they advertise over 40 channels for your pleasure. Mpreover, there was no wifi as advertised except if one sat in the lobby The swimming pool was lovely but your ears were bombarded with the sound of labour saving gadgets used by the builders constructing the next wing If you have flown from far away to enjoy a peaceful relaxing holiday in this hotel then forget about it! Come back in five years time if it's still afloat!

Room Tip: Do not stay here and save yourself a lot of pain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bungy007297916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Pim Resort H, Owner at Mae Pim Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Bungy
We are extremely sorry for the poor experience you have had at our hotel. Admittedly the building works has been an ongoing issue over the last 12 months as we have undertaken a substantial upgrading of facilities of the hotel, including the swimming pool and the new deluxe wing. Happily we are now (June 13) fully opened for the swimming pool as well as the fitness room and steam and sauna facilities. The deluxe wing's main works are completed and are nearly completed in terms of the fit out so noise disruptions should be minimised henceforth. We are also forthwith looking to address your other main concerns with upgrading to the old wings in the pipeline, including making sure issues with air conditioners are addressed. (with efforts to minimise disruptions to guests foremost of our concerns). Wifi access has now been upgraded with more routers put in to increase access in rooms and the pool.
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rayong hotels

Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I went with my finacee to this hotel in March 2012.

On the positive side, it was cheap, the staff were very nice, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was also very nice with plenty to eat. I read a previous review about a really nice mother and her twins at breakfast. We also got great treatment from this person and treated us very well. The hotel offered free internet (a huge plus for me), and the channels on the TV gave a good selection. There are many restaurants not far from the hotel and you can eat many different types of food. We also ate each day on the beach restaurants (like tents on the sand), but the food was very tasty.

But on a less positive note, our room was a "Superior Sea View", but we could not see the sea at all. The beach was only across the road but we could only see the very high trees and market stalls (market restaurants etc). I did not find the area particularly attractive and there was sometimes (and only sometimes I want to stress) quite a strong smell coming from somewhere outside (not sure what the smell was... and don't want to know). But the biggest drawback was that there was no pool! This meant that we only had our room to retreat to when we came back to the hotel.

But keep an eye on this hotel. We saw the plans for the new hotel as well as what they have done so far. When finished, it looks like it will be a really nice HUGE hotel and appears to then be definitely worth a visit. The new pool is very large and deep and there look to be many lovely new rooms planned. We may make a trip back after it has been finished.

Be prepared for a very long taxi ride from the Bangkok bus terminus (Bun Pae) (about 30 mins I think... maybe more). But it only costs 60 baht each I think, so can't complain there.

Room Tip: Our Superior Sea View room was lovely but no view (no view of the sea). I noticed another review wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank igudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We previously stayed in the Villa Bali Resort, and had such a bad experience - no shower for 5 days and cockroaches crawling everywhere-even up my legs when I was having a shower -when it worked!! The location of Mae Pim Resort Hotel is out of this world, we had a corner room with a massive balcony - it was breathtaking - the breakfast was okay, a lot of choices, but not really what I liked, but not the worst I've ever had. The Staff were all good, we spoke to everyone at breakfast even one of the family members with her twins, the family couldn't do enough for us, and even asked us to write to them! The beach is beautiful, it was New Year in Thailand when we were there, and this is where the locals go on holiday. The food is so fresh, we love seafood, and the fishermen bring their catches to the beach in the morning to sell in the local market, so the food on the beach is the best in Thailand. The nightlife is mainly Restauants with some music, but the locals like singing in the bar next to the Villas Bali, we went a couple of times, and were welcomed with open arms, it was like being at home, we joined the locals and had a really good time.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room - the corner rooms have the biggest balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank finandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayong
25.2 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#7 of 55 in Rayong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.2 mi away
Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort
5.8 mi away
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
Bandara On Sea, Rayong
#3 of 10 in Klaeng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Sea Sand Sun Resort
Sea Sand Sun Resort
#23 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
15.4 mi away
Tamnanpar Resort
Tamnanpar Resort
#19 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lima Coco Resort
Lima Coco Resort
#4 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mae Pim Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mae Pim Resort Hotel

Property: Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Address: 234/2-19 Moo 3 Pae-Glang-Grum Rd. | T.Grum, A. Glang, Rayong 21190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mae Pim Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mae Pim Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing