We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds, Terrible Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We returned yesterday after a fantastic trip in Thailand tarnished by unfortunately a not-so-great experience with our accommodation. Maybe we were just unlucky and the hotel had a comedy of errors with our stay but in the interest of being transparent and honest I have to post a negative review. This hotel is listed as 4 stars on trip advisor but our experience was far from this. Some things are very minute and very picky things but we stayed in the Royal Jaccuzzi Suite and therefore one would expect optimal service (regardless of where you stay youd expect this). We are both 24yrs old and I have personally travelled internationally and within Australia staying in accomodation from back packers to villages to luxury hotels and am basing my feedback on what you'd expect for your $$.

1. We booked through groupon based on emails saying they were available for our time period. We purchased the groupon and booked the next day...only to have our period unavailable - obviously dissapointed we were persuaded to pay to upgrade - Upon arriving our upgrade was no longer available so we were upgraded for free (for the 2nd time....could be a good thing, seemed a little disorganised to me)

2. Nobody helped us carry our bags up the steep stairs to reception. (very punitive I know but it is a highly rated accommodation and you'd expect some sort of baggage assistance).

3. Check in took what felt like forever and we were constantly being sold "deals" etc for the hotel - massage/spa vouchers, dinner deals, breakfast coupons etc etc

4. The room itself was nice however throughout our whole stay and despite being moved for the same issue...the Jacuzzi (included in the title of the room!!!) never worked properly. The first room the taps weren't sealed and the water wouldn't warm, also we couldnt get the tap to work (instead of the shower head). the second room the jets would work intermittently (we gave up trying to use it). The cleaning staff did however put some nice flowers in it for us which was appreciated.

5. We had to pay to get a power adaptor....I personally found this to be very frustrating as I can't remember ever having to actually pay for one in a proper hotel, usually you are given one to return on checkout.

We met with one of the English team members called Lee and he was very sympathetic and helpful however I think we were too far gone.

The rest of our trip was great and the tours they recommended were awesome however the accommodation itself...not so awesome. I hope we were just unlucky!

Room Tip: Room 306 - Great view!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 944 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We checked into Mangosteen resort and spa for our five day vacation - more importantly a babymoon vacation for my wife. As expected, we had hoped it would be one of a kind vacation. In light of this, I had booked a premium view room with jacuzzi based on Agoda reviews and pics, but what transpired on the ground when we reached the resort was very different - we were given a very average room in comparison to what we had actually booked. When we complained we were initially told that this was what we had booked. But once they realized that we could not be walked over, they began to blame the confusion on Agoda. Anyhow, they finally relayed to us that the room we had booked was unavailable at that moment and that we would be transferred to a new room after two nights. Thankfully they kept their promise and we were duly transferred. They also gave us a complementary spa to offset the inconvenience. When we finally thought that all was well, when we proceeded to check out they told us that a pair of slippers belonging to the hotel were missing from the first room we had occupied. This flustered me to no end since we had specifically noted upon entering the room that there were no slippers. This issue made me realize how third rate the customer service was at that hotel and that one cannot rely on the resort to deliver the kind of service you deserve.

Room Tip: If you can spend a bit the jacuzzi room overlooking the sea on the higher floor is a good option. Bu...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkandalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights at the Mangosteen in September. We loved the out of the hustle and bustle location of the hotel. It is close to one of Phuket's nicest smaller beaches - the Nai Harn beach - to which the hotel operates a shuttle service. We rented a car for 3 days and will definitely recommend doing that to see more of Phuket. The hotel was exceptional. The staff is so accommodating and friendly! We stayed in an upgraded Royal Jacuzzi Villa which is spacious, very clean and very comfortable with excellent air conditioning. We had dinner on a few nights at the hotel restaurant, which was outstanding. The Danish chef prepared a stunning seafood platter for us one evening. I can highly recommend the Mangosteen! The spa is of very high quality as well.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a Royal Jacuzzi Villa. The spa bath on the patio is great!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 7 nights in August 2013 on a voucher deal,from the moment we walked into the front foyer until the time we left , we had such an amazing time, the staff are fantastic with a special mention of Mon and Far you are great ,the owner is only to happy to come and have a drink in the arvo with you and answer any questions you have,and tell you of his plans for the resort.To the holiday promotion guys a big thank you we will see you all next year.from Brent and Karen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Mangosteen Resort was where we came to for the last week , of our Thailand holiday.Long drive from the airport but the transfer vehicle was comfortable and the driver was helpful and efficient...a crazie driver but we were belted in and felt safe!! The welcome drink was pleasant and we were quickly shown to our room...supposedly the top of their room options, the Royal Jacuzzi Room.Very dingie and dark although spacious.We spent the night then requested to be moved to a room with a view and Richard, kindly obliged.This room was upstairs, lovely view, spacious and outside jacuzzi bath on the balcony...private and very comfortable!! Much happier.Breakfast ok,the Thai porridge, delicious, cappucino's not good and an extra charge!The pathways are pretty but dangerously slippery when wet!!Our one complaint was the wakeup call that never came on our last morning,although I'd reminded the receptionist twice,so it was fortunate my husband set his phone alarm..just in case!Not bad but could be improved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 421wheretonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Mangosteen has a very nice pool area and the Thai staff at the pool and restaurant are very nice. We were having a great time until with timeshare sell, what was offered was intriguing and we were interested until we found out the prices and lock in periods.. We aren't in a position to afford it and once we said this, the staff got angry with us and even called us tightarses.. It was a real shame as we were having a great time up until this point. Even though the resort is not close to anything and extremely out of the way, I would have stayed here again but after the attitude of the staff I would not recommend it to anyone.. Sorry

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Reggie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The chef was excellent so was happy to eat there. The location is good for those needing relaxation without the noise of Patong. The bus only runs to the beach and back, would be good to add another location as well, be prepared to do some walking.
Staff were very friendly, however the reception girl needs to improve her English with the other to be a little more attentive and helpful.
Their Vacation Club deal is less forceful than the bullies in Patong, please be careful and google before you sign.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms are very nice except for tho old TVs that are outdated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,892 reviews
2.2 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $172 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing