We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It that because "Phuket"?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Krating Phuket Resort
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is a lovely and quiet place to stay. I will go back again If whoever response to this place come to have a look what are problems. This place seriously needs attention or even new manager/management. Their staffs are lovely,friendly and very helpful.I love the location and staffs but what we paid for...I called " ripping off". Avoid this place during "last week of Jan and the first two weeks of Feb."as some groub of people cerebrate their new year.

We do really need apologize from the management.

Room Tip: make sure you see your room first before pay your money. Some rooms are lovely but some are terrible...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiraporn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Baan Krating Phuket Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 208 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at Baan Krating and loved the jungle setting and the out of the way beach with some decent snorkelling. We had one of the concrete luxury bungalows rather than the wooden huts and loved the spacious room with an excellent bed and huge bathroom. Two gripes: the restaurant and its staff let the place down and the hotel only sells small bottles of water at vastly inflated prices. Both are no good for this out of the way location if you have no transport. On the other hand there is a free bus service to Naiharn Beach several times a day. Positive aspects win!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saint_lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in a Deluxe Room. From the outside nice wooden Bungalows with a big Terrace, but two uncomfortable chairs. From the inside its old and worn down. Just dont look too close for dust and dirt. The bed is big and the aircondition works just fine. You only get one big Towel for showering and one for the Beach. Breakfast is very poor for what you pay and maybe half of the staff is friendly and maybe 2 of them understands english well so you could communicate. Concerning the Restaurant we tried on our 3rd night the Seafood Barbecue – big mistake ever. My boyfriend chose grilled squid. First he got it served with the inside still raw, he brought it back to the people at the grill to put it back on. After 10/15 Minutes he got it back cut in little pieces and half cold with no taste at all - unbelievable. It never happened to us before in Asia that a hotel offers Barbecue and they just dont have a clue how it works or how it should taste and look like at all. From that night on we didnt use this Restaurant again. We rented a motorbike every day and went to NaiHarn Beach where you have many foodstalls or we went a little further to Naiharn Downtown. Its so much better and worth the little drive. About the Location, a big plus is the JungleFeeling and that it is away from the crowds of Phuket. They have two beach spots with clear water, good for swimming and snorkelling, but during our stay there were a lot of jellyfish in the ocean, so we couldnt really enjoy the water. The beach spot on the left side of the hotel doesnt even belong to Baan Krating, the neighbour Hotel provides Plastic SunBeds with Umbrellas on the beach but you have to pay for it of course. The hotel itself has only a small porch with maybe 6 or 8 SunLoungers, not much for 65 Rooms and they dont provide sunbeds on the sandy beach as shown on pictures on their website. Most of the guests are Russian or French….. We wont go there again so we cant really recommend it to other Traveller‘s

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleOne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really liked our deluxe pavilion room at Baan Krating...contemporary with lots of natural light. It was spacious and comfortable. The jungle setting is quite nice, and you are definitely away from the crowds at Kata or other beaches. These would be the only reasons to stay here, in my opinion.

The food quality was mediocre at best, and the restaurant ran out of items that should be standard at any restaurant, such as coffee. The staff: uninspired.

The beach was a disappointment. Small (about 30 steps wide), rough sand, loungers that were not on the beach but above it- and only a handful for the entire resort. It's shared with a backpacker resort next door.

While I appreciate a nice room and like being away from crowds, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelectiveTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were happy to have a place to spend New Years as we booked quite late. So, for that we are grateful. However, as expat residents of Thailand, we have a good understanding of what should be on offer for each price range. Even at low season rates, this resort doesn't fully live up to its expectations.

Positives
It is on the beach.
The deluxe pavilion rooms are spacious, well-appointed, contemporary and clean. The beds and pillows are comfortable. The shower has hot water and great water pressure.
The jungle setting is lovely.
The laundry service was quick, efficient, and reasonably priced.
The resort is secluded and quiet. Yet, you can easily access the shops and restaurants of Naiharn Beach (a hilly 15 minute walk away). The excellent restaurants of Kata Beach are a 20 minute scooter ride away.

Negatives
There are 9 beach loungers for over 60 rooms worth of guests. The pool had 6 or 7 loungers. The pool is at the top of the property, so a bit of a trek from the beach if you'd like to dip between the two. (The pool is small, but seemed adequate for the number of people wanting to use it.) The beach loungers are not actually on the beach, but on a platform set slightly above the beach. (The floor of the platform is sand.)
There is no bar service at the beach. (However, there is a local kiosk next door on the beach that sells beer and soda.)
All internet must be paid for. There is no free wi-fi in the communal areas like most other resorts have.
One of the biggest disappointments was the food. The breakfast selection would have been acceptable at a 30 USD/night resort. However, since we paid in excess of 150 USD/night (high season rates), it was woefully inadequate. During our stay, they ran out of coffee (yes, really), wheat bread, butter, and bacon (actually, there was bacon on only 2 of the 5 mornings). Possibly someone "forgot" to adjust the food delivery order for a higher occupancy rate? There was no yogurt. The only fruit on offer was watermelon and pineapple. The wait staff was quite apathetic (one got the feeling they were weary of fielding complaints about the food). The one lunch we ate at the resort was tasteless and memorable only for its poor quality.
Since we were there over New Years, we were required to pay for the New Year's dinner the hotel hosted. The cost was just shy of 100 USD per person. There was fresh grilled seafood that was tasty (and ran out pretty quickly), but that is the best we can say for the dinner. The rest of the food was mediocre. To add insult to injury, drinks were not included; ALL drinks, including water and soda, had to be paid for separately.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iphigeniaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We just got back from 11 nights here. We loved it! One of the best value hotels we have ever stayed in and so quiet.

The setting is fabulous, the staff friendly and the food excellent. I read all of the other reviews before going and can see a little substance is some of the negatives comments but these would really be nit picking in the larger overall picture, We loved everything and really enjoyed our stay there!

Ao sane beach restaurant was superb and amazing value for money.

I would love to go into more detail but all I can say would be if you are looking for a quieter time in Phuket with a jungle setting, decent beach and lovely pool then this is the best value place you will ever fine but please don't let 'best value' be a negative this is a nice resort.

We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This resort is literally at the end of the road, close to Naiharn beach (a 20 minute walk). Nestled in the jungle the bungalows are not luxurious but have all the comforts like A/C, TV, and a super large walk in shower. Service is very attentive and the food is good, and for being a hotel also reasonably priced. Given the isolated locations, taxi fares are higher, and dining options are more limited - a place for those wanting to relax and get away from humdrum that is Phuket.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kokeb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
1.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.9 mi away
Sunsuri Phuket
Sunsuri Phuket
#2 of 6 in Nai Harn
893 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Windmill Phuket Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
0.6 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Krating Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Krating Phuket Resort

Address: 11/3 Moo 1, Wiset Road | Ao Sane Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $43 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Krating Phuket Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Krating Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Krating Phuket Hotel Rawai
Baan Krating Jungle Beach Rawai
Baan Krating Phuket Resort Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing