We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum”
Review of Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ - CLOSED

Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve fresh seafood. Our chefs are expert in fresh seafood, Thai food and western dishes. Our atmosphere is casual and we face the Andaman Sea so the view is great. We can accommodate up to 80 sit-down guest at any one time. We use fresh and high quality ingredients and we do not use MSG (Monosodium glutamate) in the preparation in our cooking.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

So I've just been reading some of these reviews and those that have given this place a very low rating... If I were the owner I'd find it disappointing that some of these folk come to their place with great expectations and then find, essentially, what is a good place run my nice folk and friendly pleasant staff, below these. This was our first time down at the fish market and the prices, compared to home, are great. Stop being misers people and enjoy the experience.. Well done Gypsy, great night and good food

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    81
    25
    22
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not Value for Money”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had read some great things about this restaurant on Tripadvisor but we were very disappointed. The prices were very high for the area and the food was poor. It is setup for the tourist buses that want to come down to the pier to select their fresh fish. The restaurants do very well out of these tours and can hence charge high prices. Probably the worst meal we have had in the past 2 months!!! There are a number of restaurants along the water front that serve excellent food and half the price. The service was good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Take Away was great”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant as other ones at the fish market at Rawai fish market provides cooking service, you buy a sea food at one place and cook it at the restaurant starting from 100 baht per 1 kilo

We asked for take away option, asked to fried both fish and calamari

Pros:
- Very quick, waited 15 min as they said
- The food was well organized with separate nylon bag for the garlic and pepper marinade
- Very tasty

Cons:
- None

Our review relates to off season so it might affect

Helpful?
Thank Nadav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Expensive ”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were very excited to try the fish market in Rawai and knew it would have some tourist feel, but didn't expect the outrages prices.

The restaurant itself is certainly nothing special, but that is typical of many spots in Thailand. The gentleman at the front (Indie) is very kind and helpful with decisions about how to cook the seafood purchaser at the vendors across the street. He stresses not much spice, but our food could definitely been better if it had a little kick. I do admit the food was good, but it is quickly forgotten when you get your bill. Fried pineapple rice for 300 baht is way too much. The staff at our hotel laughed in shock when they found out how much Gypsy charges for such a dishes.

Another simple and customer pleasing service would be a wet towel or even disposable towelettes after your meal. The crabs, lobster, jumbo shrimp, etc are a hands on messy meal that the see through napkins don't come close to handling.

Overall, I wouldn't eat here again and would recommend you take your chances with another restaurant along the Rawai fish market strip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tourguiderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No no no”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We as a family love to hang around beaches and nice restaurants . We walked down to the gypsy past all the tour buses and then down the broken road to the fish market . The nice Indian man at gypsy helped us choose some fish and prawns ( not cheap ) we then went to sit down in his place , sorry but it is dirty and badly organised . The food came and to be honest it was very poor quality . Would we go back NO we would not . Forget this tourist trap and go further down Rawai beach and sit at one of the many places right on the water side under the trees .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing