We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to relax by the ocean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kantary Bay, Rayong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Rayong
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Rayong
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax by the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times now always found the place clean and friendly they have a nice bar area with nice lounge music or a singer some nights ,nice food in the breakfast /bistro ,nice pools right by the beach many place's to eat along the beach little tip you can use the hotel shuttle bus to take you to lamthong shopping center this is a nice place to spend a nice romantic weekend its not a pattaya but a nice place to have a chill out in nice surroundings

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevthelead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Rayong, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Rayong, is pleased to have a positive endorsement from one of our regulars, and looks forward to seeing and serving you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    105
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
47
36
16
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

People are very friendly from front office, housekeeping and F&B. The reading room is nice and relax with complimentary coffee, tea and snack. Complimentary breakfast has good choices. The only thing that not great is the cleanliness. We stay in Suite with 2 bed rooms. We can't step out to balcony or use cloth hanger to dry our swimsuit as the amount if dust is unbearable. Not count drawers in bed room, can't use it neither. Furthermore, when we go down to the cafe, table is full of dust with sticky mark. We have informed waitress to clean and she said this sofa normally no one use so we don't clean. We need to move as we are not sure with amount in cloth sofa. Overall, if you get good deal, it is ok place to stay just overnight.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Kantary Bay, Rayong, and the next time I am in town for business, I most likely will stay there again. The service was good, and staff very friendly. The rooms are big and spacious, and more than adequate for a short, medium or long term business stay. Room fittings are a bit dated, and bathroom could use a revamp, but everything is fit for purpose. Every morning there is a buffet breakfast with a wide variety of choice. The place is small and can get full, and staff can get stretched, but again for a business traveller I had no concerns. All in all, I left happy and will recommend the hotel to colleagues.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hafedh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Rayong, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
The Kantary Beach, Rayong, is pleased to have your recommendation as a business traveller and looks forward to your soonest return for another stay with us in Rayong. Thank you for your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The welcome and service was very good with courteous staff. Room suite was spacious and very comfortable, great view from the balcony. Fine seaside location, hotel was kept secure. Breakfast buffet had a wide choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProcalRJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Rayong, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Rayong, appreciates your snapshot commentary and looks forward to your soonest return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Kantary and Cameo hotels have long been a brand I have trusted. I lived at the Kantary House for a year and was very happy there. I have stayed at Cape Panwa, Cameo Ayutthaya, and a two-bedroom at the Sri Racha one of the same chain. In the 18+ years I have been using this brand, this is the first time I have met bad service.

When we arrived at around 2 pm yesterday May 3rd, we checked in and were told that the two-bedroom we had booked for the family (including an 8-month old infant and our housekeeper) was not clean yet, so we needed to wait "less than an hour" in the words of the reception. We were asked to wait in the Reading Room where we enjoyed cups of coffee and some cookies.
The receptionist told me they would call us when the room was ready. After over an hour, no one had come to call us, so I went down check if they had processed the room yet. In normal hotels the housekeeping can breeze through cleaning and do it efficiently too, in under 30 minutes. Apparently the cleaning had finished but no one came to call us. In fact, the receptionist who had processed our check-in was nowhere to be found and a different one asked me if I wanted to check in.

We checked in. I asked if the hotel staff would take our bags up (including stroller, baby bathtub, two suitcases, a baby mattress. The receptionist said "Wait a moment please." At this point I really did not know what "moment" means to the Kantary Bay staff. (Remember waiting for the room for over 80 minutes?) So I opened the room for my family and the housekeeper and I went down to get our luggage by ourselves. When the reception desk saw us doing this, they asked one of their staff to help us.

Last night my partner and I decided to make use of the drink coupons they gave us at check-in. We went down to the "Corner Bar" but the coupons were only good for a dodgy Heineken draught, a dodgy punch liquid and soft drinks. So we pocketed the useless coupons and ordered a German dark beer and a glass of house wine. On the menu the beer said "Erdinger" so I ordered that, and the barkeep was quick to say "Weiss-something" instead. Uttering that word while we peered at the menu at a word that clearly read "Erdinger" was something I did not understand, so I repeated "Erdinger" while running my index finger across the word. At that point the barkeep said in a very sarcastic tone, "No, Weiss-something." I was annoyed at this point. I mean, here is someone who clearly isn't reading and he is telling me I can't read? But of course it turned out that he was just rude because he was trying to say "Sorry, we don't have Erdinger on the stock even though our menu clearly says that word. But we do have a good dark beer, this Weiss-thingy." NOW THAT would have been POLITE.

This morning between 6.30-7.00 am the whole family woke up with a wakeup call that we never asked for.

At breakfast, there were very few vegetarian options (my housekeeper is vegetarian). The rice porridge condiments had less variety than a 3-star place we once stayed at in Pattaya. Bussing was not very effective as the tables had piles of plates and the bussing cart was in the middle of the dining room (very attractive!).

We still have about 36 hours left at the hotel. Today we are going to see if the service gets any better.

I am disappointed that the Kantary brand in Rayong is not as well-staffed as the places they run in Ayutthaya, Phuket, Sri Racha, or Bangkok. I will probably never come back here again, and it makes me doubt that I will try the other Kantary places if I have other choices.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locomojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Rayong, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Rayong, shares your disappointment with the lack of service you received during your recent stay with us. Your review has been shared with our team to address the shortcomings you have noted. Please feel free to contact me at: gm@kantarybay-rayong.com. Thank you again for your review which will be helpful to our team in our continuing efforts to provide enjoyable and pleasant stays for all of our guests all the time. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was in Rayong close to a year on a work related trip. I tried out a few hotels there before zeroing in on Kantary Bay. This has got to be the best hotel there. Rooms are available for long term leases too. It is a sea facing property and the view you get from some of the rooms is just amazing. They have a wonderful spa with steam bathing facilities, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a squash court on the top floor. It is quite close to a mall and an open food market. Rates are higher than other hotels but it money well spent. Hotel staff and house keeping staff are very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhatsMyNamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Rayong, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Rayong, thanks you for your favourable review and looks forward to your return on your next business trip to Rayong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Kantary Bay Hotel in Rayong is a modern all suites hotel originally built to cater for ex-pats on short term assignments in the area (most of Thailand's oil and petrochemical industry is located nearby). It is very pleasant with friendly staff and generally good facilities. It could function well as a holiday hotel but this is not, in my opinion, a holiday area although it is popular with local residents as there is a sandy beach and lots of street cuisine.

Room Tip: A room at the front had more interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toptone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Rayong, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Rayong, is pleased to have your snapshot review of our facilities and locale which should assist other readers planning a trip to Rayong. Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayong
26.8 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#9 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kameo Grand
Kameo Grand
#2 of 55 in Rayong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#4 of 55 in Rayong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa
20.8 mi away
Novotel Rayong Rim Pae Resort
7.4 mi away
Sea Sand Sun Resort
Sea Sand Sun Resort
#23 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Rayong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Rayong

Property: Kantary Bay, Rayong
Address: 50, 50 / 2 Beach Road | Paknam Muang, Rayong 21000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rayong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kantary Bay, Rayong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Bay Rayong is ideal for both work and pleasure. Situated right on the beach, with magnificent views over the Gulf of Thailand, the property is hugely popular with locals, ex-pats and tourists alike. Staff are on duty 24 hours, rooms have separate bedrooms and living rooms and are fully furnished. Facilities include meeting rooms, swimming pools, a fitness center, tennis and squash courts, sauna/ steam rooms, a Jacuzzi and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kantary Bay, Rayong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Rayong Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing