We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We spent 2 absolutely gorgeous honeymoon weeks at the Vijitt hotel with our 2 year old son in tow and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing quiet week away from it all. There are a few minor issues that the hotel ought to sort out but to be fair, the management really does listen to your opinions and does their best to iron issues out as soon as they arise.

When we first arrived, we were placed in a bungalow that was right behind the main Savoury restaurant. It seemed fine during the day but during the night we were struggling to sleep because of the noise coming from the restaurants generator. We went to reception to following day to ask to be moved and were given several options. The bungalow that we chose was No 58 which was based near the Rotunda. It was brilliant. Modern, very spacious, with a beautiful view but most importantly it was very quiet. The outdoor shower was fantastic as was the giant bath inside. The only minor letdown in the room was that the free internet connection was very haphazard. We ended up having to call reception on at least 4 separate occasions to get them to open the link up again. The hotel had also forgotten to bring us the honeymoon presents of sparkling wine & chocolates that we had been promised, but after mentioning this to reception, the items were swiftly delivered.

The resort is beautifully laid out and easily walkable for a healthy person, as even our 2 year old toddler could manage it. We only ever used the buggy if we had eaten a huge evening meal and were feeling lazy and tired or when moving luggage. We never had to wait for one for more than a minute or two, no matter what time of the day it was.

The food in the Savoury restaurant was great. The food may not be quite as spicy as in the restaurants in town, but it was always beautifully presented and tasty. The special kids’ meals were great and the special plates and cutlery they were served on were an added bonus. The breakfast bar was fantastic with lots of choice for everyone. The fresh smoothie bar was our personal favourite, along with the eggs “any which way you like it” station. The room service was up to scratch too. As we were travelling with a small child we quite often ended up ordering food to our room in the evenings. It always came very quickly to come and tasted top notch. And unlike most good quality hotels, you weren’t charged a premium for the service. It only cost a few baht more than you would have paid in the restaurant itself.

The 40 meter pool was by far the best I have ever seen and as an avid swimmer, doing a kilometre in it each evening was my favourite bit of the day. Most evenings I had it to myself which was sheer heaven. Swimming along whilst watching boats sailing in the distance was a sight I shall not forget in a hurry. The only thing that needs improving upon in the pool area is that some nails are starting to point out from the wooden decking surrounding the pool and some of the paint work could do with another coat.

The beach was not great, but having read Tripadvisor comments before choosing the Vijitt, we had been warned. It may not have been great for swimming, but was still lovely to look at. It was also great for catching little crabs with our toddler. To compensate for the lack of a “proper beach” the hotel runs a courtesy bus to Nai Harn beach each day. You have to book this in advance but we were always able to get on. The bus leaves at 1030 and brings you back at 1630. The beach is great ,if very busy. It has several shops, restaurants and massage stands on it so anything you may need can be bought there. There is also a taxi stand, so you can always make your way back to the hotel at a time of your own choosing.

The kids club was great. We never left our son in anyone’s care there, but as we were the only family using the facility most days, it was almost like having our own private pool! The indoor play area was great for playing in when it got too hot. There was a big ball play area, puzzles, colouring pens, loads of toys and a big tv for watching DVD’ on. Unfortunately the great climbing frame in the middle of the Rotunda was unusable for the best part of the day as it didn’t have any kind of umbrella covering it, making it way too hot to climb on until the sun went down. They also had a good selection of kids' DVD films for us to watch in our bungalow. A nice touch.

We never used the gym, but did go and have a look at it and there seemed to be lots of brand new equipment. It would have been a great thing to do on a rainy day.

Some other Tripadvisor contributors had given us the idea that the hotel was miles away from anywhere. This was blatantly incorrect as it is on the side of a relatively busy road (but don’t worry, we couldn’t hear any noise from there). The walk to Rawai was about a kilometre and on your walk down you pass several restaurants, shops, bars, banks and markets. The night markets were great fun. Even if you don’t end up buying anything it is nice to wonder amongst the friendly locals. Rawai itself has excellent and really cheap seafood restaurants, so do not miss it. Again, there is no problems getting a cab back from there, but we enjoyed our walks back as well. I need to stress that at no point in time did we feel unsafe, no matter what time of the day we walked back.

We had a day out in Phuket town which wasn’t the most scenic place we had ever seen. We also spent a day shopping at the Central Festival, which had a good standard of items on offer. The only daytrip I would recommend you avoid if you have small children is the whole tray boat trip to Phi Phi islands, Maya beach, Kai island and Monkey Island. We felt like herded cattle throughout the day, the sea journey really was too long and way too choppy for a little one. I would think that your kids really ought to be over 6 years old to really enjoy this.

We really loved our first trip to Thailand and it definitely won’t be our last. The Vijitt was a fabulous hotel which we wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it. Special thanks go to the manager Chris who really took his time to listen to our comments and made us feel welcome. As a whole all the staff in hotel were superb, especially with our son. We have travelled all around the world since he was born and nowhere have we met such genuinely friendly and charming people.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank PollyPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    303
    84
    33
    20
See reviews for
210
776
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Just got back from the Vijitt Resort after a stay of 14 nights. We had a complimentary upgrade to the beach pool villa .The resort is just wonderful and the staff ( from housekeaping till manager ) are fantastic , professional and friendly. Food is great , the pool is relaxing , service is unbelievable !
Thanks again and hope to return in the near future !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed for 5 nights with wife and parents in two villas. Superior villas were good- spacious. Good bathroom with outdoor shower and baths big enough for 2. Comfy beds, DVD player (you can borrow dvds for free from the reception- a couple more English channels and more DVD choice would have been nice, but no big deal. Two bottles of water supplied daily, along with fruit- which again was a nice touch. Only complaint about the room was that the airconditioning blew directly unto the bed, which was slightly uncomfortable. The resort itself was nice- spread out but not too big- initially I was worried about how my parents would make it up the hill from the pool area, but the buggy service was prompt and efficient so no big deal there. Overall service was very good, staff were friendly and always smiling.
Food was pretty good- breakfasts were generous and varied (smoothie bar was a nice touch). We had room service one night when it rained, which was again of decent quality- and not too expensive. Best part of the resort is the pool near the beach area. Gym was decent too by resort standards- with a nice view to boot. Whole family had massages in the spa- which was of high quality and very nice surroundings- a bit expensive though. Beach wasn't much to shout about, but then again, that was expected.
The real negative was location- a bit far away from things. Which wouldn't be a problem if you rented a car (we didn't but we should have- I didn't get the impression that driving in phuket was particularly difficult/dangerous by Asian standards). Which meant using hotel transport at least one way to Rawai beach for dinner (which had good seafood). It's imposisble to get a taxi outside the resort, and taxi's in Rawai are a bit difficult and pretty expensive even if you do bargain. Also a bit far from Patong (worth going- I found the whole place chaotic, but fun- wouldn't stay there though!)- about 40 minutes or so- no big deal to get a taxi back from there, just make sure you bargain- but again not cheap. Its a problem that's easily solved by a free shuttle at least to Rawai beach- but that wasn't a service offered by the hotel. Also I think free internet would be a nice touch. Which are the only two things that stop me from giving it a better review.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalpel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, UK
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Great place, nice villa and the service was great. We were looking for a relaxing end of the trip after being in Bangkok. This fit the bill. Only issue is the resorts has steep hills, so if you have issue with walking I mention it up front to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Never before I wrote a review, but the Vijitt Resort deserves it! My only hesitation to write one is very selfish: if it becomes too popular, it might be fully booked when I want to come back next year... My husband and I took my 84-yr old mother-in-law to the Vijitt and were treated like royalty. It is obvious the Thai very much respect the elderly since the staff when out of their way to make her comfortable and help her with steps and soforth. Also the golf cars were ideal for her to move around the resort, which is beautifully located on a hillside. I love to hike, and wandered around the resort with it's great views to the sea, the islands in the distance, but also with a small lake and gardens, stairs with waterfalls were a pleasure to dwell in. It was totally quiet, no loud noise/music; it was serene. As was the staff, very caring. The Spa treatment I totally recommand; from the flower, tea and foot washing I was given on entering by the lovely staff, to the Zen-like place the masseuse led me to drink ginger tea. Excellent Siam massage, too! My hymn goes on when it comes to the room. Beautifully designed, had everything you wanted, including an outdoor shower which gets my vote for the pleasantest surprise in a hotel ever!! Immaculate service to the room; loved the high ceiling and the subtle styling. Honestly there is no false note to this hotel. I relaxed there like never before because so well taken care of. To the Staff: our greatest thanks for making the three of us feel so comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanithHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We are home again after a perfect stay of 2 weeks in the Vijitt Resort in Phuket. The reason for going on holiday was the need for rest and being well served after a very busy year. For this reason we were not looking for a massive and crowded hotel but preferred the luxury of a smaller hotel concept with separate villas. We were gladly surprised by the beauty of the site and the villas and also about the friendliness of the staff. All members of staff are doing their very best to make peoples stay as comfortable as possible. We would like to thank the management and the staff of the Vijitt for their happiness and positive attitude. We will surely come back in the nearby future.

Where we have seen that management and staff are doing their utmost of making everybody's stay as good as possible, I regret to read the negative comments from a French visitor in TripAdvisor. The fact is that I expected it to happen as the lady concerned threatened the manager with such an action during the New Year's Eve dinner.
We happened to sit close to these French guests and heard their comments and their discussion with the hotel manager. Where we were impressed about the preparations for this New Years Eve dinner party the days before the 31st where, as an example, a podium was build above the swimming pool where during dinner there were several artists, the lady writing this negative review names it an average dinner. What a shame!! She was "surprised" by the fact that the drinks were not included in the price of the party, where we all new that this wasn't the case. To my mind it became clear that there are people in this world who imagine that they are more then others and that they have other/better rights though. As it became clear that she wasn't going to have her drinks for free, she warned the manager with a negative review in TripAdvisor; how low can we go?!!

Her other remarks are complete nonsense. The fact that cans and plastic bags are laying there including the droppings of the horses that pass the site is absolutely not true. The hotel staff is cleaning the beach on a daily basis. The story regarding the hygiene in the pool is an absolute lye; we have used this exceptionally nice pool during two weeks and haven't seen or experienced or heard about any problem at all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
7.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#2 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vijitt Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vijitt Resort Phuket

Property: The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Address: 16 Moo2, Viset Road | T. Rawai A.Muang Phuket 83130, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
#2 Family Hotel in Rawai
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#4 Spa Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vijitt Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vijitt Resort Phuket is a romantic retreat where peace and tranquility soothe the soul with breathtaking natural scenery all around. The landscaped grounds at this Phuket hotel are simply beautiful with tall palms and expansive lawns gently sloping towards the stunning view of Friendship Beach.The elegant villas at this beachfront hotel in Phuket are contemporary style inspired by local design and materials. Many of the private villas include their own pool and all enjoy magnificent views of calm blue waters of Chalong Bay. This serene and secluded Phuket resort is perfect for couples and families seeking a holiday in paradise where warm Thai hospitality awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vijitt Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Hotel Phuket
Vijitt Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing