We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite boring” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kameo Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kameo Grand
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
Certificate of Excellence
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite boring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The rooms are okay, but based on some reviews me and my mate read regarding pool bar, jakuzze (not sure how to spell) and so on it did not live up to expectiation.

For being a quite expensive hotel in a not-so-hot town, the service was poor. Nobody to help with bags, the restaurant they bragged about was closed on sunday (the only night we was there). Its hard finding staff to help you when sitting by the pool, service close at eleven o'clock, you have to pay cash for stuff by the pool and cant put it on your room (which makes no sense - who brings cash with there bathing clothes?)

If your looking for a place to exercice and swim, and have children with you, its probably okay.

If your a younger traveler looking to have a fun time, you should avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to provide feedback on our hotel. We have taken note of your comments and have addressed these with the proper departments. The team here at Kameo House Rayong pride themselves on providing a high level of service and facilities and we appreciate your feedback as this is our best way to improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
20
9
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I moved from Kantary Bay to here after I heard this is a newer hotel and nearer to the city centre. It is a choice I not regret! The Hotel is good and rate is echeaper. Nice and secured compound. Gym is top notch and well equipped. I also love the pool and the view from there too!

Food choice is good and value for money. Breakfast is one of the best I have in Thailand with fresh and wide variety of Croissant to choose from. The Staffs are very friendly and attentive too.

I will stay there again when I am back in Rayong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Was on a business trip to Thailand and had to spend one night in Rayong. A friend recommended Kameo House and there is no regret on his recommendation.
Paid about 2,300 Baht nett/night (inclusive of ABF). Service is excellent. Room is cosy with full amenities. Please note that internet is not free in the room. Need to pay extra 300 Baht for 24 hours usage.
Spread of breakfast is reasonable with no compliants.
Due to the short stay and I had to check-out early the next day, I was unable to use the gym and swimming pool. Will try and visit on my next trip.
My room is near the main road and will hear the occasional speeding of trucks and motorcycles in the middle of the night. From where I was located, there is a Ironing Room on my 2nd floor. There is only one 1 iron + 1 board to be shared among all the guests on that floor.
Overall satisfactory rate is high and will return to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room (if possible) away from the main road. It can be annoying with speeding trucks, motorc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We thank you for your endorsement of the Kameo House, Rayong and taking the time to write a review. Your comments are appreciated by Management and should be useful to other readers deciding where to stay when in Rayong. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will stay with us longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel three nights and found the breakfast buffet, room, gym and pool wonderful. The air conditioning was wonderful after a full day out and about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingaddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are glad to know that your 3 night stay at the Kameo House Rayong met your expectations and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I like this hotel, but it is just beside to the main road of Rayong. A bit noisy, and difficult to find taxis at night. Find a taxi at night is difficult to find everywhere in Rayong, but the hotel should have some taxis stand there waiting for passengers.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the upper level and facing the sea. Has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at Kameo in a studio room for 18 days for business purposes. The hotel appears to be quite new and my room was in a good condition and well equipped with TV (with HBO and several international channels), DVD and a stereo. It even had a fully stocked kitchenette which I however did not use. The bathroom is fitted with a shower cabin and a separate bathtub and water pressure is not superb but definitely good for Thailand. The bed was very confortable for my taste.
Included in the price is a rich breakfast buffet which covers European and Asian tastes as well. The pool area on the roof is very nice and the gym has some good equipment, they even have a small sauna and steam bath in the changing room.
Locationwise it's not that great but this is more because of what Rayong has to offer than the hotel itself. There are not many places around to eat at or have a drink. But the hotel offers free transportation to the Laemtong shopping mall that also has a cinema with English movies.

Reasons for not giving 5 stars:
- Internet is expensive and very slow. I paid more for a monthly connection than I pay at home and then I have to share it with dozens of other people. Also it's a pain because you need to sign in every time which is fun with a smartphone.

- Room cleaning needs to be more thorough. Yes, they make the bed every day and sweep the room but they don't seem to wipe surfaces and the carpet in the room seems to be never vacuumed.

- Restaurant staff is very friendly but useless. It takes ages to get your meals even if there are no people in the restaurant and at breakfast they scurry around like confused animals while you wait to get noticed for some coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kameo House, Rayong we are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay overall – including our breakfast buffet and facilities.
Please find the following clarifications in regards to your comments:
• For the benefit of guests, we provide free WiFi in all public areas of the hotel. Regrettably, our extremely reasonable room rates make it unviable to provide free in-room WiFi as well, but our internet fee is on par with most hotels in our price bracket. We offer a 4MB speed, which is shared by users, and have several packages to choose from, depending on the length of stay starting from 324 baht for 24 hours.
• Cleanliness is a top priority and rooms are dusted and vacuumed daily, moreover the carpet is also washed on a monthly basis. However, we will look into this matter and make sure that our housekeeping team is doing their job properly.
• As per your comment on our restaurant service, thank-you for bringing our staff’s shortcomings to our attention. The Restaurant Manager is looking into the matter and measures will definitely be taken to improve service.
Once again, we thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and do hope you'll stay with us again on your return to Rayong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was sent by my company to work at Map Ta Phut for a month, the stay at this hotel was a real pleasure, the room is well furnished, thoroughly cleaned. The tv has a reasonable no. of interesting channels, loads of japanese, of course there are english and you can also find french and german programmes.
However, the most impressing part of the hotel is its gym centre and swimming pool, which is located at the top floor, the swimming pool has a decent size with a spectacular view for the sunset (normally when I finish work and have some exercise before dinner). A real fantastic place for you to relax from your day.
The restaurant on the ground floor is quite nice as well, a great selection of chinese/japanese/thai cuisines, the steak house on the roof has a great atmosphere, a nice place to go if you want to impress someone.

The only drawback however from my point of view is the air-conditioning system in the room. I was surprised for a hotel of this size, they didn't use central-air-conditioning. The ones you get in your room works fine, however, I found it a bit annoying when after your room reached the temperature, it starts to emit a funny smell (I think it's the smell of freon). I hope this perhaps was only a rare case, other than that, a five star overall if you are a swimmer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rayong hotels
25.3 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#9 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#4 of 55 in Rayong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments, Rayong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Lima Coco Resort
Lima Coco Resort
#5 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tamnanpar Resort
Tamnanpar Resort
#17 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mooban Talay Resort
Mooban Talay Resort
#10 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kameo Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kameo Grand

Property: Kameo Grand
Address: 305 / 14 Sukhumvit Rd. | Noen Phra, Rayong 21000, Thailand (Formerly Kameo House)
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kameo Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kameo Grand offers the very finest in short and long-stay accommodation with large, tastefully designed and comfortable rooms. Comprised of studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites, all accommodation comes complete with everything you will need for your stay. Facilities include an executive lounge, swimming pool, fitness centre and two restaurants. Kameo Grand boasts all the services of a fine hotel including room service, 24-hour front desk and maintenance, around-the-clock security and extensive meeting and function facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kameo Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing