We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good”
Review of Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ - CLOSED

Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We serve fresh seafood. Our chefs are expert in fresh seafood, Thai food and western dishes. Our atmosphere is casual and we face the Andaman Sea so the view is great. We can accommodate up to 80 sit-down guest at any one time. We use fresh and high quality ingredients and we do not use MSG (Monosodium glutamate) in the preparation in our cooking.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“really good”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Really really good! We had Bbq prawns, 'three-taste' fish, lobster, crabs. It was really cheap (except the lobster) and worth every baht. The owner is a Singaporean who speaks good English; he's great at recommending dishes and he doesn't try to sell you more than you can eat. And well-chilled glasses for the beer - thumbs up for that!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnofkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    81
    25
    22
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great services, staff was friendly and willing to serve.
Tasty!! better than other restaurant nearby and also in a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManaoRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummo”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were reccomended to here from our hotel, well it was a very good choice, the staff are very friendly and most helpful with the selection of the seafood, which can be purchased across the road, much fun, all good suggestions on cooking flavours and method of cooking, we have been for lunch and dinner, and will probably go back before we leave, They were also quite accommodating letting us purchase some fresh veggies and also cooking them for us

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super fresh seafood cooked to perfection by charismatic staff!!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

At first I was a little fearful at the thought of selecting various seafood by the kilo to take it across the street to be cooked but boy, am I glad I faced my fears!

The Gypsy at Rawai barbecue was one of the most fun, unusual experiences I've had! The staff here were full of character and such good fun! They made excellent recommendations as to how to prepare our 'catch' [langoustine prawns, blue crab, squid and clams] and we had a delicious, laid back, relaxed meal in this comfortable, clean little hut! Drinks were reasonable too and my boyfriend was delighted by the ice cold glass his Chang was served in.

I'd like to return again when we're flying home from Phuket - perhaps next time we'll have a whole lobster...or two!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VeilaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Singing customers in”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The suggestion of tamarind sauce caught our eye as we wandered the street deciding where to have dinner. Our favourite flavour, so it made the decision easy. We quickly chose our seafood and headed across, welcomed by the dulcet tones of our host Woody. On the recommendation of front of house staff we added prawn cakes and pad Thai to our order, complemented with a nice wine (often hard to find!). The food was delicious, no doubt being so fresh is a bonus, but the flavour of the tamarind sauce far surpassed what we had in Patong earlier in the week. Woody is a welcoming host, often serenading the table and then quickly heading off to allow us 'to enjoy the romance'. He kindly offered to lend us umbrellas to cope with the rain which hard started and said he would collect them later from our hotel, but we said we 'd wait until the rain eased. It didn't and so he called a cab for us so we wouldn't need to walk to the taxi rank. This was a great little find - fabulous food cooked however you want, served by friendly staff. The outlook is fun, watching life pass by in the market atmosphere of the street. Will we be back - absolutely! Next time for lobster ...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy @ Rawai BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing