We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless quiet resort with a very nice and friendly staff”
Review of Smile House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smile House
Ranked #31 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Rawai
Raalte, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spotless quiet resort with a very nice and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here for 6 days after 3 weeks of travelling in Laos and Cambodia. The rooms are spotless and perfectly cleaned every day. The resort is located in a quiet area in the south of phuket which for as was a very good thing. You do need transportation for everything you want but for us that was no problem. You can pick a beach every day to go to and there are about 4 different kind of beaches within ten motonike minutes.
The staff is very friendly and gave us lots of great tips to do. If we go back to phuket in the future smile house is our place to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I have been travelling for a year and raiwai was my last stop before returning to England. I stayed at smile resort for nearly a week and can only describe it as great experience. Phil and Wendy who own the resort couldn’t have been better hosts. They were very friendly and nothing i asked was to much trouble for them. All the staff very friendly and my room was cleaned brilliantly every day. The swimming pool was lovely and clean as was the whole resort. Smile resort location is brilliant as it very quiet and peaceful with no one bothering you. Phil certainly knew his way around the kitchen was a very good chef as the food weather it was Thai or western was top class. I also booked a day trip through the resort were I went to many different islands and thanks to Wendy’s expertise I had a day to remember as she recommend the trip to me. Smile resort has everything you need weather you are a family looking for a nice quite break or friends looking for a holiday. I will defiantly be heading back to smile resort in the future. Like I said the best place I stayed in while travelling

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe2236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. It was our first time in Thailand and we were not disapointed at all. The main thing about this place is that Philip and Wendy ( the 2 owners) were great. They did everything for us: from the bike booking, to the visits by boat, from the taxi booking to the travel or restaurant advice...and this was always done with a huge smile. We felt like at home. So if you are looking for big resort, it's not the place to go. If you are looking for a calm and peaceful place, away from the awful Patong, in a Thai quarter with friendly people, it's definitely the place to go.
I would also like to add that the 2 ladies working there are so nice and helpful and smily of course. The name of the hotel is well choosen. Everybody will have the smile in this hotel. Try also the Massage, you willhave a brand new body.
I was with 2 friends, but it can be nice for a couple, for a family...as long as you want to enjoy, you will!!!

Thank you Wendy and Philip for this unforgettable stay. Hope to see you soon in Phuket or France why not...Say Hi for us to your 2 great ladies

All the best

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moatez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Thanks Phil & Wendy, they bot along with their staff make the experience exceptional. The breakfast is excellent, especially if you are English, The staff are very special and make you feel like royalty. The pool is almost your own and the surrounds are a delight.
This place is situated in a very green part of Rawai which workwd great for us as the other 3 weeks of our Holiday was next to the beach. Smile is a great place to relax, read and cool off by the pool. Phil and Wendy had some great stories and were very helpful in making our stay special. We hired a car, caught taxi's and visited all the key area's near Rawai. Will definitely return in the future.
Take adrive to the Big Buddha and spend a day at Ni Harn beach

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphMalphSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed 4 days at Smile House and it was not long enough. The resort is spotless. Phil and Wendy made us both feel very welcome. Smile House is such a relaxing place to be we spent alot of our time lounging around the pool. Breakfast is excellent especially Phil's Bubble n Squeak. Drinks and food are available throughout the day at very affordable prices.Phil and Wendy gave us lots of advice on places to visit and also arranged taxi's for us as we chose not to hire our own transport. Our time passed so quickly we wish we had arranged to stay longer. We both can't wait to return next year. Smile House is deffinately a place not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdvalhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Seemed too good to be true but it was even better than we dared to imagine. Beautiful gardens, spotlessly clean, spacious bungalows with well air-conditioned rooms, great food, icy cold drinks & a sparkling crystal clear pool. The owners were so helpful & welcoming. A perfect base for a magic holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shada09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Phil and Wendy are such a welcoming couple and their breakfasts are fantastic! :) The rooms are cleaned everyday and the large rooms had everything that we needed (there was no irom, but when you are on holidays who needs an iron anyway). The pool was relaxing, the location is close enough to all the places that we needed to get to and far enough away from all the hassle and noise.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandles84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.1 mi away
Ban Raya Resort & Spa
Ban Raya Resort & Spa
#4 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
0.0 mi away
Taosha Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Cascades Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
The Racha
The Racha
#1 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
1,121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babylon Pool Villas
Babylon Pool Villas
#14 of 92 in Rawai
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House

Property: Smile House
Address: 8/20 Moo 4 Wiset Rd, Rawai, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile House is a collection of one and two bedroom bungalows surrounding a large pool all set in beautifully manicured tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Smile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile House Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing