We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down”
Review of HockHoeLee

HockHoeLee
Ranked #31 of 236 Restaurants in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: HOCKHOELEE Coffee offers finest fresh roasted coffee in Phuket island. We are also the 1st coffee shop opened on island since 1958 ! Try our signature original roasted blend & feel how awesome it is to sip great coffee on this beautiful island !
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A let down”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A very nice looking coffee shop at the side of the road on the way to Rawai, so we thought worth dropping by for a caffeine hit.
The service is hopeless. The staff barely speak and never crack a smile. Very robot-like.
The espresso was exceedingly bitter. Iced Thai tea was almost OK, nothing special. The Mocha was covered in chocolate sauce - very Thai! All in all the drinks were not up to scratch.
We won't be visiting again.

oh, and the wifi didn't work ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruengrit p, Manager at HockHoeLee, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi,

We are sorry for any dissatisfaction you experienced. We value your feedbacks and acknowledge the fact there are certain areas we need to work on about the staff.

Regarding the bitter taste coffee, we take this matter seriously. If our coffee does not suit your taste, we can adjust at the brewing process especially for you. It only need some extra attention to take care of. Had we known it how you like, we would have prepared your coffee better.

However, if that was not the case, the espresso was plain wrong. Please ask staff to make a new one. No extra charges. Thanks for visiting our store.

Sincere,
RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    35
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very Melbourne indeed”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Someone else gave this coffee shop the highest compliment possible - they stated that it was 'very Melbourne'. True indeed. Tastefully appointed with a unique 'own brand' coffee. Espresso was excellent. Good balance of dry and acidic notes. Flavour lingered pleasantly. Fast service. Reasonable prices. Where most other coffee shops on Phuket are rubbish, these guys are at least doing it right.

Helpful?
1 Thank Expert_adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good to get a decent latte.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice little cafe, good coffee, pleasant and helpful staff though not overly friendly or outgoing. Had a toasted sandwich that was just what I needed. All good! Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sashaauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No smiles service”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a shame! We have lived on the island for nearly four years and we had not been to this coffee shop before, and won't again. As soon as we walked in, there was no welcome from the staff member on duty. No smile. We looked at the menu and asked if we could have pancakes just with banana, the woman, still without a smile 'You get what on picture!' We ordered some drinks while we were still choosing our food, which she could have started to make, but she didn't she waited there with her sour face. I wanted to leave straight away, but I really wanted a coffee. She was not going to make that until we had ordered food, so I didn't bother ordering food.
My wife asked the girl if we had done something wrong, but she said 'noooooo!'
We got the coffee and 'plain' pancakes. There was no atmosphere while we drinking and eating and we were very glad to leave the place. Even when I asked for the bill in Thai, she still didn't want to talk to us or SMILE.
Coffee good, service with a smile - NO

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruengrit p, General Manager at HockHoeLee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We apologize for any dissatisfactions that happened. However, when you ordered 'Banana Pancake Bacon', we cannot reduce the price even if you did not want the bacon. Our staff are native Thais and speak English as secondary. We have reviewed the case with the staff involved. There was no intentions to make offensive responses but an attempt to make a clear explanation of what you would receive after you pay.

Should you have other questions, please contact manager directly.

R P.
HHL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coffee to bring home with you!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We walked up the busy highway twice to grab a coffee here! Excellent coffee, consistently good, even took a bag of beans home in our luggage! Didn't try the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank karmakiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HockHoeLee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing