We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent a week at the Mangosteen Resort in Phuket. Had a great time - so relaxing - lay by the pool next to a bar with seaviews in the background. Food was lovely and staff really friendly. Rooms were good - they are being upgraded. Owner and his wife Rose were lovely - made you feel as though you were part of the family. Loved going to Nai Harn Beach with the hotel car/bus. Would go back there for sure - my hubby wasnt as keen as me although he enjoyed himself. One little tricky bit which we did not know was coming was being slightly cornered about timeshare options. However having said that - we were not pressured. The Indian Doctor at the spa was really helpful with my Dosha and helped me understand how my body worked and gave me a diet to follow to get back on track - no charge. Massages were wonderful too.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a seaview - one that you can actually see the ocean from a sitting...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 945 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in October 2012, first time in Thailand and had the best time, All the staff were so helpful especially the lady on the reception and restaurant staff and the best barman "Tom Cruise" On our last night the owner and some of the staff met a group of guests at the bar at the beach at Rawai and do these guys know how to have fun.
Loved it all and are going back next year. S & S

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seamus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were booked into another hotel near the beach which we hated so promptly found this hotel and we all moved pronto, with no regrets.
Natty on the front desk was so helpful and spoke excellent English. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here (with the excetion of the young lad on reception late at night who was clueless).

The 3 rooms we had were all lovely and private with either a terrace or balcony. Our room had a jacuzzi on the balcony which was wonderful. All rooms very spacious.

Breakfast was lovely. Amazing coffee! Good variety of foods on offer all you could wish for.

Hotel offers a shuttle to the nearby beach and return to hotel to suit, which was brilliant.

The pool area was truly wonderful. Lovely sunbeds and the pool was spotlessly clean and maintained well. Macee at the bar was a lovely young man who couldnt do enough to help us.

Also had spa treatments which were amazing so would recommend booking in at the Spa for some pampering.

We loved our 8 night stay here and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The resort was a nice place in relation to the area/location.. BUT do not pay for an upgrade - we came on our honeymoon, arrived and had paid for an upgrade (which was confirmed with us a week prior by a member of the resort) we were taken to another room that was not what we were shown on the website !!! The hotel staff advised that it is first in best dressed with their rooms (even after we paid an extra $350 to upgrade) very disgusted as this was our honeymoon of all occasions and when we approached the owner (who supposably mingles with all the guests???) he did not apologise or speak to us once during the remainder of our stay which was for 7 nights - he went into hiding... The hotel would not refund us or even at the least suggest a complimentary breakfast or anything!! Very disappointing especially for a honeymoon. A few days later we did get to change rooms by the off chance that another couple were due to leave the resort. I will say the pool/bar worker Macky was a delight the best staff member at the resort. Overall, a nice quite place but disappointing service - we will not return or recommend !!!

Room Tip: upgrading not recommended as mentioned above
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newlyweds304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

+ beautiful views
+ quite and peaceful place
+ helpful people
+ free wifi available from every place in hotel

- breakfast was poor and just the same every day
- location is quiet distant from shopping center and others beaches (it's about 600 bat to go one-way to patong center on taxi)
- restaurant offers just a short menu and it really expensive
- spa overprices
- rooms are a bit old, need to being renovating
- old fashionable TV

Room Tip: Best rooms are deluxe with spa bath
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was a great stay if you are looking for a relaxing place in the nature. Food was delicious, however, everything there is expensive but it was worth it. you can go to the local massage places next to it specially in Roua beach. very nice local places very cheap. the resort is 30 minutes away from patong beach but there are closer beaches for swimming or partying like kata beach or karon.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful they provide either an outdoor shower or an outdoor jacuzzi
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having worked in 5* hotels most of my adult life this place was a unpretencious heaven. About an hours drive from the airport, down traffic laden roads. You turn off the main road & enter a bumpy laneway, that leads to the entrance. A welcome smile, a cold drink & refreshing towel set us up for a great honeymoon. The challet's,are clean & airy, have all that you need for your stay, a great out door style shower, seperate W.C & basin. A comfortable king size bed in a slplit level room, which are larger than a standard room at the Hyatt. A/c was just right. All the rooms are set in a wonderful quiet garden setting perched on the side of a hill, with veiws. The restaurant is open all day,with mixed cuisine for all pallate's. The large salt water pool and swim up bar is excellant, especially around happy hour. Where you can meet other guests. Even have a snack. The spa & massage room must not be mist, if you lick the gym there is one also.
Breakfast is a must to set yourself up for the day.
You are invited to do a tour of the rooms & grounds with the friendly sales staff, but it's up to you, Keep an open mind & it will enhance your stay. They have the local knowledge use this, you will be pleasantly suprised.
A courtesy bus goes to the beach on the hour & returns on the 1/4 hour by arrangement. Bars & restaurants are every where.
A fine location for a great vacation/honeymoon. If you want mayhem & the beach on your doorsteep with drunks & out of order teens this is not the place to come.
To sum it up, we will be returning to paradise in the not so distant future.

We thank you all. H & G

Room Tip: Look on the web site and choose, we had room 107, it's all we needed. Clean, quiet, sunny,comfor...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,895 reviews
2.2 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $172 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing