We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel staff EVER - DON'T STAY”
Review of Phuket Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I am currently checked into this hotel. It has been less than 24 hours and I have received the worst treatment from check in to just asking for a sheet of paper. The bed has a ripped top sheet and even though the housekeepers came and re made the bed, they still left the ripped sheet there.
If I hadn't pre paid the accommodation, I would have never checked in. They demanded $50 deposit for the room key. However she told me in Thai baht and I asked how much in $, as I have both, the manager said 30 baht, So I handed over 30 baht, receptionist scoffed & laughed at me and said 'Don't you even have $1 US"? I gave her $10 US, she said.."no, its $50 US". Then they spoke to each other in Thai and were laughing. This is unacceptable.
I checked into the room and called for a wake up call & enquired if they had a hair dryer. "no have" then she hung up before I could even ask my next question. The manager, who is always at the front desk is unbearable and one of the rudest men I have ever met. DO NOT STAY HERE. Many nice places around.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool have no privacy and u must keep your heavy, dark curtains closed, otherwise ev...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hercues801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rungnapa Y, Manager at Phuket Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much indeed for stayed with us and thank you for your review.

We must apologize that you are not happy with our service. Your review is raised in our meeting and we have talked with our staff should learn from this issue and should improve the service in the future.

Best Regards,
Rungnapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is a good option for someone with not very deep pockets..

We had a lay over at this resort only for a night since we reached phuket late night and had to checkin to a different better & expensive resort the next day, so we found of opting for this place just for a night considering it was a good low budget option.

The hotel is decent with really good swimming pool view, since all their rooms entrances are on the pool side.
The rooms were neat and average. Basically a a standard room with comfortable bed, cupboard and mirror. The bathroom however was disspointing cause the water pressure was extremely low and bath fitting were not in a very well functioning condition. But yes the bathroom was clean.

The locaton of the hotel hoever is not very great, infact we had strippers joint just across the street here. But i guess people with different interest may enjoy this too.

All in all i would say an average but good experience.

Room Tip: I would say if you can increase your budget a little opt for thier suites type of rooms rather than...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyankaLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked four nights here including Christmas day during our three week Thailand trip as we wanted some quiet time over the Christmas period.
We found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful - even changing our room from a double to a twin without hesitation.
The rooms were large and clean with all the necessary faclilties.
The pools are large and during our stay only one was in use at a time whilst they were undergoing a cleaning treatment.
The hotel is opposite the ocean and Rawai beach, although you cannot bathe on Rawai beach. The hotel runs a free bus service to a nearby beach but you need to make your own way back in a taxi. There are no metered taxis at the beach but you can barter with the taxis to get a fairly low price. I think we paid 300 THB
There is a great bar next door to the hotel called Bentleys where the staff and regulars are very friendly. If you are male and don't want to be propositioned then its best to go in with a female.
There are plenty of resteraunts along the main road and you can take a taxi boat over to Coral Island for a few hours. If you go after 1pm you can get a lower price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilelikeyoumeanit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

i wouldn't stay here ever again.

it wasnt very clean, the hotel sheets were stained and dirty. found dead insects in my pillows and around the place.

the staff wasnt the friendliest. seemed like they couldnt be bothered with their jobs.

the pool had lots of leaves and stuff floating around as if it werent ever cleaned.

the lounging chairs were old, discolored and nothing like the photos advertised. it was a very unkept place in a dodgy part of town.

worst part was, the cleaning staff stole money from our room, and when we went to reception to report the theft, we were treated as if we had done something wrong.

id avoid this place if i were you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetrose11236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were there around in the beginning of November. Must say that the maids were not so helpful but overall administration was ok. We got baby bed/cot in our room it was not wooden but old looking metal - not bad at all tho. Pool was nice but the night time noise was irritating from the next room. Breakfast was nice and I loved the Crossants. 7-eleven was close by and nice promenade to walk on. Good local food on the restaurant tables on the promenade.

Room Tip: Don't forget to lock the doors.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First thing i can say during my stay in this terrible resort is....... "The Resort Manager couldnt give attention to the complains and needs of the guests." he always smoke and smoke even infront of the guest no more says about the needs of the guest. second "The bed sheets and covers have a lot of stains, bad smells of the room, aircon doesnty work even a little good, no wifi in the room, hair dryer will be in the front office terrible you have to walk before you can use the hair dryer. third " The lady in the front office who is wearing a big clear eye glasses is always on facebook even i am enquiring such things in reception. foods in the restaurant was terrible taste. it cant eat by a normal one. This is not a resort to value a mopney you pay for... This resort is not recommendable for those who wants to stay in Rawai Area. the pool is not so good its not clean. Over all this resort is so much terrible to stay.

Room Tip: Dont Stay in this resort "NO VALUE"
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Apparently this hotel changes name a fair bit as I know it as the Phuket Sea Resort but in Trip advisor seems to be listed as the Maalai Resort.

Was looking for a hotel reasonably close to Promthep Cape and close to Wat Chalong and this hotel seemed to fit the bill.

Excellent walk in price in low season (around 1,100 Baht) with good sized, clean rooms arranged around a central pool. The price includes breakfast which was a bonus.

Only stayed the 1 night but if I was planning to stay in Phuket longer I wouldn't have hesitated staying at this resort longer as well.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GuruB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rawai hotels
1.0 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Title Condo by TropicLook
0.5 mi away
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rawai Grand House
Rawai Grand House
#25 of 43 in Rawai
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Monaburi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Sea Resort

Address: 54/14 Moo 6 Rawai Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Maalai Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $27 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the hectic city life and discover an ultimate privacy at Phuket Sea Resort. The recently opened Phuket Sea Resort offers stylish accommodations on the tranquil Rawai Beach, an earliest beach resort for the Phuket locals. The resort is just 10 minutes drive to Phromthep Cape, a famous landmark of Phuket for viewing a spectacular sunset. Situated on the beach front, Phuket Sea Resort commands the vista of the sunrise. You can also stroll along the pine-trees lining beach where fishing boats are berthed and observe the locals' daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalai Hotel Rawai
Phuket Sea Resort Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing