We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I come here again? Definitely not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

An overdue review for my visit at Serenity. Time has passed but my feelings (primarily negative) regarding this resort have not changed a bit.
Let's start with the positive: large rooms, very modern facilities, good design, great furnitures, very impressive bathroom, Overall the rooms and facilities are impressive. I enjoyed the spa and the pool very much.

the negatives:
1) incompetent management which leads to a service team who smile but are not friendly. We were yelled at by a staff when we were stuck in a terrible situation because we followed the advice of ANOTHER STAFF. We complained up to the general manager (who I believe should be 100% responsible for managing such a poorly managed service team) and he was not interested at all to improve our experience. The restaurant manager took no responsibility in managing his staff but simply said "oh you know...the locals speak no English and are poorly educated".

2) this resort is located in a mafia controlled area of Phuket which means everytime you try to leave the resort, you either drive yourself, or use the mafia controlled car services at the resort gate. The outside car services we arranged were chased away by the mafia and threatened.

This is really an example of a resort which has so much potential to be better but cannot realize its potential due to, mostly, the management team.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SpiceFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for trying again to review our resort.
We remember your first review, which Tripadvisor had removed upon our request because in your first review you had accused one of our expatriate managers of racism.
I do remember to speak to you personally during your stay at Serenity and we feel no need to respond futher to your second try to review Serenity Phuket.
We shall not ask Tripadvisor to remove this review again so that it remains on our page for all to see and people can make their own judgements.
Regards, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
There are newer reviews for Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have booked Penthouse Sea View Suite which has been upgraded for free to Pool Residence.

I loved to stay there and relax. Private terrace and pool have been very nice. Staff is very friendly and customer orientation is on high level.

Food was great.

Rooms are not brand new, however whole experience is very good as well.

I wasn't expecting anything else but relax so there was no need to go outside. However people who love nightlife need to remember that it's rather quiet location.

Relax, rest and staying in hotel - is perfect.

See is nice, keep in mind that there are tides so you can expect either no beach at all, or small beach or... lack of see ;-)

Overall experience is great and I'm sue I will go back to this place - looking for quiet and relaxing time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Artur,
Thank you so much for your review and i will certainly pass on your compliments to all our team!
With kind regards, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at Serenity for the first time with my wife and three sons. We require a great deal of space and were not disappointed in the least bit. We booked the two bedroom overlooking the pool. The rooms were spacious with updated modern decor. Additionally, our unit had a large kitchen, dining and living room. The best part of the facility is the pool/bar area. Very chic, with white as the main color accented by the bright uniforms of the staff and lounges. It looks out over the bay and and provides a relaxing space to chill out. The bar staff was extremely helpful and did a wonderful job making us feel at home. The happy hour, which I believe was from 5:00 - 7:00, was half off all drinks. I could sit and watch the kids play in the large pool while I enjoyed a cocktail. We did enjoy a massage our last night there. All five of us in the family had at least an hour full body and it was great. My wife and I extended ours to an hour and a half. This went past their closing time and they had no problem staying late. Very nice of them.

The front desk was very helpful and arranged a shuttle for us to Kata Beach. We always require a minivan and were promptly accommodated for 500 baht.

The only reason I give it four stars instead of five is it sits on the bay and the tides make it a tide flat for half the day. For my kids it was great as they were able to explore the tide pools and run in the wet sand. Overall very happy and will return.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool area if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Kevin and Family,
Thank you very much for your great review and we are certainly pleased to hear that all of you enjoyed your stay with us!
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Sincerely, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Its very peaceful and relaxed, nice to just chill out coz its far from noisy areas.
Nice food
Friendly staff
Gets a bit scary at night when sea levels reach high and u hear the waves pounding
Not very clean sheets, but not bad overall cleanliness

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Najla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Najla, thank you very much for your review and we are happpy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Serenity Phuket is a beach front property and as close to the sea as it gets for a Phuket hotel.
There is, however, never a safety concern with the sea conditions. The waves just make their typical noise when landing on our beach at high tide and they are not very high in Chalong bay.
I shall certainly discuss your comment about the quality of our laundry with our executive housekeeper to have this rectified.
Sincerely, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

To begin with, the welcome drink was awesome.Complimentary room upgrade was a sweet surprise.Everything about this hotel is prefect food, ambience, privacy, infrastucture, service, etc etc.Importantly staffs are very friendly and helpful.
Would be better if you could arrange your own transport, either a car or two wheeler wud do. There is a taxi stand right next to the hotel entrance, but the charges are very high.
If hiring a taxi, a little bit of bargaining would help.There is a 7-Eleven store right across, in case you need anything.

Serenity was part of my honeymoon and it was indeed a memorable experience. Looking forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sridharb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon at Serenity Phuket! Sincerely, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our 2nd time staying at Serenity and this time a pool villa right on the beach and have to say it was worth every cent, or in this case baht. Sitting on our own pool deck on the Saturday morning watching the kite boarders running up and down the bay after another great breakfast buffet was indeed paradise. Thank you to all the staff for our late check in and taking care of us theway you do, it truly was a wonderful anniversary weekend.

Room Tip: This resort is so spacious and quiet, the nearer to the pool the better though.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Jane, thank you very much for your review and i will certainly pass on your compliments to our team! Kind regards, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently stayed 8 nights at the Serenity Resort in Rawai, Phuket. This boutique resort has approximately 60 rooms so whether you are at the restaurant, pool or gym the crowds are never a concern. This came as a welcome change to the typical Phuket resort which is saturated with crowds making it difficult, for us anyway, to relax and enjoy the amenities.

The rooms are the Serenity's best asset. Modern, well appointed and spacious. As other reviewers mention, the suites are well worth the extra spend. We booked a penthouse suite online using the early bird option, for around $AUS390/THB12000 per night with breakfast and hotel transfers included. No other Phuket resort offers over 200sq metres of comfort for this amount.

Located around 45 minutes from Patong, the free shuttle bus (6pm depart/10.30pm return) from the hotel is a must for those eager to soak up the night life. However we really enjoyed staying in relaxing Rawai and sampling the local flavours in the form of numerous nearby night markets, local eateries and of course massage parlours. A scooter to explore the local scene is a must and can be rented across the road for $AUS7 per day.

As other reviewers mention, the Serenity does sit on a tidal mud-flat which while attracting plenty of bird life, is not suitable for swimming. The hotel shuttle to nearby Nai-Harn beach is always an option for the beach goer however a set timetable of 9am drop off and approx. 4pm pickup makes for a long day in the sun.

Yes we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Andrew,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Serenity Phuket!
We just would like to take the opportunity to state the correct departure time for our free shuttle buses: The bus to Nai Harn beach leaves the resort at 10.00h and not at 09.00 and the shuttle to Patong beach leaves the resort at 17.00h and not at 18.00h. It returns from Patong before 22.00h. Guests wishing to stay longer and enjoy the nightlife are free to return to the hotel by taxi at their convenience.
Sincerely, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.7 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
11.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,115 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket

Address: 14 Moo 5, Viset Road, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
#3 Family Hotel in Rawai
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $53 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Chalong Bay, on Phuket's sunrise coast, Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket will surprise and delight its privileged guests. Just 64 sumptuous, oversized rooms, suites and stunning beach residences. Some residences enjoying their own generous sized private pools, providing the highest standards of comfort and luxury. Contemporary design, flawless personalized service and ultimate nautical lounging experiences. Serenity's facilities include the East 88 Beach Lounge, a fully equipped gym, FREE WiFi access across the resort and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Resort And Residences Phuket
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket Hotel Rawai
Outrigger Serenity Terraces Hotel
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing