We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS”

A Spoonful of Sugar
Ranked #15 of 243 Restaurants in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the most unusual and delightful coffee shop you'll find anywhere! The decoration is so tasteful and always uplifting to see pretty floral prints on the table cloths and cushions. There is an outside covered area, and an inside air con area - plus free WiFi. The coffee is delicious, and the large range or home made cakes are irresistible. It's hard to keep away :-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    75
    14
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good cake, brilliant coffee”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Quaint setting, marvellous selection of beverages and cakes. Ðefinitely stop by if in Nai Harn area.

Helpful?
Thank karmakiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A yummy treat!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Coming from Melbourne, I wasn't about to diss the coffee or expect it to be great so I had a mango and passionfruit freezy instead and that and the lovely cakes that we all chose were all delicious. This place is very clean, comfortable and a must-see when in the area. Da Vinci's is very well known almost opposite this place so is a good landmark for the tuk-tuk or taxi to get you there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spoonful of heaven”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I'm not a cake eater at all, in fact I really don't like cakes, they're always too heavy, too cloying, too dry or just too sickly sweet. So for me to rave about cakes means they've GOT to be good, and Spoonful of Sugar isn't just good, they're melt in the mouth, moreish, light-as-a-feather aMAZing. I don't go there too often because quite simply, I don't want to ruin it by having too much of a good thing (and if I ruined this I'd never forgive myself). The whole place is like a US coffee shop in San Francisco or Boston - really light and airy, lots of places to sit and chill, no rush to finish, comfy seats inside and deck/porch table and chairs outside. There's even a big old swing on a big old tree in the parking lot! All the cakes are made fresh that day by the staff and once they're gone, they're gone. I've never had cakes like them. Ploy who runs the place apparently studied cake making for 8 years in Boston and is a genius quite frankly - I've had the Strawberry Cheesecake, the Carrot Cake, the Brownies, the Orange Cake and then my FAVourite, the Panecotta - it's SO light, so creamy without being sickly or cloying, so smooth, and then they top it all off with fresh fruit pieces, it's heaven in a dish. They do all the coffees, teas and smoothies as well and they're all made to perfection. And the best bit... it's SOOOO cheap, if you bought these kind of cakes in London you'd pay an arm and a leg for them, at LEAST a fiver each. Basically, if you're visiting the south of Phuket, travel down toward Nai Harn beach, look out for the US beach-style house on the left and TREAT yourself. You definitely won't regret it :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummy Treats avoid the coffee”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great little spot with yummy cakes and a good cafe drink menu, but I didn't rate the coffee

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thatkiwijoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Spoonful of Sugar also viewed

 

Been to A Spoonful of Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing