We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I Booked the Mangosteen Resort on a voucher and paid for the upgrade, it was well worth it. This was our 30th wedding anniversary and a total surprise to my wife, she love it, the staff were helpfull and obliging, the Mangosteen made us feel special.The rooms were very large and comfortable and always clean. The breakfast needs more variety( Beans, Tomato and Onion and Mushrooms) The pool was great, the spa heaven. We hired a motor bike and explored all around Rawai and its beautiful beaches and restaurants the only way to go. If you feeling a little home sick for our food call in to DELISH CAFE 5/30 Fisherman Way Business Garden Chalong, Phuket, great food great company, thanks Greg & Liz for a great night. To summarise the Mangosteen great location good clean Hotel, great staff, will vist again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Royal Jacuzzi Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jock44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    279
    80
    39
    43
See reviews for
81
653
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mangosteen Resort after purchasing a very affordable deal on-line. When I made the booking via the internet, I requested a room with a sea view and asked if it was possible to have our complimentary 'candlelit dinner for two' that night as it was our wedding anniversary.
The day we arrived we asked the receptionist about dinner and she suggested we talk to the chef 'Daniel', which we did and he was more than happy for us to eat in the restaurant at short notice & what a delightful man he was. The meal by the way was exceptional, one of the best we had in Phuket!
We were also greeted by our ‘meeting rep’ Ian on our arrival who was very pleasant and helpful and made us feel very special. We organised to meet for breakfast the next morning for our 'talk and tour of the resort' which was part of the deal. This went well, but a bit of a waste of time for us as it was completely out of our price range, we told them that and no further pressure was put on us. My only complaint would be, that after our initial breakfast meeting, we had to endure listening to all the salesmen recite the same spiel every morning at breakfast and sometimes dinner, to all the other guests, which after a while sort of made you feel like you weren’t that special after all, as they said the same things to everyone – but I suppose that is what it was all about.
Our room was not what I would have called 5 Star & I would have been disappointed had I paid full price for it, but it was clean and comfortable, but very dated and I could have put my finger through the gap in the window, which isn't good when there are mosquitoes everywhere. Our hot water also went off in the last couple of days, but once we told reception, it was fixed that day. We were also disappointed to find we had single beds & that our room was at the lower end of the complex next to the road (no sea view which we requested) - my husband spoke to the receptionist and he was told if we wanted a double bed we should have requested it and there was nothing else available. I would have thought that in a hotel that advertises 'romantic getaway' and 'couples only' it would have been more natural to request 'single beds' if you wanted them?? We did speak to other couples in the resort, all of whom had double beds & none of them requested them, so not sure what happened there – we had booked this hotel 12 months previous. That same day, Ian said he should be able to get us another room, but we didn’t hear back from him after we declined his offer, but it didn’t spoil our holiday.
The resort itself was lovely with a beautiful pool area, lovely gardens, friendly staff & delicious food. There was a great choice of breakfast each day which lasted us through to late afternoon. If you wanted to go down to the shops and restaurants, it was a bit of a hike down a very badly damaged road, which we were assured was going to be fixed soon – I felt very sorry for the many taxi drivers having to go along there and the poor driver from the resort who took guests down to the beach each day – he was a lovely man who even offered to drop my husband and I off at the shops one day & said he would pick us up on his return if we were ready. We did hire a car and drove ourselves about, which was great, but the hotel can organise that and taxis for you if you want.
We were pleased that we had taken up the internet offer and we loved our stay at the resort, but we would probably not return there due to the distance from everything, but I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it to others. It is very quiet and private, away from the hustle and bustle, and they also have a gym and wonderful on-site Massage Therapists, just what you need on holidays!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyholiday08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying for a week at the Mangosteen Resort - wish I was still there!

Upon arrival my travel companion and I were greeted by friendly staff and the lovely pool. Happy hours daily from 3-6.30pm saw us sampling an ice cold Singha beer and chatting with relaxed guests who had been there for a few days. All comments and reviews from those were positive and they recommended things to see and do.

We took advantage of the free shuttle service to the markets on Monday and Thursday nights, ventured to the nearby Nai Harn beach, again a free hourly shuffle to/from resort.

Free Internet access made it easy to stay in touch with family, friends and news from home.

I highly recommend taking part in the animal towel folding lessons and you must do the Thai cooking lessons - a lot of fun, fresh food, easy to prepare and cook and you get to eat it all (if you can). Spoil yourself and have an hour full body massage - bliss!

To all the staff, receptionists, chefs, waiters, room service, garden ears, laundry and management - thank you all for a wonderful holiday - I cannot wait to return.

Cheers,

Sue Griffin (Australia)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Griff2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Mangosteen is very isolated of everything. When you are trying to find a place to relax it is very good thing. There were no kids and only couples so it was truly a place of relaxation and loading your batteries. You have to walk 5 minutes to get a nice priced taxi to go for dinner. The free shuttle goes to the beach and beach is quite nice but quite crowded.

We had the suite and it was really nice. Really spacious although the air condition did not work at the beginning, but luckily the service guys were able to fix it. Restaurant was really nice. The gym had very minimal equipment, but you can do something there if you are creative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosqito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oelstykke
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately, we only stayed for 2 nights at Mangosteen Resort, when arriving to Phuket for the now 4th or 5th time, this February 2013.

It is incredbly beautiful at Mangosteen, the pool is amazing and the sea view is constant everywhere you go in the resort, the restaurant, the lobby, the pool, the gym, the spa...everywhere what a location.

the most appreciated point of Mangosteen, was that it was quiet, very peaceful, that alone, is a rare option in Phuket's junle of tourists and traffic.


We stayed at a "royal jacuzzi villa", incredible Villa with splendid bath, jacuzzi and a view straight out over the sea. There were even a hammock attached to all thi villas as far as I could see, nice detail.

The facillity was flourishing with beautiful plants, flowers, palm trees. We really felt like being in a tropical heaven. Not like our previous trip to Phukiet. The element "Thailand" is often left out of the atmosphere in exchange of modern hip & chic state of the art minimalistic fashion. That was definitely a big bonus to see a hotel keeping focus on authentic Thai style de'cor and architecture.

The restaurant served a great and large sized breakfast buffet. Everything you'd wish for and they even had good quality rye bread. That is a rare one in all our holidays spend in SE Asia, spot on! I think they bake the bread in house. Also freshly made shakes, I think there were about 6 choices of freshly made shakes every morning (not common sight either).

It's very cosy in the evening with the outside dining and dim light. The quality of the food was surprisingly high for a remote resort. We even came back to eat there after we moved to another resort. They have some amazing buffets, with a wide variety of Thai dishes.

Staff gets a thumbs up for great service constant smiling, they even take the time to explan what you're having, while they serve the food, or if its the buffet, they walk arround and tell you what you're have on the plate. On top of that, the food arrived very fast.

We truly regret we only stayed 2 nights, because the rest of our planned trip was far from the same level as Mangosteen Resort. We will be back and the next time for more than 2 nights. That is definitely for sure.

Thaks for the great but short stay! Wish you all the best:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisOelstykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A truly pristine resort! They keep the salt water pool clean and the patio areas well kept. The road leading to the resort is terrible! We did hear that the government is repairing the road soon. The resort would be great for people wanting to relax. It is a little tucked away if you want to walk anywhere. A 10 minute walk will get you to some busy streets, one with a sidewalk but not much to do and the other street has lots of street vendors, restaurants and the seven-elevens, but be careful when walking. We like to explore things, so we would walk around and go on excursion. We bought a promotional value for $299 on the internet. Beware- it includes a "timeshare" pitch. They were not high pressure and didn't chase us around. That was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arrived here under no illusions (after reading other reviews) that it was quite 'tucked away' - however I didn't realise how much. In order to get to any other restaurants it's a good 15 minutes walk down a bumpy hill with virtually no lighting - not great at night. The 'welcome' at reception wasn't much to speak of but they soon came round and were quite sweet by the end of my three days.

The room was very large but very dated - and without doubt the least "Thai-influenced" room I've stayed in in a long time. Just beige and green walls and dated furniture, including a TV that wouldn't look out of place in the 70s...it was an enormous grey box with 'clunk click' buttons... I suppose that made it charming to an extent, but I had far higher expectations for a resort that charges such a high price. I had an 'almost perfect' view from my breezy balcony, but for wishing the trees would be trimmed down so you could see the sea properly.

The food in the restaurant was okay but not spicy - this isn't the resort's fault as many tourist hotels in Thailand think Westerners can't handle spice - however the menu's spiciest dishes were marked with 2 chillies and with my hand on my heart, there was no chilli that I could taste. Although that was disappointing, the staff in the restaurant were excellent - so friendly and smiling and charming, that it almost didn't matter (almost!). Good breakfast and varied selection to set you up for the day.

The best thing - as many reviewers have said - about the Mangosteen is the pool area, which is, quite simply, gorgeous. It's nowhere near as large as the photos imply, but it is beautifully done nonetheless and I spent a very pleasant day relaxing here and swimming laps around the figure of eight pool which goes around the restaurant. It's a real suntrap as well so that's good to know if you're a sun bunny.

The beach at Nai Harn was stunning on the first morning I went there - so I went again my second day. Magnificent seafood (and spicy!) at the little beachside cafes, and at Thai prices too. It's only ten/fifteen minutes from the resort and the free hourly mini bus is a blessing - the taxi prices arranged by the resort are high, as is the price of the food and the standard Thai massage (almost five times the price of a massage on the beach and the quality certainly wasn't almost five times better).

One thing to watch is the travel time to the airport. The receptionist assured me I would only need 45 mins maximum - in fact it took a little over an hour and a half and I missed my flight.

All in all, don't expect a great Thai vibe (or much vibe at all really), or spicy food, or Thai-style modern rooms - but do expect somewhere with extremely well presented grounds, a lovely evening breeze and a good night's sleep guaranteed by the remoteness of it all. I definitely wouldn't go back, but once I got over the disappointment of my room reminding me of a couple of safari-lodges I've stayed at in Africa (random!) I had a nice enough time and was able to recharge the batteries, which at that time was all I wanted. With a revamp on the decor, this place would be an absolute winner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenLN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
398 reviews
7.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing