We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”
Review of RaTaNa Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Clean and good place to stay at heart of Chalong Phuket. Sauna was the best thing for me and also swimming pool area was really nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed there for three nights. Room was big and nice with safetybox and fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susarope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel was good. Room was clean and big enough. Pool was ok. There's no beach near, but we knew that so it was ok. We stayed two times in this hotel, before and after going to the sea trip. No breakfast was included in the price, that wasn't very nice. The hotel staff didn't spoke good English, that caused couple of bad situations, disappointments in couple of things, because they didn't understand the basic hotel vocabulary. Cocks/roosters yelled very much during the night, so it was pretty hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We, my wife (Debbie) and I found this hotel very nice, a bit more pricey than other hotels in the Chalong area but you get what you pay for (we did).
We were in the sea view room (401, for four weeks), not a bad view.
Duuring our last (April 2012) holiday in Phuket Debbie did abit of research and found this hotel, Deb chose it as it was in an alright spot, we were aware of the road. So if the road or the view is a problem, maybe people should do a little homework first. Not complain after because they couldn’t be bothered.
Front office staff was always helpful, cheerful, always smiled and said hello. (as was night staff), spoke good English we don’t speak Thai.
Could not say the above for some of the guests that we encounter.
Our house maid was trustworthy, honest and did an impressive job.
Pool was saltwater no sore eyes from over use of chemicals, but the hours were up and down?
We never used the restaurant as there is plenty of choices in the area as like most hotels the prices may of been a little higher than out in the street.
Gym looked great, that’s as close as I got.
We had 2 half-hearted concerns.
1: had to but down 1 months’ rent in bond, which was returned after water & elect was taken out the day we left, what was returned was about what we through we may get back.
We were awhere of this as it was explained to us in April. We but this down to the hotel has had problems with past guests?
2: were left at the airport the night of arrival after e-mails were sent to confirm our arrival date and plane time, but this was miner as there’s one or two taxi’s out there.
We would not have a problem staying here again.
Kindest regards to staff
John & Debbie

Room Tip: Do your research before your stay in Thailand or other destinations; don't complain after becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Mr.John and Ms.Debbie, We would like to thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate you taking time to share your kind review. We are so happy you did have a good time with our staffs and our apart-hotel. We also were glad we had such nice guests as you both. Regard to airport transfer when you arrived, we apologize for our mistake and misunderstanding about date and time to pick you up at the airport. We will check more carefully next time. On behalf of the entire staff of Ratana Apart-Hotel @ Chalong, we sincerely thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to our apart-hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

In short:
If you want a decent place to stay (and are out in the morning and back late, e.g. diving), you know your way around and do not expect extraordinary service, this is a good place to be. I might come back there when doing my instructor course.
If you look for a resort like feeling, pampering service and all amenities of life in walking distance, then this might disappoint you.
I stayed in the Ratana for 3 weeks during part of my divemaster course. I was looking for something decent with an affordable price, close to the pier in Chalong.
Let me outline the place:
Rooms are rather new, nice and well furnished. Most come with a large fridge, Microwave and water kettle. The larger ones (Seaview and 2 Bedroom even with a small cooking facility).
The hotel is on the large (4 lane) road between Chalong and Rawai, with a cheap labour camp on one side and some rather cheap looking houses and a school on the other.
In short: forget any kind of view, except for the seaview rooms on 4th and 5th floor, which are overlooking chalong bay, but once you go on the terrace, you still have the noisy road ahead of you. All windows are isolated, so once you close them, there is no noise from the streets. Thats a big plus.
The restaaurant is, well, lets say not that great. I had dinner twice when I came back late and was too beaten to go out. Okayish food but with a price too high for the setting.
There is a supermarket on the front side of the Hotel which caters for all basic needs and a 7/11 and a Tesco Lotus down the road for the bigger shopping.
The hotel can arrange laundry, bike rentals, massages and transport. Internet (WiFi) is currently free. No great speed, but good enough to stay in touch.
I was quite happy with it, but can understand some of the complains voiced by others. Depends on what you expect really.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are nice, followed by the deluxe rooms. Standard rooms are ok, but quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratanaapart, Manager at RaTaNa Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Dear AlexK01, On behalf of the entire staff of Ratana Apart-Hotel @ Chalong, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate you taking time to share your kind review. We are glad to hear that you have been satisfied with our room, facilities. Nevertheless,we will continue to strive for better service to meet guest's expectation.
Thank you once again. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you to Ratana Apart-Hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays and we regret that we did not pay a little extra for a better hotel in a better location. Here are some serious issues about this hotel.

First and the most important is the attitude of the staffs, except the lady at the reception (Jenny) everyone else is extremely rude and unhelpful. The guy at the reception has absolutely no communication skills and very rude at times. Do not bother asking them direction or guidance as you wont get any.

The first night we arrived there was a little stain on the duvet sheet, it was really late at night and we couldn't be bothered with it. The next night when we returned the stain was still there and the day after, when we asked the cleaning lady if she has changed the linens she said they don't do it everyday so we had to actually ask for this to be done. This is very poor. The bathroom "amenities" as advertised in their website consist of a small bottle of body wash and a tiny bottle of shampoo. When we first arrived very late at night, we asked for a bar of soap to wash our hands with, the lady at the reception expected us to use the body wash as soap. She was extremely rude and left us talking to herself in their own language sounding very rude and disrespectful. The body wash wasn't even enough for two people to take a shower let alone using it to wash hands throughout the day. Luckily there was a supermarket just next to the hotel and we purchased our soap, tooth paste, a large bottle of body wash etc from there at midnight when we arrived. Imagine you get to the hotel tired after a long trip from the airport (takes at least one hour) and then you have to go buy things that you expect to find in any hotel. The airport is right at the top north of the phuket island and this place is right in the south so imagine how far you have to travel.

Location of the hotel is pretty bad. we had to hire a scooter. It is about 30 minutes drive to Patong and a good 20 to Karon beach. Its fun riding a scooter but imagine after 30 minutes in bumpy roads of Phuket once u get to Patong you need a full body massage. There is no good bar, restaurants nothing nearby so you have to travel that far everyday at least twice unless you plan to go to nearby islands during the day and want to use the hotel as a base somewhere to sleep at nights and you don't really care how you are treated.

Luckily we spend only a few days at this hotel and we spend the rest of our holiday in a beautiful resort in Karon. we paid twice as much as we paid here and we regret that we spoilt our first few days at this hotel. I do not even give it two stars. The lady at the reception (Jenny) was lovely though, the only good thing about this hotel and this is it. I think the management should seriously think about gaining some customer service skills and how to talk to guests in a respectful manner and then pass this on to their staff. I can understand if they can not speak good English, this was not an issue for us, but you can always make people feel welcome by your body language, you can at least smile.

We stayed at 6 different hotels during our three weeks holiday in south east Asia and this was our only bad experience.

Overall I would suggest to anyone considering to stay at this hotel to think about it twice. I would pay a little extra and get a hotel in Karon. Karon is much better than Patong. Much more cleaner, and less busy. Lots of good restaurants and anything you want can be found in Karon area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratanaapart, Manager at RaTaNa Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our facility. Also I sincerely apologize that some of our staff was not up our standards. I have addressed these concerns with our staff and we will be taking steps to improve upon your comments. your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.
Thank you once again and We would love to have you come back and stay with us again, as you may have noticed when you were here we have had the better services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here over the new years break for two nights. Yes, the rooms are modern and nicely appointed but lacked the basic hotel necessities like soap and hand towels (we only received two towels). When we checked in, our drain in the sink was clogged with what i believe was the vomit from the last hotel guest, however the staff fixed this in a average response time.. The hotel staff are completely useless. I believe its run by a family, the older woman/mother works the day shift, and then her teen son covers the desk at night. Forget about asking for any advice, or suggestions for food or transportation, you will not get far with them... As for the location, this was the worst part of the stay. Let me state the truth of the location, it's located in Chalong Bay, off a busy 'hwy/avenue'. It's 10 KM from Rawai Beach and about 30-40 minutes drive in traffic to Patong/Karen beach areas. There's nothin at all in the area, just a small strip with a few other small hotels/apartments and cheap bars. I find this hotel more of a short term apartment rental because of the lack of service and location. Btw, it will cost you 800-900 baht to get to the airport by taxi (1 hour drive) since there no mini bus that will drive to this area.. .in comparison its 150 baht to take the mini bus from the airport to patong/karen/kata... We regret not staying better location near kata beach.....

Room Tip: if you plan on renting scooters, the hotel only has two of them, and chances are they will be alread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelling1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratanaapart, Manager at RaTaNa Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you Mr.Toronto for your review. I would like to apologize for the inconveinences you experienced during your stay with us at Ratana Apart-Hotel. After reading your comments, I did address the cleaning issues with our staff and also wan to let you know that I have addressed about guests requests, providing information to guests with my staff. We will improve on your areas of concern. Again thank you for your patience and understanding and we hope you will continue to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

+Great location
+Great value for money
+Gym

-Gym (one multimachine with broken cables)
-Restaurant (weird russian menu
- MUST BE THE WORST INTERNET CONNECTION IN HOLE CHALONG FOR CUSTOMERS

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
1.9 mi away
Miracle House
Miracle House
#20 of 43 in Rawai
41 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
3 mi away
Monaburi Boutique Resort
3.6 mi away
The Title Condo by TropicLook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RaTaNa Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RaTaNa Apart Hotel

Address: 97/64 Wiset Road Rawai Phuket | Rawai Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Price Range: $26 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — RaTaNa Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your RaTaNa Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RaTaNa Apart Hotel Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing