We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An invitation to transform mind body and soul - 6 stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rawai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atsumi Retreat Healing Center
Ranked #10 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Rawai
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An invitation to transform mind body and soul - 6 stars”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Dear Anna, Sophie and the entire Atsumi team......

I spent a long time before my planned solo holiday researching for the best possible place in Thailand to offer holistic healing of mind, body and soul... I had reached a point in my life when I needed to radically change my eating habits, de stress and in short re-haul my body and heal myself.... No stranger to an active and sporty life style - your brimming activity calendar - circuits, yoga, Pilates, tai chi, beach, mountain walks and the entire fasting and detox programme made my selection as destination of choice an easy one....There was not even one moment during the entire 10 days that I regretted my choice...

I undertook a 4 day fast and 3 days raw diet and lost 4.5 kgs combined with the non stop activity calendar, daily massages and colemas.... I feel my life is now back on track, am visibly lighter, with a wash board stomach, my skin is glowing and I feel an energy, clarity and sense of optimism that had lost its way before.....

I cannot stress enough the value of your kindness and generosity.. The smiles of the colema and fasting team - no request was too big, everything was delivered efficiently, professionally and with a warm smile... My entire 9 days at Atsumi including personal training, an additional detox package and an invaluable Chinese medical consultation on top of my lovely accommodation and full massage and fasting package came to around 100 pounds a day... It is the best and most affordable investment offering outstanding value for money that I have ever made......

Daily free shuttles were offered to the beach - only 10 minutes away where additional massages and treatments could be purchased...the beautiful, luscious green and peaceful setting of Atsumi offering a cool and energizing escape from the chaos of our daily lives.... The bonding experience with other like minded individuals offering additional healing and support....

I am planning to return in late December and will combine this with an additional tour of Thailand...my fridge is full of healthy vegetables and fruits and strangely it's been 2 weeks since my last cup of coffee....I am rested, rejuvenated and detoxed and cannot thank the Atsumi team enough... Whilst my will power brought me to Atsumi - your healing nature has helped rebuild me physically and mentally... I cannot thank you enough....Perhaps when I return - you could kindly offer me a slot to teach salsa at one of your evening activities... ? Very difficult not to fall in love with a place like Atsumi and its people... I felt strangely drawn to everyone who showed me kindness even with that smile which in this day and age is sometimes so hard to come by....

Value for money and time 6 stars... Quality of accommodation, cleanliness, treatments and
therapists 6 stars ..... If you want to heal - please come to Atsumi - it is the best decision I have ever made.... I think I am still suffering from Atsumi withdrawal symptoms ..... But that is good because it tells me the journey was a very profound one which can only continue now that I am home...I will be keeping you posted on my progress.. My goal is to loose another two stone, around 10 kgs in the next few months...and I will be back.. Monika - Atsumi May 2013

Room Tip: Stay on site at atsumi - it is a little more pricey but you do wake up surrounded by green foliage a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C, Guest Relations Manager at Atsumi Retreat Healing Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review Monika, it was an absolute pleasure having you here at Atsumi. I am so happy that you achieve so amazing results. And thank you for highlighting the benefits of our additional therapists who offer deep and powerful sessions. You did great job here at Atsumi and I congratulate you for your hard work and commitment.
And I am so glad to hear that you will come back soon. we will plan a new salsa evening with you ! You are glowing when you are dansing :-)
Stay heathy and take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    27
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
104
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I first heard about Atsumi Retreat Healing Centre from one of my Nutrition clients. I had designed a detox program for her, which was getting her fantastic results, but she needed a deeper cleanse. She visited Atsumi and told me that it changed her entire outlook on life.

With this said i needed to see it for myself. Being a Nutritionist i am forever discussing with clients their eating habits and nutritional requirements, and about the benefits of healthy eating and the powerful benefits associated with fasting.

Armed with such positive feedback from my client i booked my stay at Atsumi. I initially wanted to fix my digestive issues, and was definitely not expecting to change my whole life.

I decided to do an eight day full fast followed by a three day raw fast.

Upon arriving at Atsumi i was greeted with nothing but love, respect, honesty and above all the infectious smiles from all of the amazing and wonderful staff at Atsumi.

I was greeted by the lovely Sarah who politely and thoroughly detailed the program i was undertaking. Once we had gone through this we hopped in the golf buggy and she gave me a tour of the retreat before dropping me off at my room.

I stayed in the Bamboo House which was very spacious with a large bathroom, kitchen, living and bedroom, and was more than ample space for two, and i was there on my own.

The program was amazing i lost a total of 8 kilos of mucoid plaque in my eleven day stay, and was lovingly guided thru step by step. All my questions, fears, cravings and hesitations were answered with such compassion, inspiration, and genuine belief in your ability to change your life thru this wonderful program.

The retreat was beautiful, from the immaculate grounds that were attended to everyday by the enthusiastic gardeners to the accommodation that was more than ample space.

Between the daily massage, morning rituals ( beach walks, mountain walks, yoga, pilates, pt) just to name a few , the evening activities, the morning meetings, there was always someone available with a smile and an answer to your every need.

I could not recommend Atsumi highly enough if you want completely detoxify your body and regain the body that you deserve to have.

I want to say a massive thank-you to Sophie, Anna, Sarah, Master Tho, Dee, Nam, Yogi and all the incredible and enlightening staff that make this wonderland the place that it is.

I loved it so much that i am going back in August of 2013 with my partner so she can experience the changes that i have..

Cant wait to see you all again, much love Peter Muller xxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muskgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C, Guest Relations Manager at Atsumi Retreat Healing Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for such a fantastic review, we are really happy that you enjoyed so much your stay and that all the services delivered to you and every aspect of our retreat exceeded your expectations.

We make our best to satisfy our guests and when we read feedbacks like yours, it really makes our job worth and we are happy :-)

We are also really excited that you are already thinking about returning. Thank you for your trust.

See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my second trip to Atsumi! I love the place the people and will continue to go back. The green surroundings are perfect for relaxing and detox . The staff is very courteous and accommodating. Atsumi is perfect for detox or just de stress and rejuvenate . Thank you Sophie, Toh and the rest of the Team for making my stay an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Request for Chalets! More spacious and comfortable , beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiloferL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C, Guest Relations Manager at Atsumi Retreat Healing Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nilofer,

THANK you so much for taking the time to review us :-)
It is always a pleasure for us to welcome returning guests back to Atsumi and we thank you for the loyalty and commitment that you have for our program and retreat.

We love to keep seeing our guests returning year after year, it is verification that we are doing a good job :-)

We're really happy that you had such a great time. Take good care of you and see you soon at Atsumi !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

it was my first experience of fasting and a great idea I had to do with Atsumi:-)
It is the most beautiful gift that I never did to my body.
The staff is just amazing. Sophie, Gerry, Toh and Nam are so friendly, approchable and full of enthusiasm. Any questions or issues I had they were there to help me. Atsumi is really the place to clean your body but also your mind. It is such a spirit a spiritual place at the same time.
Thank you Sophie for your great talks about fasting and how to break a fast. It really helped me to change my lifestyle now that I am back home. Thank you Toh for your enthusiasm and daily smile. Thank you Anna for creating such a beautiful place.
I will definitely come back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C, Guest Relations Manager at Atsumi Retreat Healing Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review ! we are really happy that you came and selected Atsumi for your first experience of fasting. We are really pleased that you enjoyed so much your stay. It was a real pleasure having you with us, your beautiful smile and always positive attitude were awesome :-) We have no doubt that you are applying what you learnt during Sophie’s talks at Atsumi to your everyday life and wish you continued success. And we can t wait for seeing you next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Is my 3rd time at Atsumi, And i love it.
I think is an excellent place to cleanse And detox body And mind in a very natural way with the support of well trained staff in a green and peaceful ambience
This time I stayed for two weeks, one week full fast and one week raw fast and was simply perfect!!
I would like to thank Sophie, Sarah, Gerry, Toh and all the team for your support, love and passion in making feel every guest special!
Thank you all!!!
See you next year
I love Phuket!
Simonetta

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonetta44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C, Guest Relations Manager at Atsumi Retreat Healing Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Simonetta
A sincere thank you for taking the time to review us :-).. We love welcoming returning guests back to Atsumi and we thank you for the loyalty and commitment that you have for our program and retreat. We're really happy that you had such a great time. we really enjoyed sitting with you everyday and just talk about life, spirituality, angels, etc... such lovely sharing moments. Take care and see you soon for your 4th time :-) cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Atsumi in December/January and were very surprised to be so disappointed.
Compared to other Wellness retreats we had been to, this was by far the least value for money, and non-spiritual experience ever encountered.
The prevailing attitude at Atsumi is that whatever the complaint, the guest is always wrong!
A initial deposit is demanded (to the owner's personal bank account) and you are expected to pay HER bank charges, as well as your own! On arrivial you are marched into the office to pay your entire bill in full, up front, before they even offer breakfast!
If you have any valid reason to leave prematurely, as we did, they state refunds are not available, no matter that they have treated any guest exceptionally badly. If a refund is eventually grudgingly offered, they don't action it for over a month having calculated the refund seriously skewed in their favour. They are totally unethical, and we are still owed TB 17,000 which we have no hope of recovering!
Our advice ? Do your own research thoroughly. There are other Wellness Resorts in or near Phuket that offer clean, modern and superior accommodation, with far better medical attention, better qualified staff, superior facilities, more useful programmes, more efficiently organised and all at far better value.
The inherent problems that are now evident in this resort are too numerous to list here.
However, if you ignore this advice, at least protect yourself by initially only booking for a minimal period, in order that you can leave more easily, and with less financial penalty, should you find it necessary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 81Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C, Guest Relations Manager at Atsumi Retreat Healing Center, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valerie,

In response to your feedback we would like to clarify a few points.

Our refund policies are no different to the majority of resorts/hotels or detox centers. The purpose of paying in advance is to secure the room for the duration of the stay. If you choose to cancel your booking or leave early we will obviously be left with an empty room that we could have otherwise have filled.

We do treat every case individually and have in fact given full refunds in the past. In your case we were fully aware that after 10 days here you decided you wanted to try a different detox center that had been recommended to you. We do not in any way consider this a valid reason to offer a refund.

The reason we did agree to offer a refund was purely in response to your threats of making the center “ living hell” for the staff and the other guests alike if we didn’t.

Since leaving we have spent many hours responding to your threats and demands for more money and we are fully aware that you are trying to profit on this situation. We have advised you all along to kindly contact a lawyer and deal with any outstanding issues in a professional manner. Strangely you never did…

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My commitment to my health is a huge priority to me. I came to Atsumi very healthy within my ideal weight range. I am a Certified Raw Food Chef and eat an 80% plant based organic raw food diet for the past several years together with my young children. I wanted a peaceful, beautiful, loving and kind tropical environment to cleanse in, to learn and grow spiritually, to rid my body fully and completely of toxins and mucoid plaque, and to experience a multitude of physical strength developing programs while learning more health tools and skills.

My 35 days at Atsumi was wonderful and I experienced everything and more of what my wishes were for coming. I juiced for 7 days, full fasted for 14 days and raw cleansed for my last two weeks. On my 13 to 15th day I no longer had mucoid plaque lining my small or large intestine, that meant to me I was restored to my original state.... as clean as a baby! So exciting!! Now when I buy and eat organic fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds I will benefit by my body being able to completely absorb the full nutrient content of all the organic vitamins and minerals as my colon is no longer impaired with toxic and disease forming mucoid plaque.

The owner Anna was very personable. She made a point to come have a private discussion with me and was most easy to approach with any questions I had. The front office was very open and inviting especially with Toh always smiling and willing to be a man of so many traits. Nam was wonderful checking my blood pressure daily, providing health tips and facial demonstrations, but most of all a very kind and loving soul. Sophie the Fasting Consultant Supervisor had a wonderful way of being able to share her joy and knowledge and openly look for ways to learn and grow through all of her guests. Kris was an amazing instructor for abs and core, circuit, body measurements and testing..a real encourager. The colema girls were the happiest ladies I ever met, and the colema rooms smelled with the aroma of especial oils and were impeccably clean and sanitary. The gym had the most amazing view of the lily pads growing in the huge pond and massage huts. The young coconuts were fresh, cold and tasty everyday served with love by the kitchen ladies with the ring of a bell. The fasting talk was very detailed and informative outlining a multitude of health information, tips and useful pertinent knowledge. The morning meetings were always a friendly greeting to one another and often had health information shared by the staff team, usually three staff members attended to share with the guests and always delicious ginger lime tea was served with fresh cold face cloths. The beach walk, mountain hike, Big Buddah, and night market weekly outings were so much fun doing with guests from all over the world, lots of laughs and such a pleasant surprise to experience. I really enjoyed the daily beach mid day trips to swim in the beautiful turquoise warm ocean. Sarah put on the most amazing vision board workshop. I met life long friends from the UK, Austrailia, Europe, North America, Dubai, Mozambique and Thailand. The Thai raw food workshop was so professionally presented by Toh and everything was delicious. The fresh juices were amazing, i especially liked the fresh pineapple juice, so sweet and full of flavour. Jerry so brilliantly led morning gatherings doing Angel card readings as did Sarah, Nam and Sophie. So nice to reflect and focus on a beautiful positive thought for the day. I learned lots from Russ in our sessions on health, mucous, longevity, plants, herbs, lifestyle and a vast selection of recommend reading, doctors and web links he referred to me. I really miss the daily massages and beautiful environment. I loved steaming most afternoons.

I recommend Atsumi to any person seeking true internal health. I feel the best I have ever felt in my adult life right now. Thank you everyone at Atsumi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonnaLoveMyHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie C, Guest Relations Manager at Atsumi Retreat Healing Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for such a detailed and fantastic review my dear Donna, It was a real pleasure having you with us. As I often told you during your stay, you are such an inspiring woman and you brought a wonderful energy to the group. You are a beautiful person, inside and outside. We look forward to see you again. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.4 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 134 in Karon
775 reviews
2.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
5.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
The LifeCo Phuket Well-Being Detox Center
0.7 mi away
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
2.5 mi away
Paleo Wellness Retreat
Paleo Wellness Retreat
#2 of 54 in Chalong
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atsumi Retreat Healing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atsumi Retreat Healing Center

Property: Atsumi Retreat Healing Center
Address: 34/18 Soi King Pattana 4 | Saiyuan Road, Rawai, Phuket, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Rawai
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Phuket's South East, Atsumi is an "invitation to transformation". Set within lush, tropical gardens, Atsumi is Phuket's original Healing Retreat. With our vast experience, we place high emphasis on the benefits of retreat, and encourage you to enjoy the peace and quiet of Atsumi. We have more space and privacy than any other healing retreat. No traffic noise or nearby discos. No cooking smells, no cigarettes, no perfumes, just peace and tranquility. Our managerial staff and professional counselors are trained and we are available to advise and support you daily. To ensure a harmonious, warm and friendly atmosphere, and to provide a more personalized experience, we limit the number of our guests, enabling everyone to be comfortable using these fantastic facilities: - Swimming pools - Yoga Sala - Steam Sauna - Dedicated Colema Rooms - Spa & Massage centre - Fitness centre and Gym - Beach Transfer We invite you to have a life changing experience for your Body, Mind and Spirit. We offer 5 different types of fasting and detoxing programs: Full fast Retreat / juice fast Retreat / raw fast Retreat /3 R's Retreat (Relax, Renew, Recharge) / Be Fit Retreat ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atsumi Retreat Healing Hotel Rawai
Atsumi Retreat Healing Center Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing