We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shuttle Bus "Service"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel offers a shuttle bus service to several places and the problems associated with it basically put a dent on an otherwise fairly good stay at the hotel. Having booked days in advance for the Coral Island shuttle bus, we unfortunately mistakenly thought the bus departs at 9:30 a.m. when it departs at 9 a.m. The lobby receptionist told us later that they had made a call to our villa and the restaurant and were unable to locate us but the question was never answered by the staff was that we were at the restaurant when they allegedly called. Anyhow, we decided to take the shuttle bus to the mall. The driver stopped at the gate of the hotel and picked up an unidentified person who spoke English and Cantonese (i.e. a dialect of Chinese). The unidentified person confirmed both in English to all the passengers and then in Cantonese to us that due to the traffic on SUNDAY, it was not possible to stick with the hotel schedule and that the shuttle bus back to the hotel would be 20 mins late. We were told to wait for the bus outside the mall at 3:20 p.m. instead of 3:00 p.m. After waiting some 45 mins in the sun, there was no shuttle bus and thanks to the staff at Jim Thompson, we were able to contact the hotel to enquire what was going on. The fact was that the bus was on time and we were told we missed. We took the local taxi on the condition that the holiday reimburse the taxi fare which they did after finding out that the unidentified person who was another shuttle bus driver at the hotel did make such representations to us.

Nightmare not over! Next day we booked and paid for a hotel car to the airport. Lone and behold, another unidentified person boarded at the gate wearing a white golf t-shirt bearing the name of a local golf course. I have no idea why this kept happening since I had spent 2 hours writing a complaint letter to the management the day before and that we paid only for us to be transferred to the airport and not to drop off somebody wearing a golf t-shirt who wanted to go to the local Toyota dealership.

Anyhow, I must say that the Thai food at the restaurant is good but the villas need improvements when it comes to cleanliness and upkeep together with the patio deck next to the swimming where the metal screws used to fasten the wooden on the ground has rusted such that my feet have stained my white slippers so badly that I had to throw them out.

Lastly, after writing yet a 2nd complaint letter after returning to HK, I have not received an explanation on the unidentified person wearing white t-shirt and a sincere apology which I believe we are entitled to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahlolo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

Check-in was at the open-concept lobby, where a cold towel & refreshing lemongrass drink was complimentary. We were then escorted by the designated GRO to our villa using the free buggy service. The resort is on undulating terrain with a general sloping towards the sea from the main road. Grounds were well maintained with a few villas undergoing renovation. No noisy works noted. A total of 92 villas are on the premises.

Our assigned villa (stand-alone) was right on the beach. Main entrance door opens directly to the sleeping area. An integrated study table is attached to the bedframe. TV console is facing the bed directly. A small sofa is in the corner. The bathroom runs parallel to the bed's length & very spacious. A large soaking tub & double basins are indoor. Shower is outdoor with bamboo opening to the beachfront. Toiletries were adequate. We had to request for towel rack as there were no facilities to hang wet clothing. Due to resort's natural surroundings, encountering insects & mozzies in the room were normal. Management provides electric mozzie killer in each villa.

Our room had 2 a/c units, one of which was faulty. This was apparently repaired but unit was still blowing warm air throughout our stay. Villa was cleaned daily & turndown service done early evening / late afternoon.

Breakfast @ Savoury - there’s indoor(a/c) and outdoor seating. Apparently smoking is allowed at the outdoor seating. This was a letdown. However, some considerate smokers would walk away a fair bit for their puff. Wait staff were cheerful & smiling always. Food variety needs improvement though. More local flavour / fare preferred. Coffee is “brewed” from a machine upon your order. Warm milk was a real nice touch. The plates used for the buffet brekkie were a tad heavy.

Gym facility was great. Bicycles were free for the 1st hour. We used them every other morning for a quick cycle to Rawai before brekkie. Great workout coming back uphill towards the resort!!! There’s free kayak for hotel guests’ use as well. Shuttle bus service is provided as well. Timings are passed to you on checking in. Usual destinations are JungCeylon, Central Festival, weekend markets, etc. We used our rental car for exploring the lovely island.

The daily runs to Koh Hae (Coral Island) are a must-do. Service by minivan & launch boat is complimentary by the hotel and there’ll always be someone from the hotel with you all the way. Towels, drinking water, deck chairs, snorkel gear (mask, fins, etc) are also complimentary. On a Tuesday, we went with another 2 couples only! A total of 6 pax for Koh Hae trip! There’s also a chargable “SEA-WALKING” activity which is NOT run by the hotel management. It’s by a private company and they do this just off the beach in about 5-8m of water. My wife had a go at this & she loved it tremendously! I free-dived next to her while she was walking on the sea-bed, feeding fish & admiring reef life. Do bear in mind that the water for showering on the island is SEA water. The hotel staff (Mr. Neung) was always on the look out for us – watching the weather, updating us on anything, giving pointers on where to snorkel to see better reef life, etc.

Common pool is great for doing laps @ 40m lengthwise. We didn't patronize the V Spa or Baan Vijitt restaurant so can't comment.

The ROTUNDA is great for kids but sadly we didn’t see any using the facilities. Maybe it’s the low season. We’ll be bringing our kids to this resort after the wonderful experience.

We would like to thank the following staff (by their nametags) for making our stay wonderful:
The ladies - Ms. Pui, Morna, Geng, Ann (2 pregnant ladies @ Savoury) and Neung;
The men - Mr. Toto, Keng, Jo, Tom, Oat, Eve and Neung (who brought us to Coral island).

Room Tip: Get a seafront deluxe villa (Villa Nos 5-9) for the un-obstructed sea view and frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very serene and peaceful atmosphere. Staff are prompt and pleasant. Currently updating the rooms. Minor repairs needed but not a major concern. Due to it's hilly setting, iys not wheelchair friendly.
Suggest you rent a car/bike if you wish to explore a little. We rented a Toyota Vios for around £20/day. It was worth it as serenity wasn't part of the teenagers' itinerary. It became our mediator and arbitrator all in one.
Had a great time in Vijitt and Phuket overall.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alko747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A tastefully designed resort hotel with nice walkways and pretty well maintained gardens. Pool villas were very comfortable with splendid views of the bay and the resort. Food at the resort was very good and the cooking course well prepared and worth a try. The 40m pool is great for visitors who enjoy swimming laps. Fitness room is basic. Can run from there to the Promthep Cape in approx. 30' (bring enough water). Spa was great with relaxing massage while monkeys swing between trees in a distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Though still a lot better than my Thai, the command of the English language is an issue for many staff but we managed to communicate. When its low tide you can walk a long distance over the beach/see bed and admire millions of little crabs. Hotel transportation is safe and comfortable both on resort (golf carts) and on the road.

Room Tip: Wrote e-mail directly to hotel for a price quote and obtained better rate than through Hotels.com an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelgaandFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

very friendly staff,stay was fanstatic,trip 2 coral island was beatiful.like to comment on Goong,he really took care of us for e trip to coral island.kudos to him.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jengershut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The villa was great, nice views. Breafast delicious. The pool very nice. The staff really friendly. The beach is not good, is better to go to Patong, Kata... The location could be better. The price was really good. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have got the pool villa, with the private pool, the great view in the morning.
I give 4/5 for the cleaness, cause of the ground in the bathroom looks dirty.
One thing i love too much.. Breakfast!
the staff always smile and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitsune02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
25.4 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
14.6 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
955 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vijitt Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vijitt Resort Phuket

Address: 16 Moo2, Viset Road | T. Rawai A.Muang Phuket 83130, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
#2 Family Hotel in Rawai
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#4 Spa Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: $134 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vijitt Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vijitt Resort Phuket is a romantic retreat where peace and tranquility soothe the soul with breathtaking natural scenery all around. The landscaped grounds at this Phuket hotel are simply beautiful with tall palms and expansive lawns gently sloping towards the stunning view of Friendship Beach.The elegant villas at this beachfront hotel in Phuket are contemporary style inspired by local design and materials. Many of the private villas include their own pool and all enjoy magnificent views of calm blue waters of Chalong Bay. This serene and secluded Phuket resort is perfect for couples and families seeking a holiday in paradise where warm Thai hospitality awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vijitt Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Hotel Phuket
Vijitt Hotel Rawai
The Vijitt Resort Phuket Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing