We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful friendly Place to eat”
Review of Le Celtique

Le Celtique
Ranked #23 of 242 Restaurants in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This Year 2015 Le Celtique Will Be Closed On 17 August Until 30 September
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Beautiful friendly Place to eat”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Steak Tatare is out of this world along with all of the other dishes, I love Le Celtique

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    38
    5
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rawai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great steak tartare.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

An enjoyable experience for a group of 16 celebrating a birthday. Friendly ambience and good service, good value as well. For those who like steak tartare, this was one of the best I have ever eaten. I will return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent French and Thai food”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

12 years ago I first visited Le Celtique, when they were located in Kata Beach. 4-5 years ago they moved to Rawai, and we still visit them on a regular basis.

Betrand is the French owner/cook, excellent cook. Lek is the Thai owner/hostess, and she does a good job of that.

Quite often we have returning guests who not only return to us for diving but also to Lek and Bertrand for their cooking. They are also well known in the French expat community: excellent food, extensive menu and very reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank stevenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pro & friendly”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

At the French style , head of veal sauce gribiche, stew blanquette, soupe de poissons, very nice list of buckwheat and wheat crepes, wines sympatic with reasonable prices for thailand, thai smiling service but distracted,
Old fashioned plate presentation (flower in tomato, and ratatouille every where) but delicous and very generous food.
Atmosphere friendly with a lot of Phuket expat.
A very pleasant place for a change of scenery.
We come back, sure...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank gcbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unbelievably great”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had a fabulous time at "Le Celtique". We went there on Sep 28th 2011 for my wife's birthday and we were 10 persons.
Here is what I liked:
+ The dishes tasted as good, if not better than in France. I am French so this is based on 24 years of food experience in France. We ordered various dishes and I got to try the following: tartiflette, mussels & french fries, lamb kebab & veggies and french style pancake with cheese & ham. All of theses dishes were just perfect. My wife is also quite demanding when it comes to food. She was mesmerized at Le Celtique.
+ The amount of food for each dish is quite generous
+ The Thaï lady (wife of the French cook) who waited on us could speak both French and English, and she was extremely friendly and very accommodating for those of us who had some allergies.
+ They managed to serve the dishes of the 10 of us, all at the same time. This is so much better than most other restaurants in Thaïland where one customer is served and then the other one gets his food only like 5 minutes later and then yet another 5 minutes for the following ...
+ The price is unbelievable. They import their ingredients from Europe and yet they manage to keep the price about one third of what it would be in France. For instance the tartiflette was about 360B = 9€. I would have paid something like 30€ in a French restaurant in France. It's also at least half cheaper than other French restaurants in Phuket from my searches on the internet. It's possible to eat there for as little as 100B (Thai food), 200B (pasta dish) and up to 500/600B for the most expensive French dishes.
+ The ambiance is very cosy with nice furniture and great waitresses.
I will certainly return to this restaurant whenever the opportunity arises.
It's a bit difficult to find in a back street in Rawaï (look for the yellow signs), but definitely worth the effort.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Yves216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Celtique also viewed

 

Been to Le Celtique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing