We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Shame”
Review of Samed Cliff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samed Cliff Resort
Ranked #23 of 56 Rayong B&B and Inns
Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Shame”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked this resort thinking it was family friendly. The resort was old and very tired. The pool area while clean was not inviting. old painted walls and decaying timber. We paid for the VIP suite. No english TV room was clean but no sofa or any thing that one should expect when paying the sort of money we did.

The breakfast was terrible , while they had the correct serving trays for food they did not light the heaters to keep the food warm so cold eggs and food. Day two I went outside for breakfast.

This resort does not cater for the western tourist in fact when we told a local business where we were staying they told us no one stays at that resort.

In fact it is a real shame the maintenace and facilities are not maintained as the location is great and could be a great place to stay if the resort was looked after.

Will not stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niffy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The room wasn't very clean and was not very pampering. (Small tv, not flat)
View to the beach, nice swimming pool.
The breakfast was very local and not very attractive for westerns.
The beach and the close area of the hotel are very quiet, and not so much to do if you don't rent a motorcycle.
The "taxi" ( back of a pickup) is 150 baht for one way from and to the pier.
The restaurant of the resort is good for lunch/dinner if you like local food and seafood.

The room was around 4000 baht/night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Udibental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rayong hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very disappointed, overpriced in need of repair. Garbage around & timber decks & stairs leading to rooms rotting in parts.New building going on & no effort to disguise building rubble & mess from guests. Minimal shade in the mornings,had to go elsewhere if wanting to laze around.Caretaker staff who were friendly but not experienced.Minimal food options & breakfast only adequate.I would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always remember that you do only get what you pay for. But with this hotel, upon arrival we noticed right away that we could have got fantatic deals on some of the other rooms. From our booking engine (I think Sawadee this time), we took the seaview room with an upgrade. However, it appears to me, that all rooms are seaview. Also, some would think it a perk to be situated at the bottom of the stairs, but after having been in a lower level room, l would much prefer to be further up, for both the view, and the privacy. There are many stairs, but a good step climb is good for all. This hotel is clean, and in a quieter area of the island. There is a 7/11 type store if you turn left as you are leaving the resort, and a good German restaurant if you turn right. Further down the road are motorbike rentals for (if l remember correctly) 200 baht per day, gas included. Then again further, are some cabins on the shore, recently under the new ownership of an Italian man. He made us a great coffee and breakfast one morning, and appeared to have yummy things on the evening menu. You will note that l said breakfast, the Cliff includes breakfast, but it is over by 0930. Which l think is terrible. It should at least go to 1030-1100. And, they DO NOT have real coffee, only Sanka. I hate instant coffee! Yuck, yuck, yuck. The walk to the main beach town is about 25 minutes. Maybe 40 minutes if you are carrying their giant key. That key mentioned in an earlier post is quite funny. Yes the key holder is huge! No wonder they ask for a 1000 baht deposit on it. I think the wood involved in the making of it it cost that much! It also seems to be the rate for the speed boat to get off the island, so maybe this is the hotels way of making sure that you leave. Seriously though, l guess it's easier to find a key like that if it falls through the stair slats. As for activities. We relaxed on the beach, walked into town everynight for dinner. Before dinner each night we would have a drink on the beach; lingering long enough to watch the sun go down. We rented a motorbike one day with ambitous plans of driving down island to a location where it is said that you can see turtles. We turned back at the 3/4 mark and went down by songtow the next day. On our way back we saw two enormous women heading down island on one bike. We wished them luck, but still wonder if they might still be down there stuck in that sandy road. Both were memorable days, and l would do both again. However, we did not see any sea turtles. Tour boats arrived around 230 pm, so the place was no longer tranquil, and we headed back to town for a beach drink. I woud have liked to have stayed up long enough to have gone to the Bob Marely Bar one night. But alas, l am getting old, so after a day in the sun l am very lucky if l can stay up past 9pm. I also would have liked to have snorkelled more, but this does not seem to be the island for that. Shopping is always on the agenda at the end of one of these vacations. There was a market with really nice T-shirts at the ferry terminal on the way over. I had fully intended to buy a few things there when we left, but we ended up being dropped off at an entirely different place for departure. We stood in a line, asked for a taxi, and were back in Bangkok in a few hours.

Room Tip: Lower levels for older persons. Away from the main stairs as you can hear people returning at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at the mini suite, clean and neat. Overall nice stay for family with toddlers. Only need to watch out for the kids on the wooden walkway, anyway after one day the kids got the hang of it. they know how to watch their steps. Staff are very helpful except their English need to be improved otherwise you get the wrong things.
Room S3 is nice but got stay-in lizards (it helped to get rid of mosquitoes). Room S2 is just above the laundry/workers' room so u get the daily dosage of freshly fragnance. Plus a bit of twilight zone experience according to my mom's encounter. But overall a very pleasant stay for a nice relaxing retreat.
From Singapore

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbielimsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place is TERRIBLE for families. It is soooo dangerous. My son (2) fell off the balcony of one of the bungalows...apparently they ran out of wood to finish off the railing! It was a 3 meter fall!!! We were soooooooooo lucky that he fell onto the dirt and not the pieces of concrete and steel sticking up from under the balcony! All he had were abrasions.

I complained - and they looked at me like I was from another planet. Couldn't care less. Didn't care that I wanted to speak to the manager - this finally happened although it took HOURS with NO result (not even an apology.)

There are many lovely places to go on Koh Samed - don't go to this one!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I grew up in Los Angeles, the beach was a way of life for me. Having lived in Seoul, South Korea for the past 10 years, I learned to hate a high population density, so if I go to a beach resort this place offers NOT TOO MANY people, NOT A LOT OF TRAFFIC, QUIET, and practically having a whole beach to yourself. I stocked up on beer and munchies, sat in front on the balcony of my waterfront bungalow and chilled LA style.

Room Tip: Go for Bungalow C2 or C3!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crayonshinchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayong
1.2 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vimarn Samed Resort
Vimarn Samed Resort
#17 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar & Bed Sleepless
Bar & Bed Sleepless
#19 of 47 in Ko Samet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
0.2 mi away
Pandora Resort
Pandora Resort
#2 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Larissa Samed Resort
Larissa Samed Resort
#7 of 57 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Cliff Resort

Property: Samed Cliff Resort
Address: 100 Moo 4 | Tumbol Phe, Amphur Muang, Rayong 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samed Cliff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samed Cliff Resort is located on the quiet Noi-Nha beach, northern part of Koh Samed. The resort is perfect for travelers who are looking for a quiet, relaxed and peaceful holidays. Each room (individual bungalow) has a perfect sea-view which you can experience from inside and outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samed Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Cliff Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing