We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Business Hotel , in a very business town”
Review of Kameo Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kameo Grand
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Business Hotel , in a very business town”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Was in Rayong on a business trip. Stayed here for 3 nights in a King-Bed Studio Suite. Rayong is very much a business town, most people who come here do not really come for the sand and the sea. Rayong seats in the heart of Thailand's oil and gas industry & is home to the Map Ta Phut industrial estate, Thailand's largest industrial estate.

Pros :
(1) Good Sized Clean Rooms
As the hotel is positioned as a hotel/service apartments. The rooms are a good size, pretty comfortable if you had to stayed an extended period. According to the website the rooms are between 45 - 56 sq.m. The studio suite had a small kitchenette with stove and oven and all the cutlery/pots if you wanted to cook. & a small seating area with a dining table for two. Photos attached

(2) Shuttle Bus
The hotel provides a very useful shuttle bus to Laemthong , which is the largest shopping mall in the area. It has your usual big name food outlets including McDonald's, KFC, Sizzler, Baskin Robins and lots of other food options. There is a Cineplex on the top floor and a MK Supermarket on the 2nd floor. A boots pharmacy, Body Shop and more. An oasis for your necessities. Refer to photo attached with the shuttle bus timing, it leaves every 2-hour and stops at the properties under the group including Classic Cameo and Kantary Bay

It takes easily 15-20 mins to walk to the mall so the shuttle bus is really useful. The weather does get hot

(3) Great Service - Lobby Assistant (Apologizes forgot exact name , it was "Teerayth" or such)
He was the lobby assistant on duty on 28th April around 3pm when I check-in. As I just arrived and the shuttle was about to leave, and I wanted to grab a bite. He took the effort to drop a word with the shuttle bus driver to wait a minute for me while I dropped my stuff upstairs.

Next he also was the one who had to patiently fix my wi-fi issues on the night of 29th April when it suddenly decided to fail. All in all he patiently trouble shoot it from about 8pm-9pm before I could access the net. Really appreciate his efforts

Cons :
(1) Wi-Fi Cost
Being a hotel positioning itself as a property for business travellers in a town essentially for business and not tourism , Wi-Fi should be free. It is an essential part of any business travel these days. The cost is was about 300 THB per day or 600 THB for a week. For a week the cost isn't very excessive, but these days many properties globally are moving towards free internet access.

(2) Location : Rayong is not a Tourist Town
So again this is not really the place to be if you want to base yourself to check out the tourist sites on the Eastern Seaboard of Thailand. Such as the island of Ko Samet. You might be better basing yourself out of Pattaya if tourism is your reason to be around Rayong Province.

However all in all, I would stay here again when in Rayong without any hesitation. Good size rooms, and the rooms are clean. Nothing to complain about the service. Service by all staff was good. All in all a calm oasis to return to at the end of a work day

Room Tip: The hotel is along Sukhumvit Road, which is the main road that cuts through Rayong. At night there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TongHwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
The Kameo Grand, Rayong, thanks you for your favourable commentary, as a business traveller, after your recent 3 night stay with us, as Rayong is a business town as you correctly point out. Your positive mention of the great service received from the on-duty Lobby Assistant is appreciated and has been shared with him. Thank you for your descriptive and informative review which will be helpful to other business travellers planning a business trip to Rayong. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    60
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
20
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having read various reviews on various websites we tried The Kameo. Having previously visited Thailand on 3 occasions albeit Hua Hin on all occasions we decided a change was in order, ( big mistake ) . The Kameo hotel itself is very well appointed, excellent rooms , and stunning roof top pool, but it is not aimed at holiday tourists , it is geared entirely for business. The location is not ideal unless you like counting cars on the main road from your balcony ( which lacks furniture ), and is a minimum of 40 mins to Bhan Phe , ( which is the gateway to Koh Samet ) , this is less than ideal as you cannot do this run everyday. The breakfasts were acceptable, but its not hard to provide a buffet breakfast. he handful of bars around the immediate area were not ideal as they catered more for single business men. During our stay outside contractors had been brought in to work on the car park which happened to be directly under our room, they worked everyday from 8am - 17.30 none stop drilling and banging, horrendous, we spoke to the manager Jirasak Kawarasoot ( Joe ) who tried his best to stop the contractors from working on the Sunday but no joy, he then suggested we move rooms, but unfortunately had no roms immediately available, we took the descision to move from the hotel and seek alternative accommodation nearer beaches, Joe was most helpful in obtaining a refund for unused nights ( many thanks ).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
The Kameo House, Rayong, regrets it was unable to meet and exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your disappointment is also our disappointment, but thank you for making the effort and taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel, but makes you feel you are in one. The beach is a little far away, but the pool on the 8th floor overlooking Rayong covers that. If you want to exercise, just go to the fitness room on the same floor. It is the best I seen so far in a hotel in Thailand. The breakfast selections was great. The only ting I did miss was some cheese. Can be highly recommend any kind of trip.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, just ask when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul1964F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
The Kameo House, Rayong, thanks you for your positive endorsement and looks forward to your soonest return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

based in the city centre, but a bit of a walk from shops, the property is very nice with spacious rooms, but the mattresses are a bit old ! some rooms renovated. very confusing layout of floors - many small steps to reach your rooms and the room numbers dont match the floor numbers!
fabulous fitness centre and the breakfast excellent! well worth it.. but dont expect many smiles from the staff...

Room Tip: double beds as singles are so small!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mat268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The Kameo House, Rayong, thanks you for your feedback concerning your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Its gotta be one of the best and cleanest hotel I ever been to for my business trips in Rayong. Rooms are huge, they are typical of condo like apartments in Thailand. So staying there, one gets to experience how a typical average condo feels like in this country. The price was very reasonable compared to the sub 1000 Baht hotels aplenty over there which do not offer the same level of comfort, peace of mind and pleasantness. Popular with foreigners as well, seen many during the great breakfast buffet, also one of the best breakfast I ever had on any business trips. Location wise, there are no big shopping complexes and nothing convenient within the vicinity, but hey, I was there for business, I have a car to travel in the night for dinners and such. Been there two times and will be there again for all future trips to Rayong. We need a good night’s sleep after a hard day’s work. We need a pleasant environment after hours and a hearty breakfast for the long afternoon ahead. This is the place to be.

Room Tip: Its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kings L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
The Kameo House, Rayong thanks you for your positive endorsement as the “Best place to stay for business trips”. Your review will be useful to other business travellers planning a visit to Rayong and needing to decide where to stay. We look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a night on December 13, 2012 for a business trip in a studio room. I could smell faint cigarette smell in my room. I understand the room i stayed in was a smoking room since there was an ash tray and a match box on the living room table. However, the room was big and clean with big fridge (with two comp bottles of water in it, a sink, kitchenette, a microwave, a toaster but unfortunately no coffee provided. Do not expect anything fancy, the rooms and hotel looks like a serviced apartment more than a four star hotel. Breakfast was good, nice croissant and japanese food. Bathroom was big with separate shower and bathtub. In conclusion, it's the hotel type you basically stay for a well rested night, and start your day with a full tummy but nothing fancy, no wow factor whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wate49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
As a “big, clean serviced apartment type of hotel,” the Kameo House Hotel, Rayong thanks you for your review of your overnight stay with us. We look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are huge, each with a balcony and kitchenette and living and dining areas. There were pots and pans, crockery and cutlery that looked brand new, and a big fridge, stove, microwave and toaster - all very useful. It would have been good if the hotel had also provided dishwashing detergent and sponges, etc. free coffee and tea in the rooms would have been nice too.

The rooftop pool, jacuzzi and gym looked real nice, as did the steam room and sauna.

However the hotel seemed a bit far (at least on foot) from malls and supermarkets.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Kameo House, Rayong, is appreciated. We are pleased to offer a regular shuttle bus service between our hotels and nearby shopping centres. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rayong hotels
25.2 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#9 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#5 of 55 in Rayong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments, Rayong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
D Varee Diva Central Rayong
14.9 mi away
Lima Coco Resort
Lima Coco Resort
#4 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sea Sand Sun Resort
Sea Sand Sun Resort
#23 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kameo Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kameo Grand

Property: Kameo Grand
Address: 305 / 14 Sukhumvit Rd. | Noen Phra, Rayong 21000, Thailand (Formerly Kameo House)
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kameo Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kameo Grand offers the very finest in short and long-stay accommodation with large, tastefully designed and comfortable rooms. Comprised of studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites, all accommodation comes complete with everything you will need for your stay. Facilities include an executive lounge, swimming pool, fitness centre and two restaurants. Kameo Grand boasts all the services of a fine hotel including room service, 24-hour front desk and maintenance, around-the-clock security and extensive meeting and function facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kameo Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing