We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but away from beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Convention Hotel
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Rayong
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a huge hotel in Rayon city, kind of virgin city and away from the flood of tourist. As we were looking to find some place which is quite and not much known to tourist, we discover this through a friend and decided to go. As such we visited this city and stayed in Star Hotel which is part of star city in Rayong town with three different blocks, two hotel blocks and one serviced apartment. We stayed in Star 2 and like this hotel…bit of Chinese style. The rooms were large and good with comfortable beds, locker, fridge, wardrobe, TV, AC etc. The bathroom was good but with limited amenities (just okay and manageable). The room tariff was also good compare to other similar hotels in Bangkok (paid approx 2000 Bhatt) with breakfast for two. The choice of breakfast was also good and we enjoyed it. The staff were helpful but it was bit hard to communicate in English (but still okay). Internet/WiFi also available but it was not free, you need to pay (I guess 10 Bht/hour). The lobby area was really beautiful with nice interiors and architect.

Going to beach was bit difficult as there is no meter taxi or even good car (taxi) even without meter. Normally, you find a pickup with passengers seat at the back to go nearby places including beach. We manage to find a car and paid 200 Bht to go to PMY beach (normally it is 100 Bht), which was about 5 km away but a must to go place to enjoy local foods.

Room Tip: HIgher floor, room facing the main city
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sureerat T, Manager at Star Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you comfortable along your stay. We will take your advice to improve our hotel.

Hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Management Team,
Star Convention Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Star Convention Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 68 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very good value for money hotel with decent and clean rooms. Friendly staff and a great food market nearby. Also it is near the bus stop where you can take a "tuk-tuk" to jetty and off the Ko-Samet beach which is magnificent to say the least!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayank85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sureerat T, Manager at Star Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you comfortable along your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Management Team,
Star Convention Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Is a very basic hotel. Rooms are big and has a nice view of sunrise. However, the bed is not very comfortable. TV channel only had limited English channels. Counter staffs knows limited English. So, its best to speak to them in 'broken' sentences. This hotel is not near the beach. However, its still a good 'budget' hotel if you don't mind the rock hard bed.

Hotel has a small swimming pool and a gym.

Breakfast buffet selection was ok. Do not expect much for Westerners except for scrambled eggs, ham, sausage, cereal and bread.

Dinner is not a problem as it is just opposite a nigh bazaar. Every Sunday and Mondays will be their mega bazaar where there will be many many more stalls selling food, clothes, handicrafts, toys, etc. There are also two 7-11 which opens 24hrs where you will be able to get top-ups for your pre-paid cards and at the same time buy some snacks and drinks. Do note that the 7-11 staffs knows little English.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifestyle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sureerat T, Manager at Star Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you comfortable along your stay. We will take your advice to improve our hotel.

Hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Management Team,
Star Convention Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Off the top, my only complaints about this hotel are that my A/C is weak (running full blast, barely keeping up and it's not that hot outside), the breakfast is lackluster (poor selection for Westerners) and you have to leave your key in the holder in the room to keep the A/C on during the day.

Alright, so you've read that much, I'll just hop into things:

THE GOOD:
The rooms-- they aren't fancy, but they are large and clean. Expect 'Motel 6' type luxury (although these rooms are larger and cleaner than Motel 6, but you get the idea)

The staff: I haven't dealt with them much, but when I do, they've been great.

The location: It's around the corner from Tesco's if you need a KFC fix, but it's also adjacent to a lively market (clothes, purses, food, watches, etc) and some decent outdoor restaurants (they are bare bones but the food is great).


THE MEDIOCRE:

The internet: It's free (yay!), and when it works, it is high speed (I'm streaming music right now). Sometimes though it can be intermittent and you have to reconnect or change networks every 20 or 30 minutes. Also, my iPod has some issues with the internet (for games and such)-- but general access on my iPod has no issues.

The breakfast: The food is good, but the selection for Westerners is limited (and it never varies from day to day). They have a good selection of Asian breakfast foods, but none of them really strike my fancy.


THE BAD:
Um... I haven't really found anything besides my general complaints at the top of this review.



NOTES:
Totally eat at the outside restaurants just down from the hotel and next to the market. Be careful because the food can be really spicy(!!), but just let the staff know what you want and they'll help you order. I'm sometimes leery of food in the places I travel, but I've gone to this restaurant every night and I've had no issues with the food or staff.

Room Tip: It seems to me that the heat moves to the top floor when it's warm outside. It might be a good i...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schruminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sureerat T, Manager at Star Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you comfortable along your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Management Team,
Star Convention Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Walking in to the lobby makes it look like a class act, but once you get away from lobby, it is bad. Carpet in hallways is way soiled and old. Room needs the key FOB inserted in a room holder which lets lights and A/C turn on. Nothing but the key FOB worked but tried. Bathroom had sewer smell from floor drains and appears no P-traps are in plumbing. I lifted the drain cover and lined with plastic which helped smell but was removed each day by staff. Without FOB inserted, room gets way too hot during the day in Thailand. Removed key from FOB and worked fine, but when I did, no cleanup was done in room that day.
Bed was rock hard and uncomfortable.
Only two English TV stations and they were non American. Had to jiggle the cable on back to get any stations and had to do this often. High speed internet worked every now and then and ran at a dial up speed and definately not high speed. No microwave, coffee maker available. Room size was nice and is close to Tesco Supermarket. Prior trip was to Kantary Bay Resort but since nothing is around it, decided to try this one. Not again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dastagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sureerat T, Manager at Star Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We will take your advice to improve our hotel.
Hope to serve you again in the near future.

Management Team,
Star Convention Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The Star is a hotel with an older (probably 1980's) wing and a newer (1999) wing - I know this because we stayed in the new wing when it first opened. It is a large hotel in a fantastic location on the edge of a small town, only a few minutes walk to the bus station, hypermarket, day market and the night bazaar is right in front of the new wing. Breakfast is included and isn't too bad, WiFi internet access (by the day) is extraordinarily cheap and the staff are very helpful but don't speak much English. There is a swimming pool in both wings and satellite TV.

Rayong town isn't a place where western tourist are the norm - they usually head for the beaches or Koh Samet - and as such the people are so much nicer.

Full review at http://www.littlewhiteswan.com/Accom/az08/0805.html

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swanygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sureerat T, Manager at Star Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you comfortable along your stay. We will take your advice to improve our hotel.

Hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Management Team,
Star Convention Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank wanwipajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rayong hotels
0.7 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#6 of 60 in Rayong
82 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sea Sand Sun Resort
Sea Sand Sun Resort
#25 of 60 in Rayong
37 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#9 of 60 in Rayong
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crystal Jade Hotel
Crystal Jade Hotel
#20 of 60 in Rayong
9 reviews
1.4 mi away
D Varee Diva Central Rayong
0.8 mi away
Kameo Grand
Kameo Grand
#3 of 60 in Rayong
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Convention Hotel

Address: 109 Trade Center Lane 4, Sukhumvit Road | Tha Pra Du subdistrict, Rayong 21000, Thailand (Formerly Star Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range: $38 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Convention Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing