We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit lived up to our memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Return visit lived up to our memories”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We first visited the Mangosteen in January 2010 and were thrilled when we were able to return. We had enjoyed our first stay here and had told many others about what a lovely place this was. We enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas - and the aspects of Mangosteen that make it different from the larger resorts.

Reading the reviews of other travellers I was a bit worried about what we would find... However our visit lived up to our memories.

The stand out aspect of the resort is the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff. Last time we were impressed when, after the first day the breakfast staff remembered our coffee order. Despite the fact that there are more guests now, the staff still made the effort to remember our order each day. The addition of some traditional Thai food at breakfast is a nice inclusion.

The pool is beautiful - and as a central feature of the resort is used to advantage. I agree with others who state that it is looking a bit tired, the bridges need repainting etc, but it is obvious that there are renovations and updates happening around the resort.

The villas are lovely - and I enjoy the outdoor shower/spa. We didn't find the rooms and furniture were musty as others have commented. The reviewer who complained about the old tv has a different idea of a holiday from me - I can't understand why you would want to watch tv with so many other options ... Our rooms were cleaned and refreshed quickly each morning - most times while we were at breakfast. Again, we found the house keeping staff very friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed exploring around the area more than we did last time, finding the great restaraunts at Rawai as well as returning to Nai Harn beach. The transfer to the beach is handy, although taxis are also quickly called.

Like others we had purchased a voucher, and we're expecting the 'hard sell' breakfast meeting. Our representative was delayed as he was signing up another couple, so when he finally came to speak to us we had finished breakfast and so were taken to see the two bedroom villa and then have the offer outlined to us. After listening we advised that the time wasn't right for us and were quickly let go. We didn't see our representative again. We weren't hassled during happy hour or other times during our stay.

The massages at the spa were very relaxing! The setting again makes the most of the natural beauty of the area. Having this included as part of the package was a bonus and the upgrade from 30 min to an hour is a must!

Our room was on the side of the resort without the great views, but we don't tend to spend time just sitting in our around our room, so it wasn't an issue. We upgraded to a spa/jacuzzi room, which we enjoyed. While we had requested a double, our room was a twin, with the beds converted into a double. This meant that there was a gap and ridge on the middle of the bed and a far larger edging on the base than if we had the standard double. It wasnt a huge issue ....

Our thanks goes again to the staff, who made our return visit to Mangosteen so enjoyable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    279
    80
    39
    43
See reviews for
82
656
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a wonderful time.Loved the pool.Weather was perfect.We had a hire car so no problem with the location.Thanks Mangosteen :)
We especially liked the yoga lesson. Food was great although we ate out most of the time.
Went to a great Italian pizza place near the resort,turn right at end of driveway and right again-not far down the road on the right hand side-great pizzas and grappa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoralHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We Stayed at the Mangosteen and had a great time the rooms are spacious and with the very high ceilings very airy - Outside rainforest shower was very special as was the spa bath. The cabins are very private no one could see in from our main window so we always had the view The staff are very helpful although English is not that well spoken - enough to get most things across We did the Thai cooking class with the main chef and his two other chefs plus helpers it was awesome all the kitchen staff are really helpful especially Mon you works some times at the pool bar Our room was well looked after thank you Gay and we even had a few massages etc at the spa very spoiled there too They have a bus (well truck with roof and seats) to run you to the beach and back which was very useful We went on a voucher so it was extremely good value would recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: I asked for a sea view and got a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We bought a voucher deal and it was the best decision we ever made. The resort is usually quiet during the day and at happy hour, it was a chance to chat with other travellers. We met the most interesting people and had a lot of fun with a special few. You got to choose whether you wanted to stay to yourself or mingle with others and it was far enough away from the hectic pace of some of Phuket's attractions but not too far that you couldn't walk, shuttle bus or taxi it to where you wanted to go. The rooms were lovely, clean and the staff couldn't do enough for you. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We also had brought a package deal and i think it was worth every penny! Our room was lovely bar missing any sort of sea view that was advertised but we still were very happy with it. Room serviced daily was nice and also attention to details. Happy hour was very social and we enjoyed meeting the other couples staying and making new contacts! We had a scooter for the week so getting around was no problem for us. Sales guys were great and what they were offering was very intresting+would suit many people. Elephant tour/moneky show worst part of experience, dont do it get a free dinner instead, would have called spca if possible. Overall thank you for having us, we will def be reccommending your resort to our friends. A special mention to MON the wonderful bar girl by the pool at happy hour, she made our day with friendly welcomes everytime, a valued member of the team, thank you MON!
Natasha+Luke. x

Room Tip: Anything with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Natasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely stunning setting. Rooms are staggered in a way that each had a view of the valley/sea and you felt like yours was the only room there. It is an adults only resort. No screaming kids to wake you in the morning, only the sounds of nature. The staff were super help full and really friendly. If you need a rest from the hustle and bustle of life - this is the place for you. If you are into clubbing and major shopping - you will have to get a taxi to take you to Patong beach.

Room Tip: We had ocean facing room with its own Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l3n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I surprised my partner on our tenth anniversary by purchasing a voucher deal for a week at Mangosteen Resort. This is the third time we have travelled to Phuket and rather than sightseeing the usual tourist hotspots, we planned to have a lot of R&R. As usual the Thai people (especially the staff at the resort) are friendly, warm and willing to please: the Land of Smiles it definitely is!
It's true that The Mangosteen needs a bit of an upgrade and is looking a bit tired. However, it is perfectly positioned on a southeast mountainside of Phuket with an absolutely stunning view of the Andaman sea, including a glimpse of Phi Phi islands on the horizon. Waking up to this sight each morning & watching the sun set over this glorious vista is one of the many memories we will take home with us. The villas themselves are spacious and adequate with their facilities - we at least had constant power & running hot water, which can often be a problem in Phuket! One criticism would be the need for a kitchenette in the rooms on those occasions when you don't want to go out for a meal. The open air restaurant is centrally located in the resort, we ate there most evenings and found the waiting staff to be very, very attentive and they tried very hard to communicate with more than adequate English (it never fails to disgust me how many non-Thai visitors expect everyone to speak fluent English!) it also gave me a rare and wonderful opportunity to practice my very sparse Thai! The food was varied and exceptional and we especially enjoyed the themed nights as well as the buffet breakfast. We also enrolled in a Thai cooking course offered by the restaurant chef, which was absolutely fantastic. We were taught how to create a three course Asian meal and the best part was getting to eat our finished product; very delicious!
The resort also has a wellness spa onsite, so we just had to have a treatment while we were there! We each had a one hour massage which was thoroughly calming and relaxing and just what we needed.
The swimming pool was lovely & we enjoyed quite a few Happy Hour cocktails at the swim-up bar.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay at a "3.5 to 4" star resort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
401 reviews
7.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing