We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to unwind”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

OK, I admit it, I got it wrong, we stayed in The Vijitt for 3 days than moved to Patong for a further 7 days, My error: I should have booked the Vijitt for 7 days & 3 in Patong.
The staff where always helpful, the room an oasis of calm & plenty of choice in the restaurants. (We had some of the best Yellow chicken curry in the Thai restaurant)
A great pool and a lovely beach to stroll along (best when the tide is in).
We would definitely stay here again, maybe next time on a longer trip, we would rent a car as the hotel is a little out of the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buderim-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    305
    84
    34
    20
See reviews for
212
792
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

If you seek a reasonably priced tranquil escape from it all look no further than the Vijitt. The resort is exceptionally well landscaped and the villas are extremely elegant and tastefully designed. The staff are friendly, show great initiative, and strike a perfect balance between attentiveness and discretion. To highlight any negatives in this context would be pedantic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macfarlaneOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The resort is beautifully laid out in a small valley. The staff are very helpful. the rooms are small villas with a nice blend of view seclusion and open living. I understand that the resort was refurbished in 2008. The Baan Vijitt restaurant is a mixture of Thai and Portuguese influences, the meals areexcellent and the restaurant is obviously popular for private functions as well. The main restaurant and bar, the Savoury, is open and airy with an air conditioned areaas well. The pool is sizeable and the poolside has pleasant water features. There is a separate pool and play area for small children and that must be a great attraction for the families with small children that were there. The spa is large and well equipped with separate chalets for clients. The resort is on Friendship beach and looks across the bay to other islands. The sea is very shallow and the tide goes out some way. This makes it ideal for fishing, kayaking and sea kiteing and there are schools to teach you close by. The beach is not a walking/swimming beach but free transport to Patong beach or the the Centre shopping mall are available daily. The resort puts on a programme of interesting acivities during the day and will arrange the normal day and half day trips in the area for things like elephant safaris. There were guests of all ages from Europe, Russia, Japan, and Korea.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at the Vijitt for 14 nights at the beginning of February and chose this venue via Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. If you choose to stay here you must be aware of the location (20 min walk or taxi to Rawai Beach Restaurants), the steep footpaths (we prided ourselves in not using the complimentary buggy service once!) and also the occasional unpleasant smell from the beach area when the tide was out. Having said that none of these things impacted on our stay. The resort lives by the really excellent staff. They are so kind and curteous at all times and nothing is too much trouble.
We ate in both restaurants but the Baan Vijitt (traditional Thai) was the best. The Savoury (also used for breakfast) had the same menu for lunch and dinner with a wide range of European and Thai choices to suit most tastes. We really enjoyed getting down to the Fish BBQ restaurants on Rawai Beach (we particularly like the Duansuk and the Salaloy). Excellent and very cheap food.
The complimentary trip to Coral Island was very well organised and a good day out. Very well worth going.
There is not much that we would suggest as improvements - the lighting in the bathroom and on the balcony could be improved and a shuttle bus to Rawai in the evening would be nice.
This is not a resort for someone who likes the noise and party scene of Patong or Karon but we loved it and would certainly recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The location is clearly not for shopping or partying but assuming one has done his homework you know what you are getting into . The Vijit is located in quite a secluded section in rawai so don't expect you will stumble on any street stalls or cheap massages on the beach. It is a great place to stay in if you are happy to stay on site to chill out by the pool or beach. The beach in the area is not very wide and when it is in low tide you can walk quite far out into sea. There were a lot of people doing kite surfing and it seems that the strong wind and shallow water is ideal for kite surfing.

Staff here are extremely friendly. We ate 2 nights in a row at the international restaurant as you pretty much need to drive or cab anywhere you want to go. Food is ok by the standards in Phuket ie if you are after international cuisine we find it pretty much the same anywhere you go so it is a matter of the atmosphere, wine selection and price .

Overall, if you are after a quiet place and beautiful setting to relax in and read a few books, vijit is better value than evasion we believe. If you would like a busier stretch of Phuket with street stalls and cheap massages, hotels in this location won't suit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights and wanted to stay longer. We stayed in the luxurious Vijitt Villa, beachfront which had uninterrupted views of the water. Amazing pool, there were quite a few guests but it never felt crowded and there was always good service. Whether as a couple or with young children (they have an outstanding kids club!) I would highly recommend Vijitt for a relaxing and romantic stay. We had dinner for two under the stars in front of our villa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freshandclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We've just returned from14 nights at the Vijitt and have to say that we've been very impressed. We booked a Prime Pool Villa and when we arrived found we'd been upgraded to a Beach Villa. We didn't ask - it was offered. I have to admit the resort was quiet when arrived - so maybe we were just in the right place at the right time (it's taken 10 years to 'get lucky'). So, as far as the accom is concerned we have been swayed - the beach villas with private pools are simply amazing - in fact it would be difficult to go back and not pay the upgrade fee if necessary. The hotel is built on a hillside and it's steep. The resort offers 'golf buggy' type carts to run you about - should you be either too lazy or simply not able to get about. The staff are all (from reception to the gardeners) very polite and cannot do enough to help. The food is available in 2 locations, one a main restaurant and the other a typical traditional thai house or you can dine in your Villa. The food is fantastic. Service very good. The beach is not too great - as the bay is tidal, so if you are looking for 'gin clear' water and white powdery sand, then this resort is not for you. In fact all of the hotels in this area suffer the same effect.
At night time it's very quite - very, very quiet. There's no banging disco, loud bars. Peace & tranquility only. Get a taxi and there's a load of loud stuff a short journey away. But, that's not what this resort is about. We got a little bored and went out. The food is certainly cheaper - but that's to be expected.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay. If the beach and water was what i described earlier, and we could always stay in the Beach Villa i could safely say that we would return year after year - and we don't do 'repeat visits' as a rule.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burbandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
19.1 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
5.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
7.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vijitt Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vijitt Resort Phuket

Property: The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Address: 16 Moo2, Viset Road | T. Rawai A.Muang Phuket 83130, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
#2 Family Hotel in Rawai
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#4 Spa Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vijitt Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vijitt Resort Phuket is a romantic retreat where peace and tranquility soothe the soul with breathtaking natural scenery all around. The landscaped grounds at this Phuket hotel are simply beautiful with tall palms and expansive lawns gently sloping towards the stunning view of Friendship Beach.The elegant villas at this beachfront hotel in Phuket are contemporary style inspired by local design and materials. Many of the private villas include their own pool and all enjoy magnificent views of calm blue waters of Chalong Bay. This serene and secluded Phuket resort is perfect for couples and families seeking a holiday in paradise where warm Thai hospitality awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vijitt Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Hotel Phuket
Vijitt Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing