We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected more”
Review of Lugar de Place - CLOSED

Lugar de Place
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Central European, International
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We expected more”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I where expecting a first class meal.
The food just passed as ok , we wanted to sit outside but the smell from the sewage was so bad we had to sit in air condition .
The service was fair, food was a little expencive ,we where there only customers all night so it lacked in ambiance. Certainly not the number one restaurant in Rawai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danbex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu h, Owner at Lugar de Place, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Just wanted you guys to know that we have new management , menu and chef. We hope to meet all of your expectations here at the new Lugar De Place in the future.

Thanks for the review!
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very expensive”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family of 4 all chose Thai meals and enjoyed them . Staff was pleasant, although one meal was totally forgotten about and came out sometime later. A pleasant restaurant, but totally too expensive given you are not paying for any views or top food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitaqwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and modern, good for kids”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a week in Rawai during June and travelled with our 2 year old daughter. This restaurant is on the main street of restaurants, about 3 min walk from our hotel (Rawai Palm Beach).
Pro's:
- Modern clean interior.
- Food was fresh and tasty (we only tried the Thai menu)
- The staff were very friendly and attentive, especially with our young daughter. There was even a 'kids table' with books and puzzles to keep her entertained and they provided a kids plate and cup for her
Cons:
- On the pricey side compared with other restaurants in the area, especially considering the portions are not overly large
Overall, definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWin90days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great setup, lousy tasting drinks”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We came to this restaurant for an afternoon beverage, so we cannot comment on the food.
The setup of this restaurant is excellent - the decor is modern and funky. It looks like they have musicians that come in at night and it has a really nice atmosphere. We were the only people in the restaurant at the time and we found the staff to be attentive and friendly. The restaurant has a view across the road to the beach which is quite nice as well.

However, we are giving this restaurant an average rating because the iced coffee and iced chocolate that we had there were the worst we had in Thailand and one of the worst we have had ever. They were watery and the taste just was not good. The beverages in Thailand are generally of a very high standard (we got a banana smoothy at a market stall near the fishmongers nearby which was to die for), so this restaurant was a bit of a let down. It was also quite pricey and the range of beverages on offer was not the best.

Overall we found this restaurant to have a lot of style, but no substance. Hopefully the food is better, but we didn't stay for dinner so we cannot comment on that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality Dining With Top Service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 8 nights at Rawai and dined here the last 3 nights.A great selection of Thai and Western dishes and not at all expensive. Excellent food and great value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mistert_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugar de Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing