We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for... And heaps more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for... And heaps more!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I brought this off of GrabOne for less than $500 for 7 days!
We was a little sceptical about the whole deal, $469 was the total cost including, elephant trek, monkey show, scuba diving, free spa, welcome cocktail and fruit.
We paid a little for extras, transfer to and from airport/hotal and breakfasts everyday.
We arrive at the resort after being picked up as arranged.
We where welcomed by Edz a lovely guy who gave us a our cocktail and explained all the deals they have and gave us all our information.
They then took,our luggage and showed us to our room.
The rooms are beautiful, very spacious with super king beds, lots of wooden furniture, super showers and outdoor jacuzzi and even robes and slippers!
The mini bat is very reasonable, cheaper than the hotel bar , our view was wonderful.
The dinners and breakfasts where faultless, the food was exquisite. Buffet breakfast, there was plenty on offer, the evening meals where superb, we also did the "5 gems of Asia meal", superb also.
You can save a bit of money by walking out of the resort and doing a right down the non light path/road and there are plenty of little restaurants down there (kooks was amazing) for less than half of hat you pay at the hotel.
The pool was fantastic, spent a couple of hours everyday in there, salt based pool, fantastic on the eyes and it's open 24hrs, which we did make use of after the odd meal,
The staff are wonderful, friendly and nothing is a problem, the resort is kept exceptionally clean.
We had a wonderful time and will defiantly being going back.
10/10 to the mangosteen
10/10 to GrabOne

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    286
    81
    40
    43
See reviews for
83
671
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naracoorte, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed after purchasing a Scoopon voucher. The resort is relaxing and quiet. The room we had was the royal jacuzzi balcony. Views were beautiful, could see the ocean and island from our room. The food was beautiful and the breakfasts were cooked to our request when we sat down. The large swimming pool is excellent and the water is warm which makes one want yo stay there all day. There are no shops close by if you like market shopping, patong or other places are your best bet there. There is a beautiful massage shop, which can be found as you turn right at the drive way until the end of the road and then left, cross the road and about twenty metres, there is a blue shop, two lively ladies work there , charge 350 baht for a massage. But I was so impressed with the Thai oil massage I paid 500 baht. I would recommended this resort to all workaholics and people who want a relaxing holiday to go here. There is free wi fi , which is great. Coral island and banana beach was fantastic , swimming with the fish and snorkelling. Tiger kingdom was amazing and the tigers were certainly not drugged. The marketing guys there were not the mafia, but they were very friendly and were quite helpful with suggestions of places to see. There was no pressure to take the timeshare offer.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms were higher and the views were wonderful , including the sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annmarie9659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

First impressions were good. Restaurant and bar staff very friendly. Food was excellent. However be aware of some serious overcharging compared to local shops. Ask more details on packages offered at Resort. Beware of surcharge and Vat which are not communicated upfront. Air con pathetic despite been notified three times but no notice taken. Not close to main attractions so taxi transport can lead to over budget. Daily shuttle to Nai Harn beach is very convenient and on time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaziek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A word of warning for those who like their hotels minimalist: all chrome and glass with no adornment. The Mangosteen is not for you!

The hotel oozes quirky charm and warmth. The rooms are huge, but the decor is so "comfortable" that they feel cozy. There is a lot of wood, on the floors and in the furniture, complemented with earthy tiles and pieces of pottery. Other reviewers have said the rooms are traditional Thai, but I got a definite European flavour too. The bathroom is very spacious, the towels glorious and the shower - with modern rain head - has plentiful hot water. We stayed in a Royal Garden Jacuzzi room, and the jacuzzi is in an outdoor/garden bathroom. We didn't use the jacuzzi - a bath tub size and shape with jets - so can't comment on it, other than to say its a nice setting. I know our neighbours used there jacuzzi, because I heard them when I sat on our terrace ... It made me a bit nervous to use ours! The beds were comfortable and the linen was clean and good quality. The gardens at the resort are lovely, and perfectly maintained. The rooms are cleaned daily by well trained, lovely staff. A huge plus is the extra little services provided to the room: fresh fruit daily and ice delivered each evening to the ice bucket. Fantastic.

The pool is ... Well quirky! It has the usual pool swim up bar and an infinity edge overlooking the hill onto the sea. In addition to a "normal" pool, there is an loop around the restaurant, a bit like a moat, which provides a circular swimming track that joins the pool. The pool surrounds are very nice and the furniture is top notch. The staff in the pool bar are great; always smiling and helpful.

The restaurant is good. We went to the Asian theme buffet and it was good, but not amazing. The breakfast was nice, particularly getting a cooked breakfast made to order. And ordered from the table when you sat down. What a great idea! The food was cooked fresh to order and hadn't been sitting in a Bain Marie for ages. Other hotels should adopt the same idea. Other reviewers have mentioned the prices are too high. They are certainly a lot higher than the local restaurants .... But that is to be expected. In comparison with the other resort we stayed in prior to the Mangosteen, the prices were equivalent with the exception of breakfast (which was much more expensive at Mangosteen). The club sandwich was very good, outstanding in fact, and was good value for money. The staff are lovely .... It seems to be a trademark of the hotel.

Beer, water and soft Drinks from the mini bar are super cheap! It actually isn't worthwhile bringing in your own. Don't bother. Spirits are expensive, but that is due to the high tax rate on spirits, and the prices are better than elsewhere. The prices at the pool bar are higher, but still reasonable (about $AUD 5) for a beer. But Happy hour runs from 3 to 6.30 with two for one, so that makes it very affordable.

The location is quite isolated. The resort is on a hill surrounded by vegetation. It has stunning views to the sea. The resort offers a shuttle to the beautiful Nai Harn beach three times a day. It's too far to walk. A short walk down the road (the one everyone comments about being terrible, but it's not that bad) brings you to a mini mart, laundry and a few restaurants. The food is ok, but just that. You won't find anything like Patong or Karon restaurants here. The Phuket Royal Yacht Club on Nai Harn beach is lovely, and about the same prices as Mangosteen. The resort Is a lovely relaxing environment, but won't suit those who want to party hard or shop. Of course, it's easy to grab a taxi and head out. Taxis charge a minimum 200 baht (about $7) and 600 baht to get into Karon or Patong. But who would bother, unless they had to go in to pick up tailoring like I did?

The spa is clean, great quality, but a bit expensive. Again, the prices are on par with comparable resorts and can't be compared to the el-cheapo salons down the road. And certainly not the beach massages. I had four massages over the week and enjoyed them all. The staff are excellent practitioners and - if you take a moment before or after the treatment - the rooms have amazing views. I didn't take up the offer for 500 minutes of treatments for about $AUD350 because I had already spent a lot at the tailors and the deal only permitted one facial in the package. For those who haven't blown their budget already and who enjoy pampering, it would be worthwhile to purchase the package as it is about half price.

Finally, a word about the Holiday Club/timeshare. Don't worry about it at all. The representatives will talk to you IF you agree. There is absolutely no pressure and if you are not interested, that's fine. We simply said we were not interested and that was that. In fact Cookie (our rep) was a lovely bloke who gave us lots of tips to help us enjoy our trip, and even bought us a drink.

Like a lot of other guests, we bought our accommodation through Scoopon at an enormous discount ... Bargain if the year! We could not get the room for our preferred dates and had to upgrade, but at a very reasonable price. No complaints at all.

If you are looking for a place with personality to relax and de-stress, I can recommend the Mangosteen.

Room Tip: They are all lovely, but better views for the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank donnapaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

First timers in Phuket and we got lucky that we booked Mangosteen Resort. Service is personalized by the German/Thai owners and their staff.

Yes it is on the quiet side of the island, closest by shuttle to the best beach on the island.
yes the road leading to the resort is full of potholes (Government's lack of maintenace) but the moment you turn into the driveway, it is smooth and easy - just like the rest of the holiday.

It is a "holiday vacation" property and we were prepared for the sales pitch. If you are into a yearly holiday and love the resort as much as we did, this wont be an issue. Listen and make up you own mind - there is no hard sell. enjoy the resort, hospitality, pool, spa, rooms and meals.

Take a walk outside to the right of the resort for a cheap and authentic meal at Kooks.

Use taxis booked by the resort - prices are cheap and guaranteed for the destination. Or scooter for $10 a day (not for us)

We will be back - thanks for a brilliant restful holiday

Room Tip: As my husband recently had a knee operation they relocated us to room 103 with minimal stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendylooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I bought a voucher from the internet for the Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, it was a very good price and a bit too good to be true. I was always told if it was too good to be true then generally it was. On this occasion that statement is not true, our stay was absolutely fantastic. The room - we were very happy with the room, the Air con was very effective and done it's job well, the shower and pebbled garden was a lovely touch, the mini bar in the room was cheap as, which was very refreshing compared to other places I have stayed. You have the option of upgrading the room for a small fee but we were that impressed with ours that we did not feel the need. Staff - The staff were some of the most helpful and friendliest I have ever come across, I have lived in three different countries and traveled all over the world with my job, the staff here are second to none and there happiness was genuine, it is good to see staff that are happy to work (The owners and management must be doing something right). We stayed over the Sonkran period (Thai New Year) what an experience, we felt a part of a very large family which I think would be hard to get anywhere else. The effort and hard work that was put into making us feel welcome and made sure we enjoyed our experience was exceptional, the interaction between staff and guest was indescribable and you would have to experience it yourself, I could actually go on for a lot longer but I do not want to spoil the surprise for others. To summarise, even from the second you arrive, nothing is too much trouble and it continues throughout your stay. YES we did sign up for the Mangosteen Club, to be a part of this family and all the club has to offer it was worth every penny, We are not rich and are on average salary and this club has made it possible for us to holiday at a much higher level than we though we would be able to, thank you ALL at Mangosteen for making some very special memories and I look forward to seeing you all soon.................Regards Jody and Leigh Goodlad

Room Tip: We were happy with our room but friends of ours upgraded to a Jacuzzi villa and did not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JodyandLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We loved our stay here the staff were wonderful and we got lots of exercise up and down the hill.
The township of Rawai was lovely, no where as busy as Patong Beach. We saw the Big Buddha while we were there and the beach actually has waves so I loved that! We met lots of people at the cocktails by the pool everyone was super friendly. If it's relaxation you want this is the place. On the downside they offered us free elephant ride and monkey show, this was disgusting and I feel the resort would do well to stop association with this place. Another downside for us was the power failures, there were 2 when we were there and took way to long to come back on. I would suggest they look into bigger or more generators. Neither downside or upside to us but beware there is a sales team attached to this place that tries to sell you accommodation all over the world, they are not overbearing but does put a bad taste on an otherwise wonderful stay, we wanted to stay at this place with another couple but they wouldn't allow it because of this.

Room Tip: we upgraded to get the spa on the balcony but it was just a bath type spa not a hot tub, but the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
487 reviews
7.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,787 reviews
2.2 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing