We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and restful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent 7 days at The Mangosteen in mid Feb and enjoyed our time there. We got a budget deal with Groupon for $199 , when buying it we didn't realise there would be a catch ... a sales pitch, not timeshare but a "Holiday Club" . We had a free breakfast on day 3 and a 2 hour "chat" about the options with Ian, who was very nice, very informative and also knowlegable about where to go and what to see around the southern end of Phuket Island. Later in the week we had another "chat" to see what we'd decided .. a tad awkward but .. I suppose they have a job to do.The reps were a bit pushy with the sales pitch but in the end "No" sufficed....
We were unfortunate enough to get one of the older rooms in need of renovating, which we were told will happen next year, it was nice enough but the decor was very dark and lighting not adequate, if not in bed we had to sit outside to read.
We met some lovely people there and on the Thursday night 8 of us were treated to a night out with the owners of Mangosteen, Hajo and Rose along with Richard and Ian, 2 of the reps to "The Sunrise Bar" at Rawai .... What a great night we had, one we will all long remember. Hajo is a lovely , genuine guy, obviously trying to make the Resort work. After spending 5 nights in Patong on the way home we now realise and appreciate how nice the quiet end of southern Phuket is. You definitely need transport as the Mangosteen is quite isolated .. we hired a scooter for 250bht (About $7 50 aus) a day from a place on the main road ... worth bartering and shopping around for price.. We travelled to all the beaches, Phuket Town and Aquarium, Big Buddah and were able to explore lots of out of the way places. Definitely the way to go :)
Pro's Nice location in southern Phuket, free shuttle Bus to Nai Harn Beach which is beautiful, happy hour 3-6 30pm everyday.. 2 for one drinks at the pool bar , served by the lovely Mac :) Fab pool, very clean and big, caters for all.
Con's .. Isolated with no transport, the sales pitch, older style rooms needing renovation, wifi poor. Our room was at the bottom of 3 sets of steps ... would have preferred a room higher up.the hill.

Room Tip: Definitely hire a scooter to get around, Go and see Big Buddah ..Eat Seafood at Rawai buy fresh cook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Libra1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 973 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent a week at the Mangosteen Resort in Phuket. Had a great time - so relaxing - lay by the pool next to a bar with seaviews in the background. Food was lovely and staff really friendly. Rooms were good - they are being upgraded. Owner and his wife Rose were lovely - made you feel as though you were part of the family. Loved going to Nai Harn Beach with the hotel car/bus. Would go back there for sure - my hubby wasnt as keen as me although he enjoyed himself. One little tricky bit which we did not know was coming was being slightly cornered about timeshare options. However having said that - we were not pressured. The Indian Doctor at the spa was really helpful with my Dosha and helped me understand how my body worked and gave me a diet to follow to get back on track - no charge. Massages were wonderful too.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a seaview - one that you can actually see the ocean from a sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in October 2012, first time in Thailand and had the best time, All the staff were so helpful especially the lady on the reception and restaurant staff and the best barman "Tom Cruise" On our last night the owner and some of the staff met a group of guests at the bar at the beach at Rawai and do these guys know how to have fun.
Loved it all and are going back next year. S & S

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seamus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were booked into another hotel near the beach which we hated so promptly found this hotel and we all moved pronto, with no regrets.
Natty on the front desk was so helpful and spoke excellent English. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here (with the excetion of the young lad on reception late at night who was clueless).

The 3 rooms we had were all lovely and private with either a terrace or balcony. Our room had a jacuzzi on the balcony which was wonderful. All rooms very spacious.

Breakfast was lovely. Amazing coffee! Good variety of foods on offer all you could wish for.

Hotel offers a shuttle to the nearby beach and return to hotel to suit, which was brilliant.

The pool area was truly wonderful. Lovely sunbeds and the pool was spotlessly clean and maintained well. Macee at the bar was a lovely young man who couldnt do enough to help us.

Also had spa treatments which were amazing so would recommend booking in at the Spa for some pampering.

We loved our 8 night stay here and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The resort was a nice place in relation to the area/location.. BUT do not pay for an upgrade - we came on our honeymoon, arrived and had paid for an upgrade (which was confirmed with us a week prior by a member of the resort) we were taken to another room that was not what we were shown on the website !!! The hotel staff advised that it is first in best dressed with their rooms (even after we paid an extra $350 to upgrade) very disgusted as this was our honeymoon of all occasions and when we approached the owner (who supposably mingles with all the guests???) he did not apologise or speak to us once during the remainder of our stay which was for 7 nights - he went into hiding... The hotel would not refund us or even at the least suggest a complimentary breakfast or anything!! Very disappointing especially for a honeymoon. A few days later we did get to change rooms by the off chance that another couple were due to leave the resort. I will say the pool/bar worker Macky was a delight the best staff member at the resort. Overall, a nice quite place but disappointing service - we will not return or recommend !!!

Room Tip: upgrading not recommended as mentioned above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newlyweds304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

+ beautiful views
+ quite and peaceful place
+ helpful people
+ free wifi available from every place in hotel

- breakfast was poor and just the same every day
- location is quiet distant from shopping center and others beaches (it's about 600 bat to go one-way to patong center on taxi)
- restaurant offers just a short menu and it really expensive
- spa overprices
- rooms are a bit old, need to being renovating
- old fashionable TV

Room Tip: Best rooms are deluxe with spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was a great stay if you are looking for a relaxing place in the nature. Food was delicious, however, everything there is expensive but it was worth it. you can go to the local massage places next to it specially in Roua beach. very nice local places very cheap. the resort is 30 minutes away from patong beach but there are closer beaches for swimming or partying like kata beach or karon.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful they provide either an outdoor shower or an outdoor jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
15.9 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,125 reviews
25 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $162 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family owned and managed resort is unique in its style and location. With the owners always around, there is real boutique resort and personal touch to it, a perfect place for honeymooners or simply for romantic people avoiding the crowds. The resort mainly caters for adults, making sure the peaceful atmosphere remains uninterrupted at all times. Mangosteen is the only Resort in Phuket with a permanent, onsite Ayurveda Doctor. He is the architect and mastermind of all treatments, consults and surveys progress of your cure and leads the team to make your spa visits a success. At the Mangosteen Resort, guests can spoil themselves with a luxury holiday, combining this wonderful experience with real health benefits under professional supervision! The restaurant specializes in authentic home-style cooked Thai Cuisine and Mediterranean delights. Everything is freshly prepared, which means it does sometimes take a bit longer. Special requests are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing