We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT AS IT SEEMS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Ondara, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NOT AS IT SEEMS!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Trailfinders booked this hotel for us and it came very highly recommended by them! My husband and I spent 8 nights here and although the location and scenery were lovely, the chalets and the hotel just didn´t have that wow factor we were expecting from the photos on their website. Everything had a tired look to it, especially the Thai restaurant. On arrival we were expected to wait until 2pm - about an hour whilst they got our chalet ready?? Then when we did get in there were things wrong, i.e. no cold water only hot, the sign for "Do not Disturb" was missing, the sun lounger cushions were missing, the outside lights didn´t work which we needed because it is quite dark in some areas. We rang reception next morning and spoke to a lovely girl called Natty who sorted us out with another chalet, but again we had to wait until it was ready. The buffet breakfast was okay, nothing out of the ordinary, and neither was the food. The Thair restaurant was awful, wouldn´t recommend that place. The drinks, especially the bottles of wine were horrendously priced especially when we went out of the resort and had a wonderful Thai meal (at a place called "Au Naturale" in Phuket) with starters, main course, desserts and two bottles of wine and the bill came to the price of just ONE bottle of wine in the resort! Most of the time the bar ran out of house wine which is obviously a bit cheaper. The electricity in the resort was out on two occasions and on the second occasion out for nearly 5 hours, this was the resorts problems because it was working everywhere else nearby. We had a meal in the restaurant when they had the long power cut and although they had generators the food was cold - not nice at all! Twice we came back after 4.30pm and our room had not been made up - according to Trailfinders this is common, but I have to say I have only had this happen on odd occasions, not twice in 8 days!! In our room we sampled one of the unusual fruits left by the maid and the knife we used was still there each day dirty until we left!! When we arrived home I realised I had forgotten to empty a draw of 6 items of clothing, so I emailed them to say I would pay for shipping back and their inconvenience of going to the post office, etc. However these items were not found - so I can only assume that the maid(s) had them. We did enjoy our holiday but it was marred by so many things at the hotel that we would never stay here again, nor would we recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerawut K, Manager at The Vijitt Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Suzy Z,

Thank you for taking the time to send your review to TripAdvisor. While we are delighted that you had many positive comments about your stay with us we are truly sorry to read that you felt our service was lacking in some areas.

However, there are some areas which we would like to give you our explanation which will be:

1) The international standard of checking in.
We hope you are aware that the check in time is at 14:00 hrs. This is an international standard set up however If we would have rooms available upon check in we would love to allocate you with the free one right after checking in.

2) The Thai Restaurant according to your note. We didnot have much details from your side however most of our guests feel like the restaurant and keep coming back with not only the atmosphere but also the taste. The asian food may not your taste.

3) Wine
I have checked and found that our in-house wine with 8 selection and it was impossible that out of 8 selection were gone at the same time and the report which I had for daily did not report accord to your note.

The prices for wine particularly in hotel are always high due to the fact that all are import and the tax is quite high for these kind of beverages however for the comparison with prices, it has to be compare "apple" to "apple" thus, the hotel is emphasize for quality not quantity.

4) Electricity
After checking the report in January 2013, we found two times that the electricity were off the 1st time on 4th Jan. from 20:50-21:06 and the 2nd time on 7th Jan. from 19:14-21:00. Both of them were off because of the high voltage unit was explored and needed to fix therefore it took for about 3 hours to fix. This is absolutely from outside the report and not for 5 hours as mentioned.

5) Cleaning
According to your mention, the room did not made up till 4:30 pm. I apologized for the delay. The roommaid starts making up the room from 9:00 am till 17:00 hrs during this time if she gets the request then she will start the request room first then continue with others however if we have gotten your request the villa then will be made up in the earlier.

We set ourselves high standards and we will address the points you raised. we have forwarded your comments onto our department executives to ensure that they are aware of your feedback.

With my best wishes,
Peerawut Kunchorn (Chris)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    303
    84
    33
    20
See reviews for
210
776
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leopoldsburg, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

look no further holiday people,

We just returned from a tour in Thailand (03/05/2013 - 03/18/2013), this resort is the best of the best.
The people and the hotel manager are always ready to pamper you and your comments to solve. The resort is situated on a mountain so you always have a great view and for the less mobile people there are golf cars 24/7 at the resort. We want to thank everyone for ...the friendly welcome and for the good care that we received.

+ smile
+ Staff are always there for you 24/7
+ Beautiful view
+ Not too big, so very private
+ Located between Phuket, Rawai and Thalong
+ If you have a problem, everything very quickly resolved

- We had to go home :(

Room Tip: take rooms 1 to 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerawut K, Manager at The Vijitt Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear kris p,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience in our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Phuket will include the Vijitt Resort and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With my wishes,
Peerawut Kunchorn (Chris)
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are a young couple and stayed at the Vijett resort for 4 nights.
We had a very warm and kind welcome when we arrived from a girl called "Natty" who always looked after us during our stay.
The location of this resort and the service where excellent. We were looking for somewhere relaxing and beautiful as far away from the sleaziness of Patong as possible!
Yes, you have to walk from your villa to lobby, reataurant etc. but what do u expect when you want to have your own private villa!!! We spent 3 nights in a deluxe villa with ocean view and the last night in a prime pool villa. We loved both villas, especially the privacy of our own pool was great and soo much fun!! (Don't book the prime pool villa if you are only 2 people as you won't get any use out of the bottom level)!
Staff were extremely helpful and every wish was followed up promptly!
Scooter hire was available for 300 baht a day and got us around most of the island without having to wait for a bus for spending money on taxi!
Breakfast selection had everything we wanted and a great view.
If we come back to Phuket we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerawut K, Manager at The Vijitt Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Evi M,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us your comments have been passed on to the staff, particularly "Natty" our front desk team. I know that she appreciate the recognition that you have given and was always delighted to be at your service.

I certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality again soon.

With my best wishes,
Peerawut Kunchorn (Chris)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Vijitt last month, its a beautifull hotel, but dont go there thinking its and American or European 5 star as its not, its Thailand.
There vare very mixed reviews about this hotel, I think the harsh ones are too harsh and you should not let them put you off, yes the hotel is tired in places and the restaurant and bar could be better, however the villas are loverly, we had a Prime Villa on two floors with a private pool and great sea view, the only think that was poor was the outdoor bamboo shower..its was never clean but I dont think it could be.
The food was fantastic, breakfasts great and not expensive. The pool is loverly and even better when the tide is in..its not a great view when the tide is out.
The staff are loverly I could not fault them, we went to many other hotels near by none were as good, the location is fantastic, it was not far to go any where and taxis are cheap.

Room Tip: Try this hotel its not as bad as some of the reviews say, they are too harsh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Review207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerawut K, Manager at The Vijitt Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Review 207/London,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on "TripAdvisor" about your stay experience at the Vijitt Resort Phuket during your recent visit.

With a Local 5 Star, we value your insights as a well-travellled guest. Our team is committed to providing a high level of service in all areas and we are delighted that this was transpired throughout your stay.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Phuket include the Vijitt Resort and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With my best regards,

Peerawut Kunchorn (Chris)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in the Vijitt resort for 5 days during our trip around Thailand. Overall we enjoyed our stay but there is definitely some room for improvement and whilst I think some of the bad reviews on here are a bit harsh I also think the 5 star reviews are a bit misguided.

The highlights:
- Seamless check in, our room was ready and the staff were very welcoming.
- Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble and communicating was never an issue.
- Lovely infinity pool looking out over the ocean.
- Quiet natural unspoilt grounds adjacent to a quiet beach with no hawkers/sellers.
- Large detached villa with balcony and day beds - great for watching the sunrise
- Amazing view from Sea View Villa
- Free shuttle bus to an alternative beach and Coral Bay during the day
- Baan Vijitt - Thai restaurant. Very nice food.
- No problems getting a bed by the pool any time of day
- Breakfast, good selection and English Bread for toast (not sweet bread)
- Nice lunch in the Savoury Restarant
- Free wifi

Room for improvement:
- Expensive; they seriously need to consider the charges of drinks/food/mini bar/spa and laundry. This is not a luxurious 5 star resort, it is a self rated 5 star hotel. The costs for drinks and dinner in this hotel were in comparison to the Sheraton Grande in Bangkok and the Sarojin in Khao Lak (Luxury independently rated 5 star resorts - see my other reviews). You can drink and eat for a third of the price down at Rawai beach. I feel like the costs at this hotel are extortionate, they get away with it because there is nothing in walking distance so you are a captive audience. If you could walk down the road to eat/drink they would have an empty bar/restaurant.

- Inconsistent cleaning service - on the first day our room wasn't cleaned, we had to call and request. On other days the mini bar wasn't re-stocked and we noticed that the same dead bug on the floor for 3 days. The ceiling in the room open/vaulted into the roof, it is full of cobwebs, there was bird poo on our bed 3 days in a row which made me think the roof isn't fully sealed and one night we came in to c40 flying ants, with all the windows and doors shut they can only of come in from the roof. I will say that one call to reception and house keeping did come down and exterminate said ants.

- Taxi from the hotel in the evening to Rawai cost THB350 one way - a 5/7 minute drive but not walk able in the heat. This is 7 times the cost of taxis in Bangkok for a similar journey and as there is nothing in walking distance to the hotel a free shuttle in the evening to explore the area would be appreciated.

- The resort is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues, the staff will pick you up and take you around in the buggy but walking around would be difficult.

- By the pool - the loungers are uncomfortable and some are broken.

I agree with other reviewers the beach is not suitable for swimming in the sea etc. but it makes for a quiet resort and the free shuttle to the other beaches makes up for it.

All in all our 5 days in the Vijitt were relaxing and pleasant, but it is unlikely we would return due to the location and the cost.

Room Tip: Sea View room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarrieLeigh1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerawut K, Manager at The Vijitt Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear CarrieLeigh 1102,

Thank you for your taking the time to write us a review in "TripAdvisor" about your stay experience at the Vijitt Resort during your recent visit to Phuket.

Being a local 5 star resort, we value your insights as a well-travelled guest. Our team is committed to providing a high level of service in all areas and we are delighted that this was transpired throughout your stay.

Please rest assured that everyone concerned will be briefed to be more cautious about this matter and that we will also do our best to both improve service and recover more promptly.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Phuket will include the Vijitt Resort and that we will have the opportunity to show you how things will have been improved to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With my best wishes,

Peerawut Kunchorn (Chris)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our trip to Thailand and the Vijitt started on Feb 17th and ending March 2, 2013. On our first week we stayed in a beach front villa and as this was our 25th anniversary the room was done up with flowers and it was perfect, even though we arrived at 2am. The reception and service was exceptional. After the 1st week we had arranged a pool villa and as we were out on a day trip on our move day, we simply were asked to leave our bags and all other aspects of the move were taken care of (very professional).
The staff of this resort are extremely genuine, caring and serious about treating their guests to the best experience possible, as was evident by the service and interaction not only witnessed but experienced by us. The smiles and gestures from simple greetings and eye contact at every encounter, to the conversations and questions about our day and its activities were heart felt and humbling.
The resort facilities were excellent and the food was tremendous, which added to our vacation experience. At dinner there was always musical entertainment and on select nights a magic show and cultural dances were added as well. Theme nights for the menu were happening as well adding to our dining experience. Almost every day we ate different Thai selections and they were unreal but an unexpected surprise for my wife was when she ordered the pork chop and goat cheese, it was the best she has ever had in her life! It was so nice to see that not only could they nail the local cuisine but to hit a home run on western food as well shows how deeply they care for their guest’s total experience.
It is pretty obvious that we loved this resort and the folks that work here, as the time we spent was amazing. That being said a special thank you to the entire staff and management for making our stay fantastic and memorable. Thank you Eak, Mon, Nat and Kat for your special attention to detail and spectacular service.
Teri and Ernie from Canada

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank yz250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerawut K, Manager at The Vijitt Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear allanahShrops,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review in TripAdvisor about your stay experience at the Vijitt Resort Phuket during your recent visit to Phuket.

Being a Vijitt Resort, we value your insights as a well-travelled guest. Our team is committed to providing a high level of service in all areas and we are delighted that this was transpired throughout your stay.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Phuket include the Vijitt Resort Phuket and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

with my best wishes,
Peerawut Kunchorn (Chris)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our two week holiday at the Vijitt was everything we had hoped for - Individual secluded, spacious villas set amongst tropical gardens, a glorious infinity pool, two restaurants offering excellent choices of Thai, international or Mediterranean food, a bar which is great for lunches or a drink at Happy Hour, gardens running down to a small private beach which offers fascinating walks when the tide is out, or gentle swimming when it's in and last, but by no means least, the wonderful staff. Receptionists, waiters/waitresses, bar staff, pool boys, cooks, gardeners, cleaners or handymen, they were all charming, gentle, helpful and friendly and always greeted you with a warm smile.
A regular shuttle bus was available to take us to other beaches, to the bustling, very noisy party town of Patong (not to our taste but we wanted to see it), Phuket old town with its C19th architecture or nearby Coral Island, and we enjoyed a variety of escorted trips to places of interest, including a day's tour to Phang Nga Bay which is spectacular and includes the iconic James Bond Island.

The hotel offers a variety of activities ranging from Thai cooking to aqua fit - the Thai massage was sublime - and a buggy if you need it to take you around the quite spacious grounds. The nearby fishing town of Rawai with a wider choice of restaurants and bars is a short taxi ride away.

For a peaceful, quiet, relaxing holiday, the Vijitt is just perfect.

Room Tip: A villa with a Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanahShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerawut K, Manager at The Vijitt Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear allanahShrops,

Thank you for taking the time to review in TripAdvisor during your current stay at The Vijitt Resort Phuket.

Your comments are very valuable in helping us maintain a high level of service to guests. We are most pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's service and facilities. Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff,

We certainly hope, that your future plans to Phuket include the Vijitt Resort Phuket and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With my best wishes,
Peerawut Kunchorn (Chris)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
7.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#2 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vijitt Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vijitt Resort Phuket

Property: The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Address: 16 Moo2, Viset Road | T. Rawai A.Muang Phuket 83130, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#2 Family Hotel in Rawai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#4 Spa Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vijitt Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vijitt Resort Phuket is a romantic retreat where peace and tranquility soothe the soul with breathtaking natural scenery all around. The landscaped grounds at this Phuket hotel are simply beautiful with tall palms and expansive lawns gently sloping towards the stunning view of Friendship Beach.The elegant villas at this beachfront hotel in Phuket are contemporary style inspired by local design and materials. Many of the private villas include their own pool and all enjoy magnificent views of calm blue waters of Chalong Bay. This serene and secluded Phuket resort is perfect for couples and families seeking a holiday in paradise where warm Thai hospitality awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vijitt Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Hotel Phuket
Vijitt Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing