We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life's threat”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ - CLOSED

Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We serve fresh seafood. Our chefs are expert in fresh seafood, Thai food and western dishes. Our atmosphere is casual and we face the Andaman Sea so the view is great. We can accommodate up to 80 sit-down guest at any one time. We use fresh and high quality ingredients and we do not use MSG (Monosodium glutamate) in the preparation in our cooking.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Life's threat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Been there yesterday evening because it's rated number one restaurant in the area of Rawai beach. BBQ prawns were great, but they lost our order of oysters and grilled fish and we waited for more than an hour until we got annoyed and left the place without paying the fish. The girl at the cashier went mad for this and was not very polite. Oysters were not fresh and my girlfriend had stomach cramps all night long because of the poisoned one. Waiters are dumb enough to forget what you always ask gently and slowly because their english is not the best. Definitely a crap place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inditulsi, Owner at Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for the review be it negative. You have taken the trouble and that matters and that makes Tripadvisor a reliable source.

Its unfortunate that you and your partner did not enjoy your visit. There were no slip ups that day but we do have on a few occasions some other time.

We are really slow in our BBQ orders. You ordered a live white snapper from our tanks that weight more than a kilo and that fish had to be gutted and descaled. Your fish took a good 45 minutes to BBQ over slow fire, incase you are not aware. Other shops in our area will steam your fish for 10 minutes and then BBQ over fire for less than 5 minutes. Thats the difference!

You also did not mention that you were shouted at my wife, June at the cashier when you walked up to the cashier to cancel your BBQ fish, without any prior notice that you were not happy with our service. Not even when i visited your table to see how things were going by than you had consumed some food. So presumption that your food went missing is unfounded. She told you that the fish was ready and on the way out, but you refused to accept and also refused to pay for the live fish and the BBQ charges of Baht 600! June wanted to call the Police for your misbehavior when you abused her verbally. I just happen to pass by when I heard the commotion and hoping not to escalate the situation any further, I accepted your cancellation of the fish and without any payment. You should be thankful.

We are hopeful that you will not patronize Gypsy@Rawai BBQ anymore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    81
    25
    22
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“IF YOU DO NOT EAT HERE YOU SHOULD BE SHOT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I are regular visitors to Phuket. We travel to many countries and can say with some authority that we know what we are talking about when it comes to dining out. But in this case we most definitely slipped up as this was our first dining experience at Gypsy. Have we missed out?! Better late than never, although I am surprised at the number of expats in Phuket who have never eaten here. Before anything, I must warn you. Don't judge a book by its cover! The approach is a dusty road packed with stalls selling seafood. You can buy your own from one of these and have it cooked at Gypsy but there is no need to as they have a huge choice. The best time to go (in December) is about 5.30 late afternoon. We selected a Grouper fish. It was filleted and covered in 3 Thai spices and melted in our mouths. I should have chosen a much bigger fish it was so delicious. Then a crayfish/lobster each, done 'thermidore' style. Delicious. Followed by steamed calamari/squid/octopus tubes with a delicious filling. A non-serrated knife sliced through the tubes like a knife though butter. 10 out of 10. And what a selection of other dishes on the menu!! You could eat there for 3 months and only then possibly get through the entire menu. We have 10 days left of our vacation and intend eating at Gypsy 3 more times. One negative note, but it is no reflection on Gypsy or the other restaurants: the road to is narrow and there are too many cars - it should be totally closed off which would make it more like a mall.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterWesleyFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been In couples of places on the same "market street".
This one had the better sauce to go with your Shrimps but definitely the worst service, apart from the indi owner that welcoming you in Russian (no wonder why seeing the customers) the service is terrible, long wait (saw people leaving without have been served), mixed up orders.
If you want to try the buy by your own and let them cook it style, just walk 3 restaurant backward and choose the one packed with thai people, it does not have the very nice sauce but you will be served faster and you will get what you have bought for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Owner Indi is worth the visit - very entertaining but cannot rave about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

After hearing other people raving about seafood dinner at Gypsy we decided to go there with another couple. We bought 2 large lobsters from fish vendors, prawns etc and then took then into Gypsy to cook. After a very very long wait we get 1 lobster (very very small) to our table - we looked at it in amazement (it could not have shrunk in the cooking - surely not) and called the waiter over who repeatedly tried to tell us it was our lobster. When we said in fact we gave them 2 large lobsters to cook and prawns etc he disappeared, then came back saying - oh sorry but because they are short staffed in kitchen some orders have been mixed up and orders lost etc etc. About a half hour later 2very large lobsters come out and given to table next to us (Russians) who had been waiting much longer . Without hesitation they quickly got stuck into the meal and polished it all - in fact they were given our meal. To cut a long story short when they got their account they refused to pay and just walked out yelling that given that they waited over 2 hours and in the end someone else,s order they would not pay
In all this Indi then came to our table and in his entertaining way apologized for mix up, delay etc etc and offered the 2 lobster (small). Ok don't want to be I'll mannered so we accepted lobster and then the prawns etc. Food cooked very mediocre - certainly not anything special The place was chaotic and seemed like no one quite knew what they were doing
However were were thoroughly entertained by Indi and his stories
Expensive for what it is and I am sure other surrounding restaurants would do the same thing
Would not go back in a hurry

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 135Eleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“BEST seafood I've had in ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

LOVE this place! I'm from the US, living in Chiang Rai but visiting Phuket on holiday. By far, this place has been an absolute treat. Not only is the food something to rage about but the overall dining experience was excellent. You will be greeted by the owner, Indi, who is an absolute riot. This guy will brighten your day, make you leave with a smile on your face and a belly full of great food. Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ is a must-do-see-taste! PS - Prawns were delish!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing