We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vietnamese ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saigon Restaurant - CLOSED

Saigon Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Saigon Restaurant Phuket where we offer traditional Vietnamese hospitality and high quality. Authentic Vietnamese food!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were looking for a restaurant walking distance from our hotel and discovered Saigon restaurant. The restaurant is very clean and has nice decor. The gentleman that seated us is the owner, along with his Vietnamese wife. All the ingredients are authentic, shipped from relatives that live in Vietnam. We each had the soft spring rolls and Pho. Both were delicious and so filling. We liked it so much, we returned 2 nights later. I again ordered the vegetarian Pho. When they brought it to the table, I noticed there was no tofu in it and mentioned it. The next thing I knew, someone ran out of the kitchen and out the door. I was told she went to get the tofu! They removed my bowl and when the tofu arrived, they started over and brought me a nice fresh bowl of Pho! That was incredible. Loved the owners, who visited with us and made us feel welcome. Highly recommend-you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clbb813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    7
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We visited Saigon after tiring of our resort's dinner menu...what a hidden gem! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was just fantastic. The small size of the restaurant makes for a great atmosphere and prices were very reasonable. Consider eating here if you are staying at Serenity, only a short walk!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
166 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The drawback is that the restaurant is on a busy main road so unless you are specifically looking for it , is easy to miss. Once inside there are distinct dining areas, smoking and non smoking. The restaurant is well designed and has a beautiful ambience. The Swiss German host is very attentative and his Vietnamese wife backs up a superb meal. It was unfortunate we were the only diners which rather spoils the atmosphere. Speaking to locals that have tried the restaurant once, the response is always the same, too expensive for wine and food..So its a catch 22..if the prices were more locally competitive they would attact more customers considering it is not easy to stop at due to its location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

If you're tired of Tom yam and spicy Thai food - welcome to Saigon! We've discovered the place and were amazed by beef soup with fresh mint, spices and rice noodles. We've tried as well the chicken and the fish - all is well cooked,fresh, tasty! The owners are welcoming and are attentive and friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Xnata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Authentic taste of Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Really don't know why it's taken me so long to go to this restaurant - I mean, I only live 200 yards away! Very friendly place, with stunning food. No, it's not the cheapest place, but then if you exclude the drinks, I don't think it's excessive either. Will quickly become a favourite!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing